Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »
  1. $18.90 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Quick

    Lauren Owen 9780812993271

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Spirituality- General

Speaking of Faith

by

Speaking of Faith Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The host of public radi‛s Speaking of Faith explores the role of faith in the world and in human life today

Krista Tippett is the creator and host of public radi‛s phenomenally popular program Speaking of Faith, a weekly conversation about religion, meaning, ethics, and ideas. As a journalist and then as a diplomat in Berlin, Tippett was enthralled by the promise of political solutions to divisive issues. When politics did not provide worthy answers, Tippett attended Yale Divinity School to pursue larger questions about what makes a meaningful life. In her quest for fait‛s illumination of lif‛s complexities, passions, and frailties, she developed a compelling style of discourse¬—a“life of conversatio”¬—that she now shares with millions of people every week. Tippet‛s unique, in-depth conversations with theologians, scientists, ethicists, and seekers who share their experiences, combined with her engaging style, are revolutionizing the way many think and speak of faith in their families and communities and in the larger world.

Speaking of Faith is the story of this conversational journey and what it yields. Tippett draws on her life experiences and her studies, as well as on conversations with Elie Wiesel, Karen Armstrong, Thich Nhat Hanh, and other renowned figures, to explore such complex subjects as justice, science, fundamentalism, evil, love, and mystery, all within the context of spirituality. In the tradition of Kathleen Norris and Anne Lamott, Krista Tippett here shares a life of conversation that anyone, secular or religious, will find thought provoking about what faith does¬— and can¬—mean to us today.

Review:

"Tippett, host of the weekly NPR radio show Speaking of Faith, offers a challenging book that is part intellectual autobiography, part rumination on the issues of the day. It begins with a fairly detailed discussion of the death of 'secularization theory' as outlined by Harvey Cox and others — not a typical opening salvo for a spiritual memoir — and then reveals Tippett's own intellectual and spiritual formation. She discusses at length how her views were shaped not only by her Southern Baptist grandfather in Oklahoma, or by her adolescent rejection of his rigidity, but by the time she spent in East and West Germany in her 20s, first as a journalist and then as a diplomat. She followed this period with marriage and a stint in England before taking the plunge and enrolling in divinity school in the early 1990s. More than a personal chronicle, however, this is a rigorously brainy piece of work, as informed by the theology of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Reinhold Niebuhr, Charles Darwin and Annie Dillard as it is by Tippett's fascinating interviews with figures like Elie Wiesel and Karen Armstrong. As Tippett takes on issues from the science-and-religion debates to the future of progressive Islam, she shows herself to possess the same 'imaginative intellectual approach' that she admires in some of her interview subjects." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"In a day where religion — or, rather arguments over religion — divide us into ever more entrenched and frustrated camps, Krista Tippett is exactly the measured, balanced commentator we need. Her intelligence is like a salve for all thinking people who have felt wounded or marginalized by The God Wars. This is a book not only about the universal need for prayer, but also about the ever-more-rare human virtue of thought." --Elizabeth Gilbert, author of EAT, PRAY, LOVE

Synopsis:

An intimate, thought-provoking, and original appraisal of the meaning of religion in our time- from the creator and host of public radio's Speaking of Faith

Krista Tippett, widely becoming known as the Bill Moyers of radio, is one of the country's most intelligent and insightful commentators on religion, ethics, and the human spirit. With this book, she draws on her own life story and her intimate conversations with both ordinary and famous figures, including Elie Wiesel, Karen Armstrong, and Thich Nhat Hanh, to explore complex subjects like science, love, virtue, and violence within the context of spirituality and everyday life. Her way of speaking about the mysteries of life-and of listening with care to those who endeavor to understand those mysteries-is nothing short of revolutionary.

Synopsis:

Praise for Krista Tippett and her public radio program Speaking of Faith:

“The brilliance of Krista Tippet‛s idea is to trust people to use the first person singular, to commit themselves with passion and clarity as they enlarge our urgent national conversation”

¬—Martin Marty, Emeritus Professor of American Religious History, University of Chicago

“Speaking of Faith is‛t just a good idea and a welcome concept for a muchneeded forum on religion, belief and spirituality in contemporary life¬—it already is that forum”

¬—Patricia Hampl, Poet, memoirist, and MacArthur“Geniu” Grant recipient

About the Author

Krista Tippett is the creator and host of Speaking of Faith from America Public Media, heard on public radio stations across the country and worldwide. A journalist and former diplomat, she is a graduate of the Yale Divinity School. She lives in St. Paul, Minnesota.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670038350
Subtitle:
Why Religion Matters--and How to Talk About It
Author:
Tippett, Krista
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Spiritual life
Subject:
Religion
Subject:
Faith
Subject:
Sociology of Religion
Subject:
Religion, Politics & State
Subject:
General Religion
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20080129
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.62x5.78x.93 in. .82 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Whistling in the dark :an ABC... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  2. Presidential Courage: Brave Leaders... Used Hardcover $3.95
  3. Scratching the Woodchuck: Nature on...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. The Turtle Warrior
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. Harvest: A Year in the Life of an... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  6. The World to Come
    Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Religion » Christianity » Inspirational
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Religion » Spirituality » General
Religion » Western Religions » General and Comparative Religion

Speaking of Faith Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Viking Books - English 9780670038350 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Tippett, host of the weekly NPR radio show Speaking of Faith, offers a challenging book that is part intellectual autobiography, part rumination on the issues of the day. It begins with a fairly detailed discussion of the death of 'secularization theory' as outlined by Harvey Cox and others — not a typical opening salvo for a spiritual memoir — and then reveals Tippett's own intellectual and spiritual formation. She discusses at length how her views were shaped not only by her Southern Baptist grandfather in Oklahoma, or by her adolescent rejection of his rigidity, but by the time she spent in East and West Germany in her 20s, first as a journalist and then as a diplomat. She followed this period with marriage and a stint in England before taking the plunge and enrolling in divinity school in the early 1990s. More than a personal chronicle, however, this is a rigorously brainy piece of work, as informed by the theology of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Reinhold Niebuhr, Charles Darwin and Annie Dillard as it is by Tippett's fascinating interviews with figures like Elie Wiesel and Karen Armstrong. As Tippett takes on issues from the science-and-religion debates to the future of progressive Islam, she shows herself to possess the same 'imaginative intellectual approach' that she admires in some of her interview subjects." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "In a day where religion — or, rather arguments over religion — divide us into ever more entrenched and frustrated camps, Krista Tippett is exactly the measured, balanced commentator we need. Her intelligence is like a salve for all thinking people who have felt wounded or marginalized by The God Wars. This is a book not only about the universal need for prayer, but also about the ever-more-rare human virtue of thought." --Elizabeth Gilbert, author of EAT, PRAY, LOVE
"Synopsis" by ,
An intimate, thought-provoking, and original appraisal of the meaning of religion in our time- from the creator and host of public radio's Speaking of Faith

Krista Tippett, widely becoming known as the Bill Moyers of radio, is one of the country's most intelligent and insightful commentators on religion, ethics, and the human spirit. With this book, she draws on her own life story and her intimate conversations with both ordinary and famous figures, including Elie Wiesel, Karen Armstrong, and Thich Nhat Hanh, to explore complex subjects like science, love, virtue, and violence within the context of spirituality and everyday life. Her way of speaking about the mysteries of life-and of listening with care to those who endeavor to understand those mysteries-is nothing short of revolutionary.

"Synopsis" by , Praise for Krista Tippett and her public radio program Speaking of Faith:

“The brilliance of Krista Tippet‛s idea is to trust people to use the first person singular, to commit themselves with passion and clarity as they enlarge our urgent national conversation”

¬—Martin Marty, Emeritus Professor of American Religious History, University of Chicago

“Speaking of Faith is‛t just a good idea and a welcome concept for a muchneeded forum on religion, belief and spirituality in contemporary life¬—it already is that forum”

¬—Patricia Hampl, Poet, memoirist, and MacArthur“Geniu” Grant recipient

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves ‚ÄĒ plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts ‚ÄĒ here at Powells.com.