Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$25.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
13 Local Warehouse Popular Fiction- Contemporary Thrillers
25 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Contemporary Thrillers

One Second After

by

One Second After Cover

ISBN13: 9780765317582
ISBN10: 0765317583
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).  A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.
 
Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.

Review:

"In this entertaining apocalyptic thriller from Forstchen (We Look Like Men of War), a high-altitude nuclear bomb of uncertain origin explodes, unleashing a deadly electromagnetic pulse that instantly disables almost every electrical device in the U.S. and elsewhere in the world. Airplanes, most cars, cellphones, refrigerators — all are fried as the country plunges into literal and metaphoric darkness. History professor John Matherson, who lives with his two daughters in a small North Carolina town, soon figures out what has happened. Aided by local officials, Matherson begins to deal with such long-term effects of the disaster as starvation, disease and roving gangs of barbarians. While the material sometimes threatens to veer into jingoism, and heartstrings are tugged a little too vigorously, fans of such classics as Alas, Babylon and On the Beachwill have a good time as Forstchen tackles the obvious and some not-so-obvious questions the apocalypse tends to raise. Newt Gingrich provides a foreword." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

An end-of-the-world novel to rank with The Stand and Lucifer's Hammer

Synopsis:

"New York Times"-bestselling author Forstchen presents a terrifyingly real story of terrorism, in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war.

Synopsis:

An end-of-the-world novel to rank with The Stand and Lucifer's Hammer

Synopsis:

In the latest survivalist thriller from founder of survivalblog.com and New York Times bestselling author James Wesley, Rawles, two expat families struggle for their very survival in the midst of a global economic collapse.

When the United States suffers a major socioeconomic collapse, a power vacuum sweeps the globe. A newly radicalized Islamic government rises to power in Indonesia, invades the Philippines, East Timor, Papua New Guinea, and finally northern Australia. No longer protected by American military interests, Australia must repel an invasion alone.

In the thick of these political maneuvers, an American family of missionaries living in the Philippines and a Texan petroleum engineer in Australia must face the fear of being strangers in a world in flux. Are their relatives back home healthy and safe? Will they ever see them again?

In its depiction of the authentic survivalist skills and techniques needed to survive a global socioeconomic meltdown, Expatriates is as informative as it is suspense-filled.

Synopsis:

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).  A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.
 
Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.

About the Author

WILLIAM R. FORSTCHEN has a Ph.D. from Purdue University with specializations in Military History and the History of Technology. He is a Faculty Fellow and Professor of History at Montreat College.  He is the author of over forty books, including the New York Times bestselling series Gettysburg and Pearl Harbor (coauthored with Newt Gingrich), as well as the award-winning young adult novel We Look Like Men of War. He has also authored numerous short stories and articles about military history and military technology. His interests include archaeological research on sites in Mongolia, and as a pilot he owns and flies an original World War II "recon bird." Dr. Forstchen resides near Asheville, North Carolina with his teenage daughter Meghan and their small pack of golden retreivers and yellow labs.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Margaret Whipple, April 23, 2009 (view all comments by Margaret Whipple)
There cannot be a more terrifying new book. I finished days ago, but the storyline continues to affect nearly every part of my daily life. With all too real breaches in national security being reported - even as this review is composed - this 'story' must be read. All complacency about our country and the world as we know it, will be shattered at once.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780765317582
Author:
Forstchen, William R.
Publisher:
Forge
Introduction:
Gingrich, Newt
Foreword by:
Gingrich, Newt
Foreword:
Gingrich, Newt
Author:
James Wesley Rawles
Author:
Rawles, James Wesley
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
North carolina
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Subject:
Science Fiction/Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Subject:
Adventure
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20090331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9.5 x 6.48 x 1.265 in
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Polar Shift: A Novel from the NUMA Files Used Mass Market $2.95
  2. Golden Buddha (Oregon Files) Used Trade Paper $1.50
  3. Banquo's Ghosts Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. Dark Watch :Oregon Files Used Trade Paper $1.95
  5. The Republic of Pirates: Being the... Used Trade Paper $9.00
  6. A Little History of British Gardening Used Hardcover $9.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

One Second After New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.99 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Forge - English 9780765317582 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this entertaining apocalyptic thriller from Forstchen (We Look Like Men of War), a high-altitude nuclear bomb of uncertain origin explodes, unleashing a deadly electromagnetic pulse that instantly disables almost every electrical device in the U.S. and elsewhere in the world. Airplanes, most cars, cellphones, refrigerators — all are fried as the country plunges into literal and metaphoric darkness. History professor John Matherson, who lives with his two daughters in a small North Carolina town, soon figures out what has happened. Aided by local officials, Matherson begins to deal with such long-term effects of the disaster as starvation, disease and roving gangs of barbarians. While the material sometimes threatens to veer into jingoism, and heartstrings are tugged a little too vigorously, fans of such classics as Alas, Babylon and On the Beachwill have a good time as Forstchen tackles the obvious and some not-so-obvious questions the apocalypse tends to raise. Newt Gingrich provides a foreword." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
An end-of-the-world novel to rank with The Stand and Lucifer's Hammer
"Synopsis" by , "New York Times"-bestselling author Forstchen presents a terrifyingly real story of terrorism, in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war.
"Synopsis" by ,
An end-of-the-world novel to rank with The Stand and Lucifer's Hammer
"Synopsis" by ,
In the latest survivalist thriller from founder of survivalblog.com and New York Times bestselling author James Wesley, Rawles, two expat families struggle for their very survival in the midst of a global economic collapse.

When the United States suffers a major socioeconomic collapse, a power vacuum sweeps the globe. A newly radicalized Islamic government rises to power in Indonesia, invades the Philippines, East Timor, Papua New Guinea, and finally northern Australia. No longer protected by American military interests, Australia must repel an invasion alone.

In the thick of these political maneuvers, an American family of missionaries living in the Philippines and a Texan petroleum engineer in Australia must face the fear of being strangers in a world in flux. Are their relatives back home healthy and safe? Will they ever see them again?

In its depiction of the authentic survivalist skills and techniques needed to survive a global socioeconomic meltdown, Expatriates is as informative as it is suspense-filled.

"Synopsis" by ,
New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).  A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.
 
Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.