Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | July 20, 2015

    Jesse Ball: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Jesse Ball



    Describe your latest book. I woke up one day from a sort of daydream with an idea for a book's structure, and for the thread of that book, one... Continue »
    1. $16.80 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      A Cure for Suicide

      Jesse Ball 9781101870129

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Horror- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Deep Down

by

Deep Down Cover

ISBN13: 9780765329004
ISBN10: 076532900x
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $12.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Now that she's solved her sister's murder, Hallie Michaels has left the army and isn't sure what to do next. Her relationship with deputy Boyd Davies is tentative, there's still distance between her and her father, and she needs a job. The good news is, she hasn't seen a ghost in weeks.

All that changes when she gets a call asking her to help an elderly neighbor who is being stalked by black dogs, creatures from the underworld that are harbingers of death. When a black dog appears, Hallie learns, a reaper is sure to follow. And if the dark visions she's suddenly receiving are any indication, it looks like the reaper is now following her.

Meanwhile, strange events herald the arrival of ghosts from Boyd's past, ghosts the young deputy isn't ready to face. Refusing Hallie's help, Boyd takes off to deal with the problem on his own, only to find that he's facing something much larger and more frightening than he'd imagined.

Stalked by a reaper and plagued by dark visions, Hallie finds she must face her fears and travel into Death's own realm to save those she most loves.

Deep Down is the chlling sequel to Wide Open, Deborah Coates's “refreshingly original dark fantasy debut.” (Publishers Weekly)  

Review:

"Supernatural-sensitive Hallie Michaels returns for a thrill-packed adventure in this solid follow-up to Wide Open. Hallie has been able to see ghosts since a near-death experience while soldiering in Afghanistan. Even this talent hasn't equipped her for the latest weirdness in her rural South Dakota town: people are disappearing, and Rapid City is being overrun with doglike harbingers and death-dealing reapers. Years before, Travis Hollowell murdered the wife of deputy sheriff Boyd Davies; now Boyd is Hallie's boyfriend, so she's doubly concerned when Hollowell becomes a reaper and begins stalking Boyd's sister-in-law. Before she can figure out how to resolve matters, Hallie will take a trip to the underworld and have several encounters with Death incarnate. Coates staffs her tale with other psychically gifted characters who give credible purpose to its wild events, and Hallie shows impressive grit and physicality while battling occult forces. Agent: Caitlin Blasdell, Liza Dawson Associates." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Death stalks the haunted, windswept prairie in this chilling sequel to Wide Open

About the Author

DEBORAH COATES lives in Ames, Iowa, and works for Iowa State University. Her short fiction has appeared in Asimov's and Strange Horizons, as well as Year's Best Fantasy 6, Best Paranormal Romance, and Best American Fantasy.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

zac, April 30, 2013 (view all comments by zac)
This is a series that you don’t want to miss and Urban Fantasy that will have you on the edge of you seat until the very last word. Fans of Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series and Kim Harrisons’ The Hollows series will want to get their hands on this second installment Deep Down by Deborah Coates.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780765329004
Author:
Coates, Deborah
Publisher:
Tor Books
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Fantasy
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Subject:
Fantasy - Contemporary
Subject:
Fantasy/Dark Fantasy
Subject:
Ghost
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Hallie Michaels
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20130331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » General

Deep Down Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Tor Books - English 9780765329004 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Supernatural-sensitive Hallie Michaels returns for a thrill-packed adventure in this solid follow-up to Wide Open. Hallie has been able to see ghosts since a near-death experience while soldiering in Afghanistan. Even this talent hasn't equipped her for the latest weirdness in her rural South Dakota town: people are disappearing, and Rapid City is being overrun with doglike harbingers and death-dealing reapers. Years before, Travis Hollowell murdered the wife of deputy sheriff Boyd Davies; now Boyd is Hallie's boyfriend, so she's doubly concerned when Hollowell becomes a reaper and begins stalking Boyd's sister-in-law. Before she can figure out how to resolve matters, Hallie will take a trip to the underworld and have several encounters with Death incarnate. Coates staffs her tale with other psychically gifted characters who give credible purpose to its wild events, and Hallie shows impressive grit and physicality while battling occult forces. Agent: Caitlin Blasdell, Liza Dawson Associates." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
Death stalks the haunted, windswept prairie in this chilling sequel to Wide Open
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.