Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
25 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
9 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Trout Fishing in America

by

Trout Fishing in America Cover

ISBN13: 9780547255279
ISBN10: 0547255276
All Product Details

 

Staff Pick

In this slim little cult classic, published in 1967, Brautigan takes us on a wild ride all over the Pacific Northwest (and on down to San Francisco). Overflowing with energy, humor, and insight, Trout Fishing in America is a pastiche of stories and fragmented reflections. If you haven't read this book, pick it up now; this is indeed required reading for anyone with an open mind and a love for literature.
Recommended by Tate, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Richard Brautigan was a literary idol of the 1960s and 1970s whose comic genius and iconoclastic vision of American life caught the imagination of young people everywhere. He came of age during the Haight-Ashbury period and has been called “the last of the Beats.” His early books became required reading for the hip generation, and on its publication Trout Fishing in America became an international bestseller. An indescribable romp, the novel is best summed up in one word: mayonnaise.

This new edition includes an introduction by the poet Billy Collins, who first encountered Brautigan's work as a student in California.

Synopsis:

A single-volume reissue of the contemporary American classic.

About the Author

Richard Brautigan (1935-1984) was a god of the counterculture and the author of ten novels, nine volumes of poetry, and a collection of short stories.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

lukas, December 9, 2013 (view all comments by lukas)
Reader beware: this is as much about trout fishing as "The River Why" is about fishing. A wacky, somewhat surreal, unclassifiable slim book by underground hero Richard Brautigan (on the jacket he's called a god of the counterculture). Will appeal to fans of Tim Robbins and Ken Kesey. Poet Billy Collins wrote the introduction.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Forrest Aguirre, February 13, 2010 (view all comments by Forrest Aguirre)
You know that stoner from high school, the one with a golden heart and hateful eyes, the one that failed all his classes but had the intelligence to be a Nobel Prize winner, the one that wanted to establish world peace through sarcasm? That's who wrote this book, and it's scary good. Mix equal parts '60s rebelliousness (without overt politics), folksy americana, and surrealism, and you've got it. Snarky anarchy with the best metaphors I've ever read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780547255279
Author:
Brautigan, Richard
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Introduction by:
Collins, Billy
Introduction:
Collins, Billy
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20100131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
144
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 0.3 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Trout Fishing in America
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  2. Catch-22
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  3. The Frog King Used Trade Paper $1.95
  4. Sixty Stories Used Trade Paper $8.95
  5. Salammbo (Penguin Classics) Used Trade Paper $8.95
  6. After Nature (Modern Library) New Trade Paper $11.90

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books

Trout Fishing in America New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.95 In Stock
Product details 144 pages Mariner Books - English 9780547255279 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

In this slim little cult classic, published in 1967, Brautigan takes us on a wild ride all over the Pacific Northwest (and on down to San Francisco). Overflowing with energy, humor, and insight, Trout Fishing in America is a pastiche of stories and fragmented reflections. If you haven't read this book, pick it up now; this is indeed required reading for anyone with an open mind and a love for literature.

"Synopsis" by ,
A single-volume reissue of the contemporary American classic.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.