We Need Diverse Ya Sale

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

    Recently Viewed clear list

    Lists | June 22, 2015

    Stephen Jarvis: IMG Robert Seymour — 13 Pictures

    1. Self-Portrait. My new novel, Death and Mr. Pickwick, tells the story of the origins of Charles Dickens's first novel, The Pickwick Papers. Its... Continue »
    1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Death and Mr. Pickwick

      Stephen Jarvis 9780374139667


Anne of the Island

Anne of the Island Cover


Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

New adventures lie ahead as Anne Shirley packs her bags, waves good-bye to childhood, and heads for Redmond College. With old friend Prissy Grant waiting in the bustling city of Kingsport and frivolous new pal Philippa Gordon at her side, Anne tucks her memories of rural Avonlea away and discovers life on her own terms, filled with surprises...including a marriage proposal from the worst fellow imaginable, the sale of her very first story, and a tragedy that teaches her a painful lesson. But tears turn to laughter when Anne and her friends move into an old cottage and an ornery black cat steals her heart. Little does Anne know that handsome Gilbert Blythe wants to win her heart, too. Suddenly Anne must decide if she's ready for love...


Anne of Green Gables; Anne of Avonlea; Anne of the Island


Includes all Anne books plus Rainbow Valley and Rilla of Ingleside

About the Author

"I love books.  I hope when I grow up to be able to have lots of them." Lucy Maud Montgomery wrote in her journal when she was just fourteen.  This journal entry, made in 1889, is significant to readers today who know that when she grew up she not only owned and read many books, but also became the world-famous author L. M. Montgomery.  Maud, as she liked to be called by family and friends, wrote twenty-four books between 1908 and 1939.  Her first was Anne of Green Gables, and her other works include seven more Anne books, the Avonlea stories, the Emily trilogy, two novels for adults, an autobiography, and the novel The Story Girl.

Lucy Maud Montgomery was always writing and reading and was quite a story girl herself, creating more than five hundred short stories.  She also wrote many poems.  One edition of her poetry was published during her lifetime and today all her poems have been collected in a single volume.

Product Details

Seal Books
Toronto :
Montgomery, L. M.
Montgomery, Lucy Maud
General Juvenile Fiction
fiction;canada;young adult;classic;anne of green gables;classics;prince edward island;children s;ya;children;canadian;historical fiction;romance;children s literature;orphans;children s fiction;anne shirley;novel;juvenile;literature;college;friendship;l.m
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Anne of Green Gables Novels
Series Volume:
Publication Date:
Grade Level:
Young adult
500.00 in.
Age Level:

Related Subjects

Children's » Classics » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Anne of the Island
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 274 pages Bantam Books - English 9780770422042 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Anne of Green Gables; Anne of Avonlea; Anne of the Island
"Synopsis" by , Includes all Anne books plus Rainbow Valley and Rilla of Ingleside
  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.