Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | August 14, 2015

    Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz: IMG The Blind Spot of United States History



    The most frequent question readers ask about An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States is "Why hasn't this book been written before?" I'm... Continue »
    1. $11.20 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.95
Used Compact Disc
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Audio Books- Nonfiction

Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of Thelast Mysteries of World War II (Abridged)

by

Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of Thelast Mysteries of World War II (Abridged) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Jon Krakauers Into Thin Air and Sebastian Jungers The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves.

For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships.

But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones–all buried under decades of accumulated sediment.

No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location.

Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors–former enemies of their country. As the mens marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew.

Author Robert Kursons account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the oceans underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea.

From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

Robert Kurson earned a bachelors degree in philosophy from the University of Wisconsin, then a law degree from Harvard Law School. His award-winning stories have appeared in Rolling Stone, The New York Times Magazine, and Esquire, where he is a contributing editor. Crashing Through is based on Kursons 2006 National Magazine Award-winning profile in Esquire. He is the author of Shadow Divers, and he lives in Chicago. Visit the authors website at www.robertkurson.com.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780739311998
Subtitle:
The True Adventure of Two Americans Who RIsked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II
Read:
Scott, Campbell
Author:
Kurson, Robert
Author:
Scott, Campbell
Publisher:
Random House Audio
Subject:
Military - Naval
Subject:
Military - World War II
Subject:
Europe - Germany
Edition Description:
Five CD
Abridged:
Y
Publication Date:
20050503
Binding:
CD-audio
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Dimensions:
6.4 x 5.5 x 1 in .4 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Yukon Alone: The World's Toughest... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  2. Bill Bryson's African Diary
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  3. A Short History of Nearly Everything
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  4. The Nine Emotional Lives of Cats: A...
    Used Hardcover $4.95

Related Subjects

Audio Books » Nonfiction

Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of Thelast Mysteries of World War II (Abridged) Used Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.95 In Stock
Product details pages Random House Audio Publishing Group - English 9780739311998 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.