Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 5, 2015

    Tim Johnston: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Songs for Not Sleeping by Tim Johnston



    I once told a medical-profession-type lady that I didn't sleep well, that I awoke all through the night and was awake for hours. "What do you do... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Sister Noon

by

Sister Noon Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Lizzie Hayes, a member of the San Francisco elite, is a seemingly docile, middle-aged spinster praised for her volunteer work with the Ladies Relief and Protection Society Home, or "The Brown Ark." All she needs is the spark that will liberate her from the ruling conventions. When the wealthy and well-connected, but ill-reputed Mary Ellen Pleasant shows up at the Brown Ark, Lizzie is drawn to her. It is the beautiful, but mysterious Mary Ellen, an outcast among the women of the elite because of her notorious past and her involvement in voodoo, who will eventually hold the key to unlocking Lizzie's rebellious nature.

Loosely based in historical fact, Sister Noon is a wryly funny, playfully mysterious, and totally subversive novel from this "fine writer" whose "language dazzles" (San Francisco Chronicle).

Review:

"A playful, mysterious, highly imaginative narrative set in the San Francisco of the 1890's....Robust, sly, witty, elegant, unexpected and never, ever, boring." Margot Livesey, The New York Times Book Review

Review:

"[I]ntriguing....Every character's tale is complicated, unpredictable and often engrossing....Fowler moves her principals through time and space seamlessly and gracefully, and exquisitely renders San Francisco as it grows from outpost to city." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Sister Noon is funny, lyrical, spooky, inspired....A work of enchanting rumination — and one of the year's best reads." The Seattle Times

Review:

"[H]istorical fiction filled with quirky characters brought together in a mysterious situation is Fowler's forte....The story is a blend of history, suspense, and commentary on societal norms and social pretensions that both guide and confine." Eileen Hardy, Booklist

Review:

"An inventive, elegantly constructed, ably written peek into the secret lives of women from a historical perspective." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"This witty novel is a deft blend of historical fact, urban myth, social satire, and romance. Fans of E.L. Doctorow and Fowler's previous fiction will enjoy." Library Journal

Review:

"Fowler's prose is full of shimmering melancholy, and a ruminative irony that brings her characters and their world alive in the most unexpected ways....[A] dazzling book." Jonathan Lethem, author of Motherless Brooklyn

Review:

"I loved Sister Noon...it's just so much fun! Fowler's prose is delightful, surprising — it has a lean modern grace." Michael Chabon, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay

Synopsis:

Lizzie Hayes, a member of the San Francisco elite, is a seemingly docile, middle-aged spinster praised for her volunteer work with the Ladies Relief and Protection Society Home, or "The Brown Ark". All she needs is the spark that will liberate her from the ruling conventions. When the wealthy and well-connected, but ill-reputed Mary Ellen Pleasant shows up at the Brown Ark, Lizzie is drawn to her. It is the beautiful, but mysterious Mary Ellen, an outcast among the women of the elite because of her notorious past and her involvement in voodoo, who will eventually hold the key to unlocking Lizzie's rebellious nature.

Loosely based in historical fact, Sister Noon is a wryly funny, playfully mysterious, and totally subversive novel from this "fine writer" whose "language dazzles" (San Francisco Chronicle).

About the Author

Karen Joy Fowler is the author of two other novels, Sarah Canary and The Sweetheart Season, as well as the recent story collection Black Glass. She lives in Davis, California.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780452283282
Author:
Fowler, Karen Joy
Publisher:
Plume Books
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
San Francisco (Calif.)
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
San francisco
Subject:
Bildungsromans
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st paperback ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
no. 1056
Publication Date:
June 2002
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.02x5.38x.79 in. .63 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Middlesex
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  2. Southern Living (Ballantine Reader's... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. The Jane Austen Book Club
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  4. White Teeth (Vintage International)
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. House of Sand and Fog
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  6. The Curious Incident of the Dog in... Used Mass Market $4.50

Related Subjects

» BLOCKED
» Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Sister Noon Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Plume Books - English 9780452283282 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A playful, mysterious, highly imaginative narrative set in the San Francisco of the 1890's....Robust, sly, witty, elegant, unexpected and never, ever, boring."
"Review" by , "[I]ntriguing....Every character's tale is complicated, unpredictable and often engrossing....Fowler moves her principals through time and space seamlessly and gracefully, and exquisitely renders San Francisco as it grows from outpost to city."
"Review" by , "Sister Noon is funny, lyrical, spooky, inspired....A work of enchanting rumination — and one of the year's best reads."
"Review" by , "[H]istorical fiction filled with quirky characters brought together in a mysterious situation is Fowler's forte....The story is a blend of history, suspense, and commentary on societal norms and social pretensions that both guide and confine."
"Review" by , "An inventive, elegantly constructed, ably written peek into the secret lives of women from a historical perspective."
"Review" by , "This witty novel is a deft blend of historical fact, urban myth, social satire, and romance. Fans of E.L. Doctorow and Fowler's previous fiction will enjoy."
"Review" by , "Fowler's prose is full of shimmering melancholy, and a ruminative irony that brings her characters and their world alive in the most unexpected ways....[A] dazzling book."
"Review" by , "I loved Sister Noon...it's just so much fun! Fowler's prose is delightful, surprising — it has a lean modern grace."
"Synopsis" by ,
Lizzie Hayes, a member of the San Francisco elite, is a seemingly docile, middle-aged spinster praised for her volunteer work with the Ladies Relief and Protection Society Home, or "The Brown Ark". All she needs is the spark that will liberate her from the ruling conventions. When the wealthy and well-connected, but ill-reputed Mary Ellen Pleasant shows up at the Brown Ark, Lizzie is drawn to her. It is the beautiful, but mysterious Mary Ellen, an outcast among the women of the elite because of her notorious past and her involvement in voodoo, who will eventually hold the key to unlocking Lizzie's rebellious nature.

Loosely based in historical fact, Sister Noon is a wryly funny, playfully mysterious, and totally subversive novel from this "fine writer" whose "language dazzles" (San Francisco Chronicle).

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.