Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 12, 2015

    Aleksandar Hemon: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Aleksandar Hemon



    Describe your latest book. The Making of Zombie Wars is a roller-coaster ride of violence and sex. The main character, Joshua Levin, is a modestly... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Making of Zombie Wars

      Aleksandar Hemon 9780374203412

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General
3 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General
17 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

Words in the Dust

by

Words in the Dust Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An eye-opening, heart-rending tale of love, honor and betrayal from veteran foreign news correspodent Atia Abawi

Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love. But they do. And the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures and the Taliban to stay together. Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America's War in Afghanistan.

Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come.

* “A suspenseful, enlightening, and hopeful love story.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Riveting plot, sympathetic characters and straightforward narration studded with vivid, authentic detail: a top choice.” – Kirkus review

 “Heartbreaking and heartwarming.” – VOYA review

Synopsis:

Winner of the Christopher Medal and a "heart-wrenching" Al Roker's Book Club selection on the Today Show.

Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her--"Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to her village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha--but can she dare to hope they'll come true?

About the Author

Trent Reedy is the author of WORDS IN THE DUST, winner of the Christopher Medal and an Al Roker's Book Club pick on the Today Show, and STEALING AIR. Trent and his wife live in Spokane, Washington. Please visit his website at www.trentreedy.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780545261265
Author:
Reedy, Trent
Publisher:
Arthur A. Levine Books
Author:
Abawi, Atia
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Love & Romance
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20130931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
7.63 x 5.25 in
Age Level:
from 14

Other books you might like

  1. The Ghost of Crutchfield Hall
    Sale Trade Paper $2.98
  2. The Second Life of Abigail Walker
    Used Book Club Paperback $2.95
  3. I Survived #8: I Survived #8: I... Used Trade Paper $3.50
  4. Halo (Halo) Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Star Wars: Death Troopers (Star Wars...
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  6. The Twelve (Book Two of the Passage... Used Mass Market $3.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General

Words in the Dust New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.99 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Arthur A. Levine Books - English 9780545261265 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Winner of the Christopher Medal and a "heart-wrenching" Al Roker's Book Club selection on the Today Show.

Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her--"Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to her village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha--but can she dare to hope they'll come true?

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.