The Fictioning
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 18, 2014

    Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



    On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
List price: $16.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Mathematics- History

Flatterland: Like Flatland, Only More So

by

Flatterland: Like Flatland, Only More So Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel." Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

Book News Annotation:

Edwin Abott Abott's 1884 Flatland instantly became a classic of popular science and has not been out of print since. Contributing to a long line of sequels, Stewart (mathematics, U. of Warwick) tells of the narrator A. Square's great-great-granddaughter Vikky in a society rather like Britain and the US in the early 1960s, though with the Internet thrown in.
Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

The brilliant "sequel" to one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics

About the Author

Ian Stewart is Professor of Mathematics at the University of Warwick and is well known for his writing and broadcasting about mathematics for nonspecialists. He has written over 140 research papers on such subjects as symmetry in dynamics, pattern formation, chaos, and mathematical biology, as well as numerous popular books, including Letters to a Young Mathematician, Does God Play Dice?, What Shape Is a Snowflake?, Natures Numbers, The Annotated Flatland, and Flatterland. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2001. He lives in Coventry, England.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780738206752
Author:
Stewart, Ian
Publisher:
Basic Books (AZ)
Location:
Cambridge, Mass.
Subject:
General
Subject:
Mathematics
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Universe
Subject:
General science
Subject:
Science Reference-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
107-51
Publication Date:
April 2002
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 11 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Flatland: A Romance of Many...
    Used Trade Paper $1.50
  2. The Annotated Flatland: A Romance of... Used Trade Paper $9.95
  3. Cowboy Small (More Little Treasures... Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. The Number Devil: A Mathematical...
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  5. The Universal History of Computing:... Used Trade Paper $9.50
  6. Flatland/Sphereland Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Reference » Science Reference » General
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Games and Puzzles
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » General
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » History
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Popular Surveys and Recreational

Flatterland: Like Flatland, Only More So Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Perseus Books Group - English 9780738206752 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
The brilliant "sequel" to one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.