Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    New Favorites | November 25, 2014

    Powell's Staff: IMG Our Favorite New Favorites of 2014



    Every week, we gather together a small pile of newly released titles that we agree should be on everyone's radar. We deem these titles our New... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

The Orchard Keeper

by

The Orchard Keeper Cover

ISBN13: 9780679728726
ISBN10: 0679728724
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Staff Pick

Set in rural Tennessee between the two world wars, The Orchard Keeper is an apocolyptic tale of an orphan, a bootlegger, and various other roustabouts trying to make their way in an unseemly world. To readers of the Border Trilogy: this bleak, violent, and incredibly moving book may change your idea of how McCarthy views the world.
Recommended by Brodie, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An American classic, The Orchard Keeper is the first novel by one of America's finest, most celebrated novelists. Set is a small, remote community in rural Tennessee in the years between the two world wars, it tells of John Wesley Rattner, a young boy, and Marion Sylder, an outlaw and bootlegger who, unbeknownst to either of them, has killed the boy's father. Together with Rattner's Uncle Ather, who belongs to a former age in his communion with nature and his stoic independence, they enact a drama that seems born of the land itself. All three are heroes of an intense and compelling celebration of values lost to time and industrialization.

Synopsis:

An American classic, The Orchard Keeper is the first novel by one of America's finest, most celebrated novelists.  Set is a small, remote community in rural Tennessee in the years between the two world wars, it tells of John Wesley Rattner, a young boy, and Marion Sylder, an outlaw and bootlegger who, unbeknownst to either of them, has killed the boy's father.  Together with Rattner's Uncle Ather, who belongs to a former age in his communion with nature and his stoic independence, they enact a drama that seems born of the land itself.  All three are heroes of an intense and compelling celebration of values lost to time and industrialization.

About the Author

Cormac McCarthy was born in Rhode Island in 1933 and spent most of his childhood near Knoxville, Tennessee. He served in the U.S. Air Force and later studied at the University of Tennessee. In 1976 he moved to El Paso, Texas, where he lives today. McCarthy's fiction parallels his movement from the Southeast to the West — the first four novels being set in Tennessee, the last three in the Southwest and Mexico. The Orchard Keeper (1965) won the Faulkner Award for a first novel; it was followed by Outer Dark (1968), Child of God (1973), Suttree (1979), Blood Meridian (1985), All the Pretty Horses, which won both the National Book Critics Circle Award and the National Book Award for fiction in 1992, and The Crossing.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Dan Sampeck, August 4, 2012 (view all comments by Dan Sampeck)
I loved this book! A great first effort by one of America's unsung writing heroes!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
lukas, August 22, 2011 (view all comments by lukas)
McCarthy is among our most acclaimed/respected living writers, but it took him a while to get there. His debut novel came out way back in the 60s and, well, for fans of "The Road" and "No Country for Old Men," they'll likely find this strange, cryptic and off-putting. Sometimes I think he's a tad overrated and this novel didn't change that feeling, as it's rather meandering, willfully enigmatic and lacking in quotation marks for dialogue. I'm not even sure what happened frankly, but at least it's short.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Christopher D Himes, October 7, 2008 (view all comments by Christopher D Himes)
An impressionistic story--nothing is told to you in a direct manner in this, Cormac McCarthy's first novel. Very poetic and dark, like watching a movie through a dirty lens smeared with petroleum that catches the light in flares every now and then. This novel is the primordial stuff from which each of his subsequent books has emerged, containing, as it does, all the core elements that have appeared again and again. I would recommended this book to someone who has read a few of his others first.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780679728726
Author:
McCarthy, Cormac
Publisher:
Vintage Books
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Community life
Subject:
Community life -- Tennessee, East -- Fiction.
Subject:
Tennessee, East
Subject:
Community life -- Fiction.
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage International
Series Volume:
no. (HCFA)
Publication Date:
19930231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
7.98x5.10x.58 in. .42 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. No Country for Old Men
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Outer Dark
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  3. The Road
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  4. Each Peach Pear Plum (I-Spy-Book)
    New Hardcover $15.99
  5. The Plot against America: A Novel
    Used Book Club Paperback $1.48
  6. Zombie Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » American Studies » Popular Culture

The Orchard Keeper Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780679728726 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Set in rural Tennessee between the two world wars, The Orchard Keeper is an apocolyptic tale of an orphan, a bootlegger, and various other roustabouts trying to make their way in an unseemly world. To readers of the Border Trilogy: this bleak, violent, and incredibly moving book may change your idea of how McCarthy views the world.

"Synopsis" by , An American classic, The Orchard Keeper is the first novel by one of America's finest, most celebrated novelists.  Set is a small, remote community in rural Tennessee in the years between the two world wars, it tells of John Wesley Rattner, a young boy, and Marion Sylder, an outlaw and bootlegger who, unbeknownst to either of them, has killed the boy's father.  Together with Rattner's Uncle Ather, who belongs to a former age in his communion with nature and his stoic independence, they enact a drama that seems born of the land itself.  All three are heroes of an intense and compelling celebration of values lost to time and industrialization.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.