It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »
  1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Children and Other Wild Animals

    Brian Doyle 9780870717543

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Patty Jane's House of Curl

by

Patty Jane's House of Curl Cover

ISBN13: 9780449911006
ISBN10: 0449911004
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $3.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Patty Jane Dobbin should have known better than to marry a man as gorgeous as Thor Rolvaag, but she was too smitten to think twice. Yet nine months into their marriage, with a baby on the way, Thor is gone. Its a good thing Patty Jane has her irrepressible sister, Harriet, to rely on. For its been said that a fine haircut can cure any number of ills, and before long the Minnesota sisters have opened a neighborhood beauty parlor complete with live harp music and an endless supply of delicious Norwegian baked goods. Its a wonderful, warmhearted place where you can count on good friends, lots of laughter, tears, and comfort when you need it—and the unmistakable scent of somebody getting a permanent wave. . . .

Review:

"A funny, poignant first novel about the bonds between women." Houston Chronicle

Review:

"Patty Jane's House of Curl has the emotional warmth of Lake Wobegon and the tender/tough female characters who populated Fried Green Tomatoes....A unique story." St. Paul Pioneer Press

Review:

"Lorna Landvik stands by her characters...embracing their eccentricities, delighting in their accomplishments, forgiving them their failings. She knows these people and loves them — and gives us their story with uncommon wit and charm and, best of all, a wonderful sense of mischief." Steven Zaillian, Oscar-winning screenwriter of Schindler's List

Review:

"Reminiscent of Steel Magnolias, Patty Jane's House of Curl will make you laugh, cry and open your heart to love." Chandra Y. Sparks, Romantic Times

Review:

"Amazingly vivid....This novel breezes merrily along, but don't read it without a hankie. This is a winner for fans of Garrison Keillor and Danielle Steel." Library Journal

About the Author

Lorna Landvik was raised in Minneapolis, attended the University of Minnesota, then moved to San Francisco and then to Los Angeles. There she worked as a stand-up comic at the Comedy Store and Comedy Improv and scouted bands for Atlantic Records. She has published fiction and nonfiction in magazines and newspapers. She now lives with her husband and two daughters in Minneapolis, where she works as an actress and writer.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

emmejo, April 25, 2013 (view all comments by emmejo)
Patty Jane and Harriet are sisters, sharing in running their beauty salon and raising Patty Jane's little girl after her husband Thor disappears. Neither of their paths are running smooth, but with each looking out for other, Thor's mother Ione, their motley group of employees, and a boisterous crew of regulars and friends coming to the shop, they manage to keep their spirits up and have a fair bit fun even during the hard times.

I picked this up because I had liked Landvik's Oh My Stars. I didn't like this one as much. It is a much tighter, smaller story, almost like a blend of interwoven character studies, but I didn't find any characters I could really sympathize with or root for. They weren't bad characters, just bland.

Landvik's to-the-point, no-frill writing is balanced with a sly dose of wry humor and zany characters, making it compulsively readable. The writing is really what saved the book for me.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Jonna, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by Jonna)
I tend to choose books based on titles, so how could I resist "Patty Jane's House of Curl?" This snappy title didn't let me down; every moment of this novel is charming, and delightful. I laughed, I cried, and I got my hair done! Found a new favorite author, too!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780449911006
Author:
Landvik, Lorna
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Minnesota
Subject:
Sisters
Subject:
Community life
Subject:
Beauty shops
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
Minnesota Fiction.
Subject:
Beauty shops - Minnesota
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
Reprint ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Mysteries & Horror
Publication Date:
September 1996
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.02x5.20x.72 in. .57 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Three Miss Margarets
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. The Red Tent
    Used Mass Market $5.95
  3. Midwives: A Novel Used Trade Paper $1.50
  4. Money for Nothing Used Mass Market $5.50
  5. Confucius Lives Next Door: What... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  6. Circle of Magic #02: Tris's Book
    Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Patty Jane's House of Curl Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780449911006 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A funny, poignant first novel about the bonds between women."
"Review" by , "Patty Jane's House of Curl has the emotional warmth of Lake Wobegon and the tender/tough female characters who populated Fried Green Tomatoes....A unique story."
"Review" by , "Lorna Landvik stands by her characters...embracing their eccentricities, delighting in their accomplishments, forgiving them their failings. She knows these people and loves them — and gives us their story with uncommon wit and charm and, best of all, a wonderful sense of mischief."
"Review" by , "Reminiscent of Steel Magnolias, Patty Jane's House of Curl will make you laugh, cry and open your heart to love."
"Review" by , "Amazingly vivid....This novel breezes merrily along, but don't read it without a hankie. This is a winner for fans of Garrison Keillor and Danielle Steel."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.