25 Women to Read Before You Die
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | August 24, 2015

    Ellen Urbani: IMG Like Every Other Survivor



    I have an uncommon penchant for aligning myself with disaster and death. Tornadoes and wildfires and armed guerrillas have chased me. Riptides... Continue »
    1. $11.17 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      Landfall

      Ellen Urbani 9780988265776

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies

One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies Cover

ISBN13: 9780689858208
ISBN10: 0689858205
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

When you're a hypochondriac, there are a million different things that could be wrong with you, but for Izzy, focusing on what could be wrong might be keeping her from dealing with what's really wrong.

I almost raised my hand, but what would I say? "Mr. Bayer, may I please be excused? I'm not totally positive, but I think I might have cancer." No way. Then everyone at school would know, and they would treat me differently, and I would be known as "Izzy, that poor girl who diagnosed herself with breast cancer during biology."

But Izzy's sense of humor can only get her so far when suddenly her best friend appears to have undergone a personality transplant, her mother's health takes a turn for the worse, and her beautiful maybe-boyfriend is going all hot and cold. Izzy thinks she's preparing for the worst-case scenario, but when the worst-case scenario actually hits, it's a different story altogether--and there's no tidy list of symptoms to help her through the insanity.

Review:

"This winning portrayal of a teenage girl's loves and losses, written in Sones's (What My Mother Doesn't Know) signature free-verse style, opens as 15-year-old Ruby is en route from Boston to L.A. ('Hell A' as she calls it). Following her mother's untimely death (in a poem called 'Maybe You're Wondering About It,' Ruby furiously says, 'But that's just tough./ Because I'm not even going to go in/ to how she died'), Ruby leaves behind her best friend Lizzie and her boyfriend Ray, to live with a father she's never met. Whip Logan, a famous actor, seems anxious to kindle a relationship; however, when Ruby meets him, she thinks: 'I don't know whether/ to ask him for his autograph,/ kick him in the balls,/ or run.' The scene in California proves 'deeply surreal': neighbor Cameron Diaz pops over, Brad Pitt grins at her in the local bookstore, and at the high school she enrolls in 'Dream Interpretation Through the Ages.' The only person Ruby feels comfortable with is her father's live-in 'assistant/slash personal trainer,' Max, whom Ruby believes is gay. Sones gives the audience clear signals of what Ruby can't allow herself to take in. Readers will accept some melodrama because, even with a few contrivances, Ruby's voice conveys genuine emotions. Ages 12-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic — or is it epidemic?

Synopsis:

For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic — or is it epidemic?

About the Author

Before becoming a writer, Sonya Sones was a film editor. Her novels, Stop Pretending and What My Mother Doesn't Know, have received numerous honors, including a Christopher Award, the Myra Cohn Livingston Award for Poetry, the Claudia Lewis Poetry Award, and a Los Angeles Times Book Prize nomination. Both books were chosen ALA Best Books for Young Adults and Top Ten Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers.

Ms. Sones says: "I grew up near Boston, but moved to L.A. in my twenties to work for a famous film director. The first time I walked through the gates of MGM, I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. Hollywood seemed so glamorous and exciting. But it was like living on a different planet. So when I was writing Ruby's story, I could draw on memories of my own culture shock — seeing palm trees everywhere, movie stars standing in line at the drugstore. I even got a ticket for crossing the street...just like Ruby."

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

air_force_sweety89, September 9, 2006 (view all comments by air_force_sweety89)
I loved this book. I finished it the day I got it. It was like it was impossible to put it down.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780689858208
Publisher:
Dial
Location:
New York
Author:
Sones, Sonya
Author:
Raf, Mindy
Subject:
General
Subject:
Interpersonal Relations
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Social Situations - Death & Dying
Subject:
Poetry - General
Subject:
Family - Parents
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Poetry
Subject:
Moving, Household
Subject:
Fathers and daughters
Subject:
Homosexuality
Subject:
Grief
Subject:
Actors and actresses
Subject:
Los angeles
Subject:
Social Issues - Death & Dying
Subject:
Los angeles (calif.)
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Death and Dying
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series Volume:
vyp. no. 15
Publication Date:
May 2004
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f/c jkt
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 x 1.1 in
Age Level:
12-17

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Death and Dying
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Homosexuality
Young Adult » General

One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 384 pages Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - English 9780689858208 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This winning portrayal of a teenage girl's loves and losses, written in Sones's (What My Mother Doesn't Know) signature free-verse style, opens as 15-year-old Ruby is en route from Boston to L.A. ('Hell A' as she calls it). Following her mother's untimely death (in a poem called 'Maybe You're Wondering About It,' Ruby furiously says, 'But that's just tough./ Because I'm not even going to go in/ to how she died'), Ruby leaves behind her best friend Lizzie and her boyfriend Ray, to live with a father she's never met. Whip Logan, a famous actor, seems anxious to kindle a relationship; however, when Ruby meets him, she thinks: 'I don't know whether/ to ask him for his autograph,/ kick him in the balls,/ or run.' The scene in California proves 'deeply surreal': neighbor Cameron Diaz pops over, Brad Pitt grins at her in the local bookstore, and at the high school she enrolls in 'Dream Interpretation Through the Ages.' The only person Ruby feels comfortable with is her father's live-in 'assistant/slash personal trainer,' Max, whom Ruby believes is gay. Sones gives the audience clear signals of what Ruby can't allow herself to take in. Readers will accept some melodrama because, even with a few contrivances, Ruby's voice conveys genuine emotions. Ages 12-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic — or is it epidemic?

"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic — or is it epidemic?

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.