Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »
  1. $11.20 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Sherwood Nation

    Benjamin Parzybok 9781618730862

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton SF- S
1 Burnside SF- S

This title in other editions

Berserker's Star (Berserker Saga)

by

Berserker's Star (Berserker Saga) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"The Berserkers, in their single-minded pursuit of their preprogrammed course of destruction, attain a kind of perverse stature that makes them worthy stand-ins for the dark side of human nature."--The New York Times

Fred Saberhagen continues his Berserker Series®, a chronicle of a war between humanity and the terrifying race of sentient machines bent on death and destruction. Pilot Harry Silver's name is know throughout the galaxy. While he has defeated his share of Berserkers, he has also stolen a powerful weapon from the Space Force, making him a fugitive from the life he once knew. Looking for an adventure Harry agrees to bring a passenger aboard his ship: Lily, a woman who is on a quest to retrieve her husband.

It won't be easy, as Lily's husband has joined a secretive religious cult on Maracanda, an almost-planet lodged between a shifting black hole and a neutron star. While the landscape of Maracanda is treacherous, so too, may be the people around Harry Silver. For as the search for Lily's husband deepens, Harry finds himself investigating a larger mystery and looking for missing persons, almost ending up one himself.

And, as always, there is the threat of death from above, in the path of a machine whose only intent is to kill.

"The Berserker stories are war stories, but war stories in the tradition of The Red Badge of Courage and All Quiet on the Western Front." --The Baltimore Evening Sun

"These homicidal robots manage to make Aliens look like wimps." --Science Fiction Age

Synopsis:

Acclaimed author Saberhagen continues his widely popular and influential Berserker Series, a chronicle of war between humanity and the terrifying race of sentient machines bent on death and destruction.

Synopsis:

Fred Saberhagen continues his Berserker Series®, a chronicle of a war between humanity and the terrifying race of sentient machines bent on death and destruction. Pilot Harry Silver's name is know throughout the galaxy. While he has defeated his share of Berserkers, he has also stolen a powerful weapon from the Space Force, making him a fugitive from the life he once knew. Looking for an adventure Harry agrees to bring a passenger aboard his ship: Lily, a woman who is on a quest to retrieve her husband.

It won't be easy, as Lily's husband has joined a secretive religious cult on Maracanda, an almost-planet lodged between a shifting black hole and a neutron star. While the landscape of Maracanda is treacherous, so too, may be the people around Harry Silver. For as the search for Lily's husband deepens, Harry finds himself investigating a larger mystery and looking for missing persons, almost ending up one himself.

And, as always, there is the threat of death from above, in the path of a machine whose only intent is to kill.

About the Author

In addition to the popular Dracula Series, Fred Saberhagen is the author of the popular Berserker (tm) Series and the bestselling Lost Swords and Book of Lost Swords. Fred Saberhagen lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780765343215
Author:
Saberhagen, Fred
Publisher:
Tor Science Fiction
Subject:
Science Fiction - Adventure
Subject:
Science / General
Subject:
Science / Adventure
Copyright:
Edition Description:
First
Series:
Berserker Saga
Publication Date:
20040301
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
6.74x4.18x.98 in. .38 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Into the Storm (Destroyermen #01)
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  2. A Whale Hunt: How a Native American... Used Trade Paper $7.50
  3. Matt Jensen: The Last Mountain Man... New Mass Market $5.99
  4. What Obama Means: For Our Culture,... Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. Vision of the Future Used Mass Market $1.50
  6. Dissolution
    Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

Berserker's Star (Berserker Saga) Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Tor Books - English 9780765343215 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Acclaimed author Saberhagen continues his widely popular and influential Berserker Series, a chronicle of war between humanity and the terrifying race of sentient machines bent on death and destruction.
"Synopsis" by ,
Fred Saberhagen continues his Berserker Series®, a chronicle of a war between humanity and the terrifying race of sentient machines bent on death and destruction. Pilot Harry Silver's name is know throughout the galaxy. While he has defeated his share of Berserkers, he has also stolen a powerful weapon from the Space Force, making him a fugitive from the life he once knew. Looking for an adventure Harry agrees to bring a passenger aboard his ship: Lily, a woman who is on a quest to retrieve her husband.

It won't be easy, as Lily's husband has joined a secretive religious cult on Maracanda, an almost-planet lodged between a shifting black hole and a neutron star. While the landscape of Maracanda is treacherous, so too, may be the people around Harry Silver. For as the search for Lily's husband deepens, Harry finds himself investigating a larger mystery and looking for missing persons, almost ending up one himself.

And, as always, there is the threat of death from above, in the path of a machine whose only intent is to kill.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.