Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Carli Davidson: IMG Puppies for Sale? Read This First



    Shake Puppies contains an almost unsettling amount of cuteness. There is a good chance after looking through its pages you will get puppy fever and... Continue »
    1. $12.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Shake Puppies

      Carli Davidson 9780062351722

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.00
List price: $24.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
10 Partner Warehouse General- General

Innocents Lost: When Child Soldiers Go to War

by

Innocents Lost: When Child Soldiers Go to War Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Please note that used books may not include additional media (study guides, CDs, DVDs, solutions manuals, etc.) as described in the publisher comments.

Publisher Comments:

Ida, a member of Sri Lankas Female Tamil Tigers, fought with one of the longest-surviving and successful guerilla movements in the world. She is sixteen. Francois, a fourteen-year-old Rwandan child of mixed ethnicity, was forced by Hutu militiamen to hack to death his sisters Tutsi children.More than 250,000 children have fought in three dozen conflicts around the world, but growing exploitation of children in war is staggering and little known. From the “little bees” of Colombia to the “baby brigades” of Sri Lanka, the subject of child soldiers is changing the face of terrorism. For the last seven years, Jimmie Briggs has been talking to, writing about, and researching the plight of these young combatants. The horrific stories of these children, dramatically told in their own voices, reveal the devastating consequences of this global tragedy.Cogent, passionate, impeccably researched, and compellingly told, Innocents Lost is the fullest, most personal and powerful examination yet of the lives of child soldiers.

Review:

"Briggs does not lack for material — an estimated 10% of the world's fighting forces is under 18 — or real empathy for the subject, but his intention to make visible a 'tragedy hidden in plain sight' often fails. In part, that's because some stories are so gruesome, it is difficult to keep one's eyes on the page. Many sections move too quickly for readers to get to know the children or the places they live. In other spots, Briggs's research-heavy drill of acronyms and statistics is numbing. The exception is the chapter on the Lord's Resistance Army in Uganda, in which Briggs, a Life journalist, stays with the brutal story of the army's kidnapping of a dormitory of Catholic school girls. The attention on a single episode and deft rendering of an Italian nun, forced to choose which of her students would stay with the army and which would be released, brings the horror of child warriors and the conditions that create them into focus. Otherwise, the loose collection of research, notes and interviews, including a chapter on the first American soldier killed in Afghanistan that is only partially related to the topic, offers neither a crafted narrative nor a meaty exploration of the politics of war or the failure of humanitarian intervention." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Briggs has put himself into many dangerous situations to gather his material, but he insinuates himself and his own traumas a few times too many in the course of his narrative." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

For readers of Philip Gourevitch, David Rieff, and Samantha Power, a sober, vitally important book on the global tragedy of child soldiers

About the Author

Jimmie Briggs, a freelance journalist, was awarded the John Bartlow Martin Award from Northwestern University for a story about the Gulf War's impact on children, which became a finalist for a National Magazine Award. He has written for the Washington Post, the Village Voice, Emerge, Vibe, LIFE, and the New York Times Magazine. He lives in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780465007981
Subtitle:
When Child Soldiers Go To War
Author:
Briggs, Jimmie
Publisher:
Basic Books
Subject:
Military - General
Subject:
Children's Studies
Subject:
Children and war
Subject:
Child soldiers
Subject:
Ethnic Studies - General
Subject:
Military - Other
Subject:
Sociology-Children and Family
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20050706
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
216
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.13 in 15.5 oz

Other books you might like

  1. A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy...
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. Allah Is Not Obliged: A Novel Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. Armies of the Young: Child Soldiers... Used Trade Paper $14.00
  4. Wild Animals Charted Designs Used Pamphlet $3.95
  5. The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on...
    Used Trade Paper $0.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Ethnic Studies » General
History and Social Science » Military » General
History and Social Science » Military » General History
History and Social Science » Sociology » Children and Family
History and Social Science » Sociology » General

Innocents Lost: When Child Soldiers Go to War Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.00 In Stock
Product details 216 pages Basic Books - English 9780465007981 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Briggs does not lack for material — an estimated 10% of the world's fighting forces is under 18 — or real empathy for the subject, but his intention to make visible a 'tragedy hidden in plain sight' often fails. In part, that's because some stories are so gruesome, it is difficult to keep one's eyes on the page. Many sections move too quickly for readers to get to know the children or the places they live. In other spots, Briggs's research-heavy drill of acronyms and statistics is numbing. The exception is the chapter on the Lord's Resistance Army in Uganda, in which Briggs, a Life journalist, stays with the brutal story of the army's kidnapping of a dormitory of Catholic school girls. The attention on a single episode and deft rendering of an Italian nun, forced to choose which of her students would stay with the army and which would be released, brings the horror of child warriors and the conditions that create them into focus. Otherwise, the loose collection of research, notes and interviews, including a chapter on the first American soldier killed in Afghanistan that is only partially related to the topic, offers neither a crafted narrative nor a meaty exploration of the politics of war or the failure of humanitarian intervention." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Briggs has put himself into many dangerous situations to gather his material, but he insinuates himself and his own traumas a few times too many in the course of his narrative."
"Synopsis" by ,
For readers of Philip Gourevitch, David Rieff, and Samantha Power, a sober, vitally important book on the global tragedy of child soldiers
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.