No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | December 8, 2014

    Marina Warner: IMG How Is Fantasy Different from Fairy Tale?



    Fairy tale is a country of the mind where there are many inhabitants stretching back into deep time, and we're like people before Babel, we speak a... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

The Book of Murder

by

The Book of Murder Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A gripping tale of revenge and rivalry from the author of The Oxford Murders

Argentinean author Guillermo Martíne‛s work appeals to fans of both literary fiction and mysteries. Now, with this new tale of psychological suspense, Martínez is poised to expand on the success of The Oxford Murders.

The narrator is an up-and-coming young writer who has little in common with Kloster—a literary giant whose disturbing crime novels dominate the bestseller lists. However, they have both, at one time, employed the secretarial services of the alluring Luciana B. Out of the past, Luciana makes a desperate plea to the young writer. She thinks that Kloster is slowly killing off everyone close to her—can he help before her grandmother and younger sister are murdered?

While the narrator suspects her misfortunes have driven her mad, Kloster has a powerful motive; and eerie parallels surface between the murders in Kloste‛s books and the real-life deaths surrounding Luciana. As the body count multiplies, the question arises: Can words really kill? Fans of both Alfred Hitchcock and Carlos Ruiz Zafón will be thrilled with Martíne‛s literary murder mystery.

Review:

"The unnamed narrator of this fine novel of psychological suspense from Argentinean author Martnez (The Oxford Murders) struggles as a young novelist to compete in a world dominated by international superstar Kloster. A literary giant with the attitude of Norman Mailer and the commercial success of Stephen King, Kloster has become the obsession of Luciana B, who once took dictation for both Kloster and the narrator. Reappearing after a decade, Luciana tells the narrator an outrageous tale of horror, claiming that Kloster is slowly murdering her family. Is she a bitter fanatic, or could Kloster be Latin America's cleverest serial killer? Believing she's marked for death, Luciana persuades the narrator to figure out whether the recent events in her life are part of a deadly game of cat-and-mouse or a series of tragic coincidences. This riveting tale will appeal to readers of literary fiction and thriller fans alike. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

The Argentinean author of "The Oxford Murders" returns with a gripping tale of revenge and rivalry that poses the question: can words really kill? Martnez's work appeals to fans of both literary fiction and mysteries.

Synopsis:

A chilling new tale of literary intrigue from the author of the international sensation The Oxford Murders

When Guillermo Martínez 's novel The Oxford Murders was first published in the United States, The New York Times Book Review called it "a scholarly whodunit [for] anyone who loves a good mystery." Now Martínez returns with a worthy followup: the mesmerizing The Book of Murder. A young writer finds himself unexpectedly tangled up in the story of Luciana, his former assistant and Kloster, bestselling author and rival. What he discovers about the deaths surrounding Luciana will make him question everything he had always believed-and taken for granted-about chance and calculation, cause and effect.

About the Author

Guillermo Martínez is the author of several highly acclaimed novels and short story collections. His novel The Oxford Murders has sold more than 150,000 copies in the U.K. It is a Spanish-language bestseller and has been published in thirty countries.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670019946
Author:
Martinez, Guillermo
Publisher:
Viking Adult
Translator:
Soto, Sonia
Author:
Soto, Sonia
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Authors
Subject:
Murder
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20080918
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
8.48x6.58x.86 in. .73 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Shadows at the Spring Show: An... New Trade Paper $16.99
  2. The Immaculate Deception Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. The Slaying of the Shrew Used Hardcover $2.95
  4. The September Society (Charles... Used Hardcover $6.95
  5. Giotto's Hand (Art History Mysteries) Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Reference » Grammar and Usage

The Book of Murder Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Viking Books - English 9780670019946 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The unnamed narrator of this fine novel of psychological suspense from Argentinean author Martnez (The Oxford Murders) struggles as a young novelist to compete in a world dominated by international superstar Kloster. A literary giant with the attitude of Norman Mailer and the commercial success of Stephen King, Kloster has become the obsession of Luciana B, who once took dictation for both Kloster and the narrator. Reappearing after a decade, Luciana tells the narrator an outrageous tale of horror, claiming that Kloster is slowly murdering her family. Is she a bitter fanatic, or could Kloster be Latin America's cleverest serial killer? Believing she's marked for death, Luciana persuades the narrator to figure out whether the recent events in her life are part of a deadly game of cat-and-mouse or a series of tragic coincidences. This riveting tale will appeal to readers of literary fiction and thriller fans alike. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , The Argentinean author of "The Oxford Murders" returns with a gripping tale of revenge and rivalry that poses the question: can words really kill? Martnez's work appeals to fans of both literary fiction and mysteries.
"Synopsis" by ,
A chilling new tale of literary intrigue from the author of the international sensation The Oxford Murders

When Guillermo Martínez 's novel The Oxford Murders was first published in the United States, The New York Times Book Review called it "a scholarly whodunit [for] anyone who loves a good mystery." Now Martínez returns with a worthy followup: the mesmerizing The Book of Murder. A young writer finds himself unexpectedly tangled up in the story of Luciana, his former assistant and Kloster, bestselling author and rival. What he discovers about the deaths surrounding Luciana will make him question everything he had always believed-and taken for granted-about chance and calculation, cause and effect.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.