Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 3, 2014

    Mary Oliver: IMG Mary Oliver: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$0.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Love and Other Games of Chance: A Novelty

by

Love and Other Games of Chance: A Novelty Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The fantastic and flamboyant hero of Love and Other Games of Chance is Isaac Schlossberg, circus performer, entertainer, and world traveler. The son of Jewish immigrants to America at the beginning of the twentieth century, Isaac spends his formative years in California, performing with his parents in traveling sideshows and circus acts. His later travels take him to Calcutta, where he assembles a troupe of "Oriental Oddities," to Paris, working a stint at the Grand Guignol Théâtre d'horreur, and finally to Hollywood, starring as Ponce de León in a movie produced by Jewish mobsters.

Isaac organizes the tall tales of his past into one hundred chapters or squares, as on the children's game Snakes and Ladders. As he travels around the world (and up and down the game board) he moves sentimentally from the beginnings of love through many of its most painful and joyous, noble and ridiculous manifestations. The cast of characters includes sharpshooters and fortune-tellers, mentalists, magicians, mesmerists, and midgets, with cameos from Buffalo Bill, Geronimo, Hitler, Bugsy Siegel, and the Abominable Snowman. The key players in this game are small and vulnerable people, each with some grandiose fantasy and high hope of making life more wondrous.

A sumptuous entertainment in the vein of Carter Beats the Devil and Niagara Falls All Over Again, Love and Other Games of Chance is at once silly and grand, utterly absurd and yet full of meaning.

Review:

"As Schlossberg travels around the world (and across the board), his stunts...are woven together into one exceptionally tall tale. Depending on one's point of view, this is either the book's failing or its forte....The whole enterprise is finally redeemed by Siegel's amusing deadpan style..." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Low comedy, physical buffoonery, and rough wit abound. Though a bit over-the-top for this reviewer, this work will perfectly suit those with a taste for the literary fable." Library Journal

Review:

"Love and Other Games of Chance is written in the sustained high pitch of carnal joy, and will, rightly, attract readers for that quality alone..." Eric Weinberger, The New York Times Book Review

Synopsis:

A sumptuous entertainment in the vein of Carter Beats the Devil and Niagara Falls All Over Again, Love and Other Games of Chance is at once silly and grand, utterly absurd and yet full of meaning.

About the Author

Lee Siegel is professor of Indian religions at the University of Hawaii. He is the author of the novel Love in a Dead Language and several works of nonfiction.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670894611
Subtitle:
A Novelty
Author:
Siegel, Lee
Publisher:
Viking Adult
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Mountaineers
Subject:
Entertainers
Subject:
Adventure fiction
Subject:
Rogues and vagabonds
Subject:
Jewish men
Subject:
Birthfathers
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series Volume:
Bd. 1
Publication Date:
February 10, 2003
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
9.5 x 6.4 x 1.38 in 1.62 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Your Money or Your Life:...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. A House Called Awful End: The Eddie... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. Time Stops for No Mouse (Hermux...
    Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Love and Other Games of Chance: A Novelty Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$0.95 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Viking Books - English 9780670894611 Reviews:
"Review" by , "As Schlossberg travels around the world (and across the board), his stunts...are woven together into one exceptionally tall tale. Depending on one's point of view, this is either the book's failing or its forte....The whole enterprise is finally redeemed by Siegel's amusing deadpan style..."
"Review" by , "Low comedy, physical buffoonery, and rough wit abound. Though a bit over-the-top for this reviewer, this work will perfectly suit those with a taste for the literary fable."
"Review" by , "Love and Other Games of Chance is written in the sustained high pitch of carnal joy, and will, rightly, attract readers for that quality alone..."
"Synopsis" by , A sumptuous entertainment in the vein of Carter Beats the Devil and Niagara Falls All Over Again, Love and Other Games of Chance is at once silly and grand, utterly absurd and yet full of meaning.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.