Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 17, 2014

    Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



    My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Golden Transcendence: Or, the Last of the Masquerade

The Golden Transcendence: Or, the Last of the Masquerade Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Begun with The Golden Age, continued with The Phoenix Exultant, and now concluding in The Golden Transcendence, The Golden Age trilogy is Grand Space Opera, an SF adventure saga in the tradition of A. E. Van Gogt, Roger Zelazny and Cordwainer Smith. It is an astounding story of super-science, a thrilling wonder story that recaptures the elan of SF's golden age writers in the suspenseful and passionate tale of Phaeton, a lone rebel unhappy in utopia.

The end of the Millennium is imminent, when all minds, human, posthuman, cybernetic, sophotechnic, will be temporarily merged into one solar-system-spanning supermind called the Transcendence. This is not only the fulfillment of a thousand years of dreams, it is a day of doom, when the universal mind will pass judgment on the all the races of humanity and transhumanity.

The mighty ship Phoenix Exultant is at last in the hands of her master, Phaethon the Exile is at her helm and his dream of starflight in alive once more. He is being hunted by alien agents, the eerie and deadly Lords of the Silent Oecumene, who would steal the Phoenix Exultant and turn it into a weapon.

The all-encompassing Mind of the Golden Transcendence is waking. Will it endorse Phaeton's dream or face the first interstellar war?

Synopsis:

The conclusion of the grand space opera begun in 'The Golden Age' and 'The Phoenix Exultant'.

Synopsis:

From "an exciting voice and stunning new talent" (David Brin) comes the dazzling conclusion to the masterpiece of far-future space opera that began with "The Golden Age" and continued in "The Phoenix Exultant."

About the Author

John C. Wright, a journalist and a lawyer turned SF and fantasy writer, lives with his wife and son in Centreville, Virginia.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780765349088
Subtitle:
Or, The Last of the Masquerade
Publisher:
Tor Science Fiction
Author:
Wright, John C.
Subject:
Science Fiction - General
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Subject:
Science / General
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series:
The Golden Age
Series Volume:
No. 3 of 3
Publication Date:
20040601
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
6.75 x 4.19 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

The Golden Transcendence: Or, the Last of the Masquerade
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 432 pages Tor Books - English 9780765349088 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The conclusion of the grand space opera begun in 'The Golden Age' and 'The Phoenix Exultant'.
"Synopsis" by , From "an exciting voice and stunning new talent" (David Brin) comes the dazzling conclusion to the masterpiece of far-future space opera that began with "The Golden Age" and continued in "The Phoenix Exultant."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.