The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$19.50
List price: $24.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Real Happy Family

by

Real Happy Family Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Part-time actress, full-time party girl Lorelei Branch isnt famous yet, but shes perfected a Hollywood lifestyle full of clubbing, fashion, and the latest juice cleanse. When Robin, her sister-in-law and agent, throws a plum job her way, Lorelei jumps at the chance and auditions to be the new girl on televisions hottest reality show, Flos Studio.

Enter Colleen, Loreleis pill-popping mother, who wants nothing more than to see her daughter win the fame and glory she never had a chance to pursue herself. But Loreleis dream of becoming the next reality star is dashed when she loses the spot on Flos Studio to a stunning African woman. In an attempt to defend her daughter against what she calls a rigged contest, Colleen goes ballistic and delivers a racist rant on live television, sparking a national media frenzy. Lorelei flees the limelight, humiliated and broke, with her slacker boyfriend Don and heads for Reno where she begins to self-destruct.

Meanwhile, the rest of the Branch family starts to come apart at the seams. Colleen and her husband, Carl, are quietly drifting apart. Darren, Loreleis older half-brother, is stuck in Florida working on a contentious film set while his wife, Robin, continues the tedious regimen of fertility drugs meant to help them conceive a child. Desperate to bring the family together again and make things right, Colleen hatches a plan to stage an intervention for Lorelei on the reality show Real Happy Family. Soon the entire Branch family is entangled in a mission to bring the prodigal daughter back into the fold.

Will Lorelei ever forgive Colleen? Will Real Happy Family air their most sensational intervention yet? All roads lead to a seedy Reno hotel room, where a reality TV crew is waiting.

“This entertaining debut novel unsparingly takes on damaged family ecosystems and the show-business machine. Widger has created a delicate suspension bridge out of her characters relationships to one another and the world, and throughout the course of the novel, she steadily, craftily adds weight, making for compulsive reading.” —Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

Fans of Vanessa Diffenbaugh and Adriana Trigiani will savor this edgy yet moving debut novel about a dysfunctional family joining forces in an unconventional way to bring a missing daughter back to their fold.

Synopsis:

A dysfunctional family must come together to save the daughter they love in the era of reality TV, designer drugs, and the sixty-second news cycle. For fans of Adriana Trigiani. Aspiring starlet Lorelei Branch leads a typical Hollywood life full of sex, drugs, and reality TV. But this part-time actress, full-time drug addict sparks a national media frenzy when her mom makes a racist rant on televisions most popular reality show, Flos Studio. Like many other troubled young stars, Lorelei attempts to flee the limelight and heads for Reno where she begins to self-destruct.

Colleen, Loreleis pill-popping mother who wants nothing more than to be her daughters BFF, is desperate to make things right and hatches a plan to stage an intervention on the latest reality show, Real Happy Family. Soon the entire Branch family is embroiled in the saga to bring their prodigal daughter back into the fold.

Will Lorelei ever forgive Colleen? Will Real Happy Family air their most sensational intervention yet? All roads lead to a seedy Reno hotel room, where a reality TV crew is waiting.

About the Author

Caeli Wolfson Widger received her MFA in poetry from the University of Montana. Her work has appeared in Another Chicago Magazine and The Madison Review.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780544263611
Author:
Widger, Caeli Wolfson
Publisher:
New Harvest/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20140331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Bad Bye, Good Bye New Hardcover $16.99
  2. The Grief of Others Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. 29 Myths on the Swinster Pharmacy Used Hardcover $10.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Family Life

Real Happy Family Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$19.50 In Stock
Product details 384 pages New Harvest/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - English 9780544263611 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Fans of Vanessa Diffenbaugh and Adriana Trigiani will savor this edgy yet moving debut novel about a dysfunctional family joining forces in an unconventional way to bring a missing daughter back to their fold.
"Synopsis" by , A dysfunctional family must come together to save the daughter they love in the era of reality TV, designer drugs, and the sixty-second news cycle. For fans of Adriana Trigiani. Aspiring starlet Lorelei Branch leads a typical Hollywood life full of sex, drugs, and reality TV. But this part-time actress, full-time drug addict sparks a national media frenzy when her mom makes a racist rant on televisions most popular reality show, Flos Studio. Like many other troubled young stars, Lorelei attempts to flee the limelight and heads for Reno where she begins to self-destruct.

Colleen, Loreleis pill-popping mother who wants nothing more than to be her daughters BFF, is desperate to make things right and hatches a plan to stage an intervention on the latest reality show, Real Happy Family. Soon the entire Branch family is embroiled in the saga to bring their prodigal daughter back into the fold.

Will Lorelei ever forgive Colleen? Will Real Happy Family air their most sensational intervention yet? All roads lead to a seedy Reno hotel room, where a reality TV crew is waiting.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.