Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »
  1. $18.90 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Quick

    Lauren Owen 9780812993271

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $16.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

We, The Drowned

by

We, The Drowned Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

A THRILLING EPIC TALE OF THE SEA

We, the Drowned sets sail beyond the narrow channels of the seafaring genre and approaches Tolstoy in its evocation of war’s confusion, its power to stun victors and vanquished alike . . . A gorgeous, unsparing novel.” — Washington Post

“A generational saga, a swashbuckling sailor’s tale, and the account of a small town coming into modernity—both Melville and Steinbeck might have been pleased to read it.” — New Republic

Hailed in Europe as an instant classic, We, the Drowned is the story of the port town of Marstal, Denmark, whose inhabitants sailed the world from the mid-nineteenth century to the end of the Second World War. The novel tells of ships wrecked and blown up in wars, of places of terror and violence that continue to lure each generation; there are cannibals here, shrunken heads, prophetic dreams, and miraculous survivals. The result is a brilliant seafaring novel, a gripping saga encompassing industrial growth, the years of expansion and exploration, the crucible of the first half of the twentieth century, and most of all, the sea.

Called “one of the most exciting authors in Nordic literature” by Henning Mankell, Carsten Jensen has worked as a literary critic and a journalist, reporting from China, Cambodia, Latin America, the Pacific Islands, and Afghanistan. He lives in Copenhagen and Marstal.

Synopsis:

This international bestseller about generations of men who go to sea and the women and children they leave behind is a magnificent tale of love, war, and adventure. Cannibals, shrunken heads, prophetic dreams, forbidden passions, cowards, heroes, tragedies, and survival--this book is destined to take its place among the greatest seafaring literature.

Synopsis:

"‘Powerful reading for a long winters night . . . We, the Drowned sets sail beyond the narrow channels of the seafaring genre and approaches Tolstoy in its evocation of wars confusion, its power to stun victors and vanquished alike . . . [A] gorgeous, unsparing novel."—Washington Post "A generational saga, a swashbuckling sailors tale, and the account of a small town coming into modernity—both Melville and Steinbeck might have been pleased to read it."—The New Republic "Jensen is without doubt one of the most exciting authors in Nordic literature today." —Henning Mankell

Synopsis:

Hailed in Europe as an instant classic, We, the Drowned is the story of the port town of Marstal, Denmark, whose inhabitants sailed the world from the mid-nineteenth century to the end of the Second World War. The novel tells of ships wrecked and blown up in wars, of places of terror and violence that continue to lure each generation; there are cannibals here, shrunken heads, prophetic dreams, forbidden passions, and miraculous survivals. The result is a brilliant seafaring novel in the vein of Conrad and Melville, a gripping saga encompassing industrial growth, the years of expansion and exploration, the crucible of the first half of the twentieth century, and most of all, the sea.

About the Author

As a boy in Marstal, Denmark, CARSTEN JENSEN sailed on his fathers boat, a 220-ton freighter named the Abelone. In 2000, he returned to Marstal to write We, the Drowned. He has also worked as a literary critic and a journalist, reporting from China, Cambodia, Latin America, the Pacific Islands, and Afghanistan.

We, the Drowned won Denmarks most important literary prize, while also being selected by readers of a major daily newspaper as the best Danish novel of the last twenty-five years. It was a bestseller throughout Scandinavia and in Germany, and has also been published in the United Kingdom, Spain, and France.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780547737362
Author:
Jensen, Carsten
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Author:
Barslund, Charlotte
Author:
Ryder, Emma
Subject:
Adventure
Subject:
Popular Fiction - Adventure
Edition Description:
Cloth
Publication Date:
20120531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
688
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in

Other books you might like

  1. Harvest Used Hardcover $9.50
  2. Sea Runners Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Pnin Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. Conversation in the Cathedral Used Trade Paper $7.95
  5. So Big Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » Staff Picks
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Debut Fiction
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure

We, The Drowned Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 688 pages Mariner Books - English 9780547737362 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , This international bestseller about generations of men who go to sea and the women and children they leave behind is a magnificent tale of love, war, and adventure. Cannibals, shrunken heads, prophetic dreams, forbidden passions, cowards, heroes, tragedies, and survival--this book is destined to take its place among the greatest seafaring literature.
"Synopsis" by ,
"‘Powerful reading for a long winters night . . . We, the Drowned sets sail beyond the narrow channels of the seafaring genre and approaches Tolstoy in its evocation of wars confusion, its power to stun victors and vanquished alike . . . [A] gorgeous, unsparing novel."—Washington Post "A generational saga, a swashbuckling sailors tale, and the account of a small town coming into modernity—both Melville and Steinbeck might have been pleased to read it."—The New Republic "Jensen is without doubt one of the most exciting authors in Nordic literature today." —Henning Mankell
"Synopsis" by , Hailed in Europe as an instant classic, We, the Drowned is the story of the port town of Marstal, Denmark, whose inhabitants sailed the world from the mid-nineteenth century to the end of the Second World War. The novel tells of ships wrecked and blown up in wars, of places of terror and violence that continue to lure each generation; there are cannibals here, shrunken heads, prophetic dreams, forbidden passions, and miraculous survivals. The result is a brilliant seafaring novel in the vein of Conrad and Melville, a gripping saga encompassing industrial growth, the years of expansion and exploration, the crucible of the first half of the twentieth century, and most of all, the sea.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.