Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 19, 2015

    Ned Beauman: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Ned Beauman



    I did have a playlist that I listened to over and over again while I was writing Glow, but three years on I'm a bit bored of those songs, which got... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Health and Medicine- Aging

This title in other editions

How We Age: A Doctor's Journey Into the Heart of Growing Old

by

How We Age: A Doctor's Journey Into the Heart of Growing Old Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Atul Gawande and Sherwin Nuland, Marc Agronin writes luminously and unforgettably of life as he sees it as a doctor. His beat is a nursing home in Miami that some would dismiss as “Gods waiting room.” Nothing in the young doctors medical training had quite prepared him for what he was to discover there. As Agronin first learned from ninety-eight-year-old Esther and, later, from countless others, the true scales of aging arent one-sided—you cant list the problems without also tallying the hopes and promises. Drawing on moving personal experiences and in-depth interviews with pioneers in the field, Agronin conjures a spellbinding look at what aging means today—how our bodies and brains age, and the very way we understand aging.

Synopsis:

A young doctors reflections on his experiences as a nursing-home psychiatrist—with remarkable stories of vitality and growth that transformed his view of aging

Synopsis:

“In the tradition of Atul Gawande and Sherwin Nuland…a spellbinding look at what aging means today.”--Washington Times

Synopsis:

Marc Agronin writes luminously of life as he sees it as a doctor. His beat? A nursing home in Miami. Drawing on moving personal experiences--those of his patients and their families, as well as his own--and on in-depth interviews with pioneers in the field, Agronin conjures an unforgettable look at what aging means today: how our bodies and brains change over time—and how even the very way we understand aging is changing too.

About the Author

Marc Agronin, MD, a graduate of Harvard University and Yale Medical School, is the psychiatrist at the Miami Jewish Home and Hospital. His articles have appeared in the New York Times and many other periodicals. He lives in Cooper City, Florida.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780738215587
Author:
Agronin, Marc
Publisher:
Da Capo Lifelong Books
Author:
Agronin, Marc E.
Subject:
General Psychology & Psychiatry
Subject:
Health and Medicine-General
Subject:
Health and Medicine-Aging
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20120331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
A Doctor's Journey Into the Heart of Growing Old

Other books you might like

  1. The Stars: A New Way to See Them
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  2. Every Patient Tells a Story: Medical...
    Used Hardcover $10.95
  3. Justice: What's the Right Thing to Do?
    Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  4. Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe,...
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  5. Wolf Hall
    Used Trade Paper $8.50

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Aging
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Specialties
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General

How We Age: A Doctor's Journey Into the Heart of Growing Old Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Da Capo Lifelong Books - English 9780738215587 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A young doctors reflections on his experiences as a nursing-home psychiatrist—with remarkable stories of vitality and growth that transformed his view of aging
"Synopsis" by ,
“In the tradition of Atul Gawande and Sherwin Nuland…a spellbinding look at what aging means today.”--Washington Times
"Synopsis" by ,
Marc Agronin writes luminously of life as he sees it as a doctor. His beat? A nursing home in Miami. Drawing on moving personal experiences--those of his patients and their families, as well as his own--and on in-depth interviews with pioneers in the field, Agronin conjures an unforgettable look at what aging means today: how our bodies and brains change over time—and how even the very way we understand aging is changing too.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.