Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | May 12, 2015

    Mark Bittman: IMG Six Things You Can Do to Join the Food Movement Today



    People ask me all the time what they can do to help improve the food system. Given that some of the problems that need fixing (like unsustainable... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
List price: $9.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- Paranormal
2 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

This title in other editions

Other titles in the Gathering of Faerie series:

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception

by

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception Cover

ISBN13: 9780738713700
ISBN10: 0738713708
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING NOVEL SHIVER Vibrant and potent, YA readers searching for faerie stories will be happy to find this accomplished debut novel.-Publishers Weekly(starred review) This beautiful and out-of-the-ordinary debut novel, with its authentic depiction of Celtic Faerie lore and dangerous forbidden love in a contemporary American setting, will appeal to readers of Nancy Werlin's Impossible and Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series.-Booklist(starred review) Part adventure, part fantasy, and wholly riveting love story, Lament will delight nearly all audiences with its skillful blend of magic and ordinary life.--KLIATT (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand--one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass--a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky--and equally dangerous--dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind . . .

Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.

Review:

"YA readers searching for faerie stories will be happy to find this debut novel, an accomplished take on well-loved themes. Despite her immense talent, teenage musician Deirdre fights nausea-inducing anxiety every time she plays her harp in public. Enter handsome, romantic Luke at just the right moment: a stranger, he calms her before a major competition, performs a duet with her and together they win the grand prize. Deirdre can't help falling in love — only, why do four-leaf clovers keep appearing, and why does Luke keep throwing them away? And why does Deirdre's grandmother instantly express an aversion to Luke? Along with some familiar elements — ruthless faerie royalty, unsuspecting mortals targeted for their as yet unknown gifts, treacherous bargains — Stiefvater brings to her story several layers of romance, a knowledge of Irish music and a talent for plot twists. She is also unafraid of taking plot developments to their logical outcomes, even when they mar the characters' happiness. Vibrant and potent, her writing will hook genre fans. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand--one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass--a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky--and equally dangerous--dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty.

Synopsis:

A dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, "Lament" follows 16-year-old Dierdre Monaghan, who discovers that she is a cloverhand--one who can see faeries. Dierdre soon finds herself trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war.

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand--one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass--a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky--and equally dangerous--dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind . . . Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Margie, January 9, 2011 (view all comments by Margie)
This story is what might happen if you are able to see Them who may be all around you on a daily basis anyway. Do you want the power? Are you brave enough to stand up to Them? A friend loaned me this book to read and it is for a teen/young adult but even a 54 year old can enjoy it. I did!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780738713700
Author:
Stiefvater, Maggie
Publisher:
Flux
Subject:
General
Subject:
Musicians
Subject:
Magic
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Fairies
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20081031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
- Up
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
325
Dimensions:
7.96x5.27x.81 in. .77 lbs.
Age Level:
12-UP

Other books you might like

  1. Darkwood
    Used Hardcover $7.95
  2. Drama! #02: Everyone's a Critic New Trade Paper $12.99
  3. Clique #10: P.S. I Loathe You [With... Used Trade Paper $1.25
  4. Glass Houses: The Morganville...
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  5. Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  6. How I Survived Middle School #09:... Used Book Club Paperback $3.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Paranormal
Young Adult » General

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 325 pages Flux - English 9780738713700 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "YA readers searching for faerie stories will be happy to find this debut novel, an accomplished take on well-loved themes. Despite her immense talent, teenage musician Deirdre fights nausea-inducing anxiety every time she plays her harp in public. Enter handsome, romantic Luke at just the right moment: a stranger, he calms her before a major competition, performs a duet with her and together they win the grand prize. Deirdre can't help falling in love — only, why do four-leaf clovers keep appearing, and why does Luke keep throwing them away? And why does Deirdre's grandmother instantly express an aversion to Luke? Along with some familiar elements — ruthless faerie royalty, unsuspecting mortals targeted for their as yet unknown gifts, treacherous bargains — Stiefvater brings to her story several layers of romance, a knowledge of Irish music and a talent for plot twists. She is also unafraid of taking plot developments to their logical outcomes, even when they mar the characters' happiness. Vibrant and potent, her writing will hook genre fans. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand--one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass--a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky--and equally dangerous--dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty.
"Synopsis" by , A dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, "Lament" follows 16-year-old Dierdre Monaghan, who discovers that she is a cloverhand--one who can see faeries. Dierdre soon finds herself trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war.
"Synopsis" by , Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand--one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass--a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky--and equally dangerous--dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind . . . Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.