25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside - Bldg. 2 Astronomy- General

The Starry Room: Naked Eye Astronomy in the Intimate Universe

by

The Starry Room: Naked Eye Astronomy in the Intimate Universe Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This inspiring and enriching book, a collection of essays that evokes the beauty and wonder of the night sky, explains to beginning skywatchers how to find and where to look for specific celestial objects.

Author Fred Schaaf, once described as a naturalist in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau and John Burroughs, reveals an intense love of his subject and a keen knowledge of the optimum ways of viewing astronomical phenomena with the naked eye. Schaaf not only describes such special sights as an eyelash-thin moon, a shooting star, streaking comets, and a lunar eclipse, but he also explains when and where to look for constellations and planetary conjunctions, meteor showers, rainbows, halos, and other celestial occurrences.

Most of these observations require no telescopes or other equipment, not even perfect sky conditions or long periods of special training. Technical expressions are explained as they appear in the text, and a glossary at the end defines terms and concepts.

Astronomy magazine advises anyone interested in stargazing to "find a place for [this book] on your library shelf"; and Chet Raymo, author of 365 Starry Nights, says "this is a book that will help define amateur astronomy."

Book News Annotation:

Rather than a how-to guide or step-by-step observing manual, this collection of essays offers Schaaf's uniquely philosophical, scientific and poetic reflections on the art and practice of watching the sky. Like the original, which was published in 1988, this edition should make for excellent cloudy night reading for both beginning and heavily-invested stargazers. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

Inspiring, enriching essays describe the amazing features of the night sky, telling beginning star-gazers where to look for and how to find specific celestial objects with the naked eye. No particular knowledge of astronomy is needed to understand the book and most technical expressions are explained as they appear in the text. 5 illustrations.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780486425535
Subtitle:
Naked Eye Astronomy in the Intimate Universe
Author:
Schaaf, Fred
Publisher:
Dover Publications
Location:
Mineola, N.Y.
Subject:
General
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Astronomy
Subject:
Star Observation
Subject:
Astronomy - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
00-289
Publication Date:
20021206
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.5 in 1.14 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Three Scientists & Their Gods: A... Used Hardcover $7.95
  2. Celestial Objects for Common Telesc... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. Mathematical astronomy with a pocket... Used Hardcover $10.50
  4. Night has a thousand eyes :a... Used Hardcover $2.50
  5. The ship that sailed into the living... Used Trade Paper $6.50
  6. Tarzan of the Apes (Tarzan) Used Mass Market $3.95

Related Subjects

Engineering » Engineering » General Engineering
Science and Mathematics » Astronomy » General
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » General
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » General
Science and Mathematics » Popular Science » Essays

The Starry Room: Naked Eye Astronomy in the Intimate Universe Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Dover Publications - English 9780486425535 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Inspiring, enriching essays describe the amazing features of the night sky, telling beginning star-gazers where to look for and how to find specific celestial objects with the naked eye. No particular knowledge of astronomy is needed to understand the book and most technical expressions are explained as they appear in the text. 5 illustrations.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.