Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | March 17, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Peter Stark: The Powells.com Interview



Peter StarkIt's hard to believe that 200 years ago, the Pacific Northwest was one of the most remote and isolated regions in the world. In 1810, four years... Continue »
  1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$25.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
13 Local Warehouse Self Help- General
8 Remote Warehouse Self Help- General

More copies of this ISBN

The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything

by

The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Everyone knows that you are supposed to “follow your dream.”  But where is the road map to help you discover what that dream is?

 

You are holding it in your hands. In Springboard, award-winning author and teacher G. Richard Shell helps you find your future. His advice: Take an honest look inside and then answer two questions:

 

What, for me, is success?

 

How will I achieve it?

 

You will begin by assessing your current beliefs about success, including the hidden influences of family, media, and culture. These are where the pressures to live “someone elses life” come from. Once you gain perspective on these outside forces, you will be ready to look inside at your unique combination of passions and capabilities. The goal: to focus more on what gives meaning and excitement to your life and less on what you are “supposed” to want.

 

Drawing on his decades of research, Shell offers personalized assessments to help you probe your past, imagine your future, and measure your strengths. He then combines these with the latest scientific insights on everything from self-confidence and happiness to relationships and careers.

Throughout, he shares inspiring examples of people who found what they were meant to do by embracing their own true measure of success.

  • Eric Adler: one of Shells former students who walked away from a conventional business career to help launch a revolutionary new concept in public education that has placed hundreds of inner-city high school students in top colleges.
  • Kurt Timken: a Harvard-educated son of a Fortune 500 CEO who found his true calling as a hard-charging police officer fighting drug lords in southern California.
  • Cynthia Stafford: an office worker who became one of her communitys leading promoters of theater and the arts.
Get ready for the journey of a lifetime—one that will help you reevaluate your future and envision success on your own terms. Students and executives say that Richard Shells courses have changed their lives. Let this book change yours.

Review:

"Robinson (Out of Our Minds), renowned in the areas of creativity development, innovation and human resources, tackles the challenge of determining and pursuing work that is aligned with individual talents and passions to achieve well-being and success. The element is what he identifies as the point where the activities individuals enjoy and are naturally good at come together. Offering a wide range of stories about the creative journeys of different people with diverse paths to the element — including Paul McCartney, The Alchemist author Paulo Coelho, and Vidal Sassoon as well as lesser-known examples — he demonstrates a rich vision of human ability and creativity. Covering such topics as the power of creativity, circles of influence, and attitude and aptitude, the author emphasizes the importance of nurturing talent along with developing an understanding of how talent expresses itself differently in every individual. Robinson emphasizes the importance of mentors and reforming and transforming education, making a convincing argument bolstered by solid strategies for honing creativity. Motivating and persuasive, this entertaining and inspiring book will appeal to a wide audience." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

From one of the world's leading thinkers and speakers on creativity and self-fulfillment comes a breakthrough book about talent, passion, and achievement.

Synopsis:

Raise the bar to become the best version of you—and have fun doing it

As a cognitive neuroscientist, anthropologist, and entrepreneur, Bob Deutsch has spent a lifetime studying people. What he has found is that most of us set the bar too low in our lives, both personally and professionally. We choose not to pursue our greatest ambitions because we feel we are incapable of reaching them. But he has also found that we are each born with the fundamental abilities to live the full, creative, dynamic life we dream about.

These are our five inner resources: Curiosity, Openness, Sensuality, Paradox, and Self-Story. In this compelling book, Deutsch shows us how to access and use them to open our lives to unimagined possibilities. Filled with great stories and interviews with inspiring people, including Wynton Marsalis, Richard Feynman, and Anna Quindlen, The 5 Essentials will appeal to readers of The Element and The Tools. It opens the door to a way of being more alive than you have ever been.

Synopsis:

From the creator of the popular Success Course at the Wharton School of Business

 

Finding your own true measure of success begins with two essential questions: Who am I? What will I do with my life? The answers cant come from the outside. You have to search your heart and engage these questions honestly to discover insights that go far beyond conventional notions of fame, fortune, and happiness.

 

Award-winning author and Wharton School professor G. Richard Shell challenges readers to set aside the preconceived definitions of success promoted by society, schools, family, and the media. Then he helps readers replace these old definitions with aspirations based on their unique values, talents, personalities, and motivations. Along the way he shares inspiring stories of others who defined success for themselves.

 

Take a chance. Do what you were meant to do.

About the Author

Ken Robinson is an internationally recognized leader in the development of creativity, innovation and human resources. He has worked with national governments in Europe and Asia, international agencies, Fortune 500 companies, national and state education systems, non-profit organizations and some of the world's leading cultural organizations. He was knighted in 2003 for his contribution to education and the arts.

To learn more about Sir Ken Robinson, visit his website at:

www.sirkenrobinson.com

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670020478
Author:
Robinson, Ken
Publisher:
Viking Books
With:
Aronica, Lou
Author:
Robinson, Ph. D.
Author:
Robinson, Ph.D., Ken
Author:
Shell, G. Richard
Author:
Deutsch, Bob
Author:
Aronica, Lou
Subject:
Non-Formal Education
Subject:
Personal Growth - General
Subject:
Self-actualization (psychology)
Subject:
Creative ability in children
Subject:
Creativity
Subject:
Self-realization
Subject:
Self-Help : General
Subject:
Success
Subject:
Careers
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20090131
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
b/w photos throughout
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. Free Play: Improvisation in Life and Art
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  2. Play: How It Shapes the Brain, Opens... Used Trade Paper $11.95
  3. In Defense of Childhood: Protecting... Used Trade Paper $10.95
  4. A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers...
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  5. A Young People's History of the... Used Hardcover $9.00
  6. The Other Side
    Used Hardcover $9.00

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Creativity
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General

The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Viking Books - English 9780670020478 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Robinson (Out of Our Minds), renowned in the areas of creativity development, innovation and human resources, tackles the challenge of determining and pursuing work that is aligned with individual talents and passions to achieve well-being and success. The element is what he identifies as the point where the activities individuals enjoy and are naturally good at come together. Offering a wide range of stories about the creative journeys of different people with diverse paths to the element — including Paul McCartney, The Alchemist author Paulo Coelho, and Vidal Sassoon as well as lesser-known examples — he demonstrates a rich vision of human ability and creativity. Covering such topics as the power of creativity, circles of influence, and attitude and aptitude, the author emphasizes the importance of nurturing talent along with developing an understanding of how talent expresses itself differently in every individual. Robinson emphasizes the importance of mentors and reforming and transforming education, making a convincing argument bolstered by solid strategies for honing creativity. Motivating and persuasive, this entertaining and inspiring book will appeal to a wide audience." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , From one of the world's leading thinkers and speakers on creativity and self-fulfillment comes a breakthrough book about talent, passion, and achievement.
"Synopsis" by ,
Raise the bar to become the best version of you—and have fun doing it

As a cognitive neuroscientist, anthropologist, and entrepreneur, Bob Deutsch has spent a lifetime studying people. What he has found is that most of us set the bar too low in our lives, both personally and professionally. We choose not to pursue our greatest ambitions because we feel we are incapable of reaching them. But he has also found that we are each born with the fundamental abilities to live the full, creative, dynamic life we dream about.

These are our five inner resources: Curiosity, Openness, Sensuality, Paradox, and Self-Story. In this compelling book, Deutsch shows us how to access and use them to open our lives to unimagined possibilities. Filled with great stories and interviews with inspiring people, including Wynton Marsalis, Richard Feynman, and Anna Quindlen, The 5 Essentials will appeal to readers of The Element and The Tools. It opens the door to a way of being more alive than you have ever been.

"Synopsis" by ,
From the creator of the popular Success Course at the Wharton School of Business

 

Finding your own true measure of success begins with two essential questions: Who am I? What will I do with my life? The answers cant come from the outside. You have to search your heart and engage these questions honestly to discover insights that go far beyond conventional notions of fame, fortune, and happiness.

 

Award-winning author and Wharton School professor G. Richard Shell challenges readers to set aside the preconceived definitions of success promoted by society, schools, family, and the media. Then he helps readers replace these old definitions with aspirations based on their unique values, talents, personalities, and motivations. Along the way he shares inspiring stories of others who defined success for themselves.

 

Take a chance. Do what you were meant to do.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.