Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Robogenesis

    Daniel H. Wilson 9780385537094

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Mystery- A to Z

Traitors Gate

by

Traitors Gate Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"In combination with her meticulous research, Ms. Perry's infallible feeling for the historical moment yields animated political debate over the colonization of Africa, glittering views of Victorian society at play and tantalizing glimpses of a confident, assertive creature known as the 'new woman.'"

--The New York Times Book Review

Someone in the Colonial Office is passing secrets to Germany about England's African strategy. While Police Superintendent Thomas Pitt investigates this matter of treason, he is quietly looking into the tragic "accidental" death of his childhood mentor, Sir Arthur Desmond. Pitt believes he was murdered, and that the crime is connected with the treachery in the government. He is making little progress, until a second murder reverberates through London.

In the small hours of a May morning, a Thames waterman finds the strangled body of an aristocratic society beauty floating near lonely Traitors Gate. Only then do hard-pressed Pitt and his clever wife, Charlotte, begin to untangle the threads of passion and intrigue, to see clearly the pattern of tragedy and frightening evil that Pitt must deal with, at the risk of his career--and his life.

"In the tradition of Margaret Millar and Ruth Rendell, Perry saves her largest, tastiest revelation for the very last paragraphs."

--Los Angeles Times

"First rate. . . The saga of Charlotte and Thomas is always a delight."

--Mostly Murder

Synopsis:

The first features Thomas Pitt of the London Police and his wife Charlotte. It begins in 1881 with The Cater Street Hangman in which they meet and fall in love. Pitt comes from a humble background and Charlotte is much above his station. Charlotte loves him enough to sacrifice her social and financial comfort for the harder, but far more interesting life he offers her, and by the second novel they have been married... She becomes involved in most of Pitt's cases, lending a feminine view, acute observation, and the ability to mix in wealthy and aristocratic circles where Pitt would not be accepted. Pitt has become superintendent of The Bow Street Station and many of his cases involve high society, glamorous, controversial and politically sensitive issues, and social scandals. The twentieth book, Half Moon Street, is set in 1892 in the heyday of Empire. Intermingled with the wit and daring side of Victoriana is always there — extreme poverty, social evils and injustices — as it is in the William Monk series.

About the Author

Anne Perry is the bestselling author of two acclaimed series set in Victorian England: the William Monk novels, including Dark Assassin and The Shifting Tide, and the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novels, including Buckingham Palace Gardens and Long Spoon Lane. She is also the author of the World War I novels No Graves As Yet, Shoulder the Sky, Angels in the Gloom, At Some Disputed Barricade,and We Shall Not Sleep, as well as six holiday novels, most recently A Christmas Grace. Anne Perry lives in Scotland.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780449224397
Author:
Perry, Anne
Publisher:
Fawcett
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Police
Subject:
England
Subject:
London
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Police Procedural
Subject:
Detective and mystery stories
Subject:
Mystery & detective
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Police procedural
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Traditional British
Subject:
Traditional british
Subject:
Pitt, charlotte (fictitious character)
Subject:
Police -- England -- London -- Fiction.
Subject:
Pitt, Charlotte
Subject:
Pitt, Thomas
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st mass market ed.
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series Volume:
93-15
Publication Date:
19960131
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
7.14x4.34x1.15 in. .47 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Whitechapel Conspiracy Used Mass Market $3.50
  2. Callander Square Used Mass Market $4.50
  3. Resurrection Row Used Mass Market $4.50
  4. The Golden One: A Novel of Suspense Used Mass Market $1.50
  5. Lord of the Silent: A Novel of Suspense Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. Children of the Storm (Amelia... Used Mass Market $3.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Traitors Gate Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Fawcett Books - English 9780449224397 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The first features Thomas Pitt of the London Police and his wife Charlotte. It begins in 1881 with The Cater Street Hangman in which they meet and fall in love. Pitt comes from a humble background and Charlotte is much above his station. Charlotte loves him enough to sacrifice her social and financial comfort for the harder, but far more interesting life he offers her, and by the second novel they have been married... She becomes involved in most of Pitt's cases, lending a feminine view, acute observation, and the ability to mix in wealthy and aristocratic circles where Pitt would not be accepted. Pitt has become superintendent of The Bow Street Station and many of his cases involve high society, glamorous, controversial and politically sensitive issues, and social scandals. The twentieth book, Half Moon Street, is set in 1892 in the heyday of Empire. Intermingled with the wit and daring side of Victoriana is always there — extreme poverty, social evils and injustices — as it is in the William Monk series.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.