Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 3, 2014

    Mary Oliver: IMG Mary Oliver: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Revelation (Matthew Shardlake Mysteries)

by

Revelation (Matthew Shardlake Mysteries) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

It is spring, 1543 and King Henry VIII is wooing Lady Catherine Parr, whom he wants for his sixth wife — but this time the object of his affections is resisting. Archbishop Cranmer and the embattled Protestant faction at court are watching keenly, for Lady Catherine is known to have reformist sympathies.

Matthew Shardlake, meanwhile, is working on the case of a teenage boy, a religious maniac who has been placed by the King's council in the Bedlam hospital for the insane. Should he be released as his parents want, when his terrifying actions could lead to him being burned as a heretic?

Then, when an old friend is horrifically murdered, Shardlake promises his widow — for whom he has long had complicated feelings — to bring the killer to justice. His search leads him to connections not only with the boy in Bedlam, but with Archbishop Cranmer and Catherine Parr, and with the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation.

As London's Bishop Bonner prepares a purge of Protestants, Shardlake, together with his assistant Jack Barak and his friend Guy Malton, follow the trail of a series of horrific murders that shake them to the core. Murders which are already bringing about frenzied talk of witchcraft and a demonic possession, for what else would the Tudor mind make of a serial killer?

Review:

"In March 1543, while London buzzes about Henry VIII's campaign to win newly widowed Lady Catherine Parr for his sixth wife, hunchbacked barrister Matthew Shardlake has grimmer matters on his mind in Sansom's gripping fourth Tudor historical (after 2007's Sovereign). Not only has his close friend and colleague Roger Elliard been savagely murdered but Shardlake finds himself assigned the incendiary case of a young religious fanatic committed to Bedlam. Learning of a link between Elliard's death and a previous slaying, one touching Lady Catherine's household, he reluctantly agrees to join the top-secret probe by his mentor, Archbishop Cranmer — instantly plunging both himself and his intrepid assistant, Jack Barak, into a maelstrom of political intrigue, spiritual strife and personal peril. With its wealth of period detail, compelling characters and bold, fast-moving plot, this may be the most rousing Shardlake adventure so far." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

The fourth book in the Shardlake mystery series takes place in 1543. When an old friend of Matthew Shardlake's is murdered, he vows to bring the killer to justice. His search leads him back to the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation--and a series of horrific murders.

Synopsis:

The Matthew Shardlake Tudor Mystery series continues with this fourth suspenseful installment by the bestselling author of Winter in Madrid and Dominion In 1543, while Tudor England is abuzz with King Henry VIII's wooing of Lady Catherine Parr, Matthew Shardlake is working to defend a teenage boy, a religious fanatic being held in the infamous Bedlam hospital for the insane. Then, when an old friend is murdered, Shardlake's search for the killer leads him back not only to Bedlam but also to Catherine Parr-and the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation.

Hailed as a "virtuoso performance" (The Denver Post) and "historical fiction writing at its best" (The Tampa Tribune), Revelation is a must-read for fans of Hilary Mantel, Margaret George, and Philippa Gregory.

Synopsis:

"We can't recommend this book too highly; it's another virtuoso performance from a truly great talent." -The Denver Post 

Readers across America are discovering Dominion author C. J. Sansom's marvelous Shardlake novels. Now, with the brilliant fourth installment in the series, Revelation is poised to bring his highly praised historical thrillers to an even wider audience. In 1543, while Tudor England is abuzz with King Henry VIII's wooing of Lady Catherine Parr, Matthew Shardlake is working to defend a teenage boy, a religious fanatic being held in the infamous Bedlam hospital for the insane. Then, when an old friend is murdered, Shardlake's search for the killer leads him back not only to Bedlam but also to Catherine Parr-and the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation.

 

About the Author

C. J. Sansom was a lawyer before becoming a full-time writer. He is a bestselling novelist in the United Kingdom, he has a PhD in history.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670020515
Subtitle:
A Matthew Shardlake Tudor Mystery
Author:
Sansom, C J
Author:
Sansom, C. J.
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
History
Subject:
Serial murderers
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Legal stories
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series:
Matthew Shardlake Mysteries
Publication Date:
20100223
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
560
Dimensions:
9.24x6.52x1.74 in. 1.70 lbs.
Age Level:
18-17

Other books you might like

  1. Locked Rooms (Mary Russell Novels) Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. Cruel Intent
    Used Hardcover $1.95
  3. Her Royal Spyness
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. Murder at the Academy Awards: A Red... Used Mass Market $2.95
  5. The Given Day
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. The Enchantress of Florence
    Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Revelation (Matthew Shardlake Mysteries) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 560 pages Viking Books - English 9780670020515 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In March 1543, while London buzzes about Henry VIII's campaign to win newly widowed Lady Catherine Parr for his sixth wife, hunchbacked barrister Matthew Shardlake has grimmer matters on his mind in Sansom's gripping fourth Tudor historical (after 2007's Sovereign). Not only has his close friend and colleague Roger Elliard been savagely murdered but Shardlake finds himself assigned the incendiary case of a young religious fanatic committed to Bedlam. Learning of a link between Elliard's death and a previous slaying, one touching Lady Catherine's household, he reluctantly agrees to join the top-secret probe by his mentor, Archbishop Cranmer — instantly plunging both himself and his intrepid assistant, Jack Barak, into a maelstrom of political intrigue, spiritual strife and personal peril. With its wealth of period detail, compelling characters and bold, fast-moving plot, this may be the most rousing Shardlake adventure so far." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , The fourth book in the Shardlake mystery series takes place in 1543. When an old friend of Matthew Shardlake's is murdered, he vows to bring the killer to justice. His search leads him back to the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation--and a series of horrific murders.
"Synopsis" by ,

The Matthew Shardlake Tudor Mystery series continues with this fourth suspenseful installment by the bestselling author of Winter in Madrid and Dominion In 1543, while Tudor England is abuzz with King Henry VIII's wooing of Lady Catherine Parr, Matthew Shardlake is working to defend a teenage boy, a religious fanatic being held in the infamous Bedlam hospital for the insane. Then, when an old friend is murdered, Shardlake's search for the killer leads him back not only to Bedlam but also to Catherine Parr-and the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation.

Hailed as a "virtuoso performance" (The Denver Post) and "historical fiction writing at its best" (The Tampa Tribune), Revelation is a must-read for fans of Hilary Mantel, Margaret George, and Philippa Gregory.

"Synopsis" by ,
"We can't recommend this book too highly; it's another virtuoso performance from a truly great talent." -The Denver Post 

Readers across America are discovering Dominion author C. J. Sansom's marvelous Shardlake novels. Now, with the brilliant fourth installment in the series, Revelation is poised to bring his highly praised historical thrillers to an even wider audience. In 1543, while Tudor England is abuzz with King Henry VIII's wooing of Lady Catherine Parr, Matthew Shardlake is working to defend a teenage boy, a religious fanatic being held in the infamous Bedlam hospital for the insane. Then, when an old friend is murdered, Shardlake's search for the killer leads him back not only to Bedlam but also to Catherine Parr-and the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation.

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.