25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Deep Creek

by

Deep Creek Cover

ISBN13: 9780547237480
ISBN10: 0547237480
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $10.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Idaho Territory, June 1887. A small-town judge takes his young daughter fishing, and she catches a man. Another body surfaces, then another. The final toll: over 30 Chinese gold miners brutally murdered. Their San Francisco employer hires Idaho lawman Joe Vincent to solve the case.

Soon he journeys up the wild Snake River with Lee Loi, an ambitious young company investigator, and Grace Sundown, a métis mountain guide with too many secrets. As they track the killers across the Pacific Northwest, through haunted canyons and city streets, each must put aside lies and old grievances to survive a quest that will change them forever.

Deep Creek is a historical thriller inspired by actual events and people: the 1887 massacre of Chinese miners in remote and beautiful Hells Canyon, the middle-aged judge who went after their slayers, and the sham race-murder trial that followed. This American tragedy was long suppressed and the victims nearly forgotten; Deep Creek teams history and imagination to illuminate how and why, in a seamless, fast-moving tale of courage and redemption, loss and love. A dazzling new novel for fans of Leif Enger, Lisa See, and Ivan Doig.

Review:

"The 1887 massacre of more than 30 Chinese gold miners in a remote area of the Idaho territory provides the real-life foundation for this engrossing look at racial prejudice and the settling of the West, the first novel from Hand (the pen name for William Howarth and Anne Matthews). After police judge Joe Vincent and his 10-year-old daughter, Nell, find a body while fishing, more brutally mutilated bodies turn up along the Snake River. The Sam Yup Company, a Chinese labor exchange, hires Vincent to find the culprits. Lee Loi, an ambitious investigator, and Grace Sundown, a Mtis mountain guide who shares a past with Vincent, join the hunt. The three track a murderous crew through remote canyons and towns. The plot soon evolves into an insightful look at how Chinese immigrants and American Indians became the targets of rage and violence. The subsequent capture and trial of the killers illustrate that how the West was won was neither simple nor fair to minorities." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

"Deep Creek" is a historical thriller inspired by actual events and people: the 1887 massacre of Chinese miners in remote and beautiful Hells Canyon; the middle-aged judge who goes after their slayers; and the sham race-murder trial that follows.

Synopsis:

A world-weary ex-marshall, a mysterious and alluring metis tracker, and a young Chinese mining company agent set out to solve a hideous crime on the banks of the Snake River.

About the Author

Dana Hand is the pen name of Will Howarth and Anne Matthews, who live and work in Princeton, New Jersey. Under their own names, they have published eighteen nonfiction books on American history, literature, and public issues.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Mountain Reader, January 8, 2012 (view all comments by Mountain Reader)
This is one that will endure. My absolute favorite of the year. It's a crime that more Pacific Northwest readers did not discover this wonderful novel.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
LinBrowne36, January 23, 2011 (view all comments by LinBrowne36)
A gripping, well-made novel of racial violence and the clash of four American cultures: Chinese, Nez Perce, Yankee, Southern. Based on a true event: the 1887 massacre of over 30 Chinese miners at Deep Creek on the Snake River, and one man's quest to bring the killers to justice. Historical fiction at its best, with a really touching lifelong love story at its heart. No show-offy writing, no self-consciously grand design, only believable people pushed to the wall (and beyond) in the cause of justice for all. The book asks two important questions: Why are people so cruel to one another? And could Deep Creek happen again, today? Sadly, all the underlying issues here--human rights, civil order, treatment of immigrants/women/minorities, untrammeled development--are with us still.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)
Elizabeth Grimsrud, May 13, 2010 (view all comments by Elizabeth Grimsrud)
Deep Creek is a fascinating "who done-it" steeped in Oregon history. The setting is in eastern Oregon's Hell's Canyon in 1887. Ms. Hand does a fantastic job of re-creating the story of a little known mass murder of a group of Chinese miners. For the reader who enjoys learning history from well-researched historical novels, this is a winner.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(15 of 20 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780547237480
Author:
Hand, Dana
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Author:
Matthews, Anne
Author:
Howarth, Will
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Westerns - General
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Murder -- Investigation.
Subject:
Historical
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20100210
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1.1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Breathing, in Dust (Americas) New Trade Paper $19.95
  2. The Shadow Catcher
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  3. The Jane Austen Book Club
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. When Will There Be Good News?
    Sale Trade Paper $4.98

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Historical
Fiction and Poetry » Westerns » General

Deep Creek Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (HMH) - English 9780547237480 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The 1887 massacre of more than 30 Chinese gold miners in a remote area of the Idaho territory provides the real-life foundation for this engrossing look at racial prejudice and the settling of the West, the first novel from Hand (the pen name for William Howarth and Anne Matthews). After police judge Joe Vincent and his 10-year-old daughter, Nell, find a body while fishing, more brutally mutilated bodies turn up along the Snake River. The Sam Yup Company, a Chinese labor exchange, hires Vincent to find the culprits. Lee Loi, an ambitious investigator, and Grace Sundown, a Mtis mountain guide who shares a past with Vincent, join the hunt. The three track a murderous crew through remote canyons and towns. The plot soon evolves into an insightful look at how Chinese immigrants and American Indians became the targets of rage and violence. The subsequent capture and trial of the killers illustrate that how the West was won was neither simple nor fair to minorities." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , "Deep Creek" is a historical thriller inspired by actual events and people: the 1887 massacre of Chinese miners in remote and beautiful Hells Canyon; the middle-aged judge who goes after their slayers; and the sham race-murder trial that follows.
"Synopsis" by ,
A world-weary ex-marshall, a mysterious and alluring metis tracker, and a young Chinese mining company agent set out to solve a hideous crime on the banks of the Snake River.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.