Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | November 29, 2014

    Neil Patrick Harris: IMG Neil Patrick Harris: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Children's- Chapter Books
2 Burnside Children's- Oregon Battle of the Books
13 Burnside Children's- Chapter Books
2 Hawthorne Children's- Chapter Books
25 Local Warehouse Children's- Humor
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction

Clementine (Clementine)

by

Clementine (Clementine) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

I had a bad August.

A very bad August.

As bad as pickle juice on a cookie.

As bad as a spider web on your leg.

As bad as the black parts on a banana.

I hope your August was better.

I really do.

 When Eleanor's beloved babysitter, Bibi, has to move away to take care of her ailing father, Eleanor must try to bear the summer without Bibi and prepare for the upcoming school year. Her new, less-than-perfect babysitter just isn't up to snuff, and she doesn't take care of things like Bibi used to. But as the school year looms, it's time for new beginnings. Eleanor soon realizes that she will always have Bibi, no matter how far away she is. 

Written in a lyrical style with thoughtful and charming illustrations throughout, this remarkable debut novel tells a poignant story of friendship and the bittersweet feelings of growing up.

Praise for Like Pickle Juice on a Cookie

“Eleanors ingenuous free-verse monologue should strike a chord with readers, especially those who may have had to cope with the loss of a loved one. Cordells halftone cartoons convey the storys pathos and humor, as well as Eleanors changeable moods.” –Publishers Weekly

Synopsis:

Gooney Bird Greene returns for another rollicking classroom adventure in this fifth installment of two-time Newbery Award Winner Lois Lowry's Gooney Bird series.

Synopsis:

Move over, Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean! Here comes a lovably energetic little sister with a BIG personalityand#151;and an imagination to match!

As the youngest in her family, Dory really wants attention, and more than anything she wants her brother and sister to play with her. But sheand#8217;s too much of a baby for them, so sheand#8217;s left to her own devicesand#151;including her wild imagination and untiring energy. Her siblings may roll their eyes at her childish games, but Dory has lots of things to do: outsmarting the monsters all over the house, escaping from prison (aka time-out), and exacting revenge on her sisterand#8217;s favorite doll. And when they really need her, daring Dory will prove her bravery, and finally get exactly what she has been looking for.

With plenty of pictures bursting with charm and character, this hilarious book about an irresistible rascal is the new must-read for the chapter book set.

Synopsis:

This charming, coming-of-age story is perfect for fans of Joan Bauer and Sheila Turnage.

Prairie Evers is finding that school isnt all its cracked up to be. Shes always been homeschooled by her grandmother, learning about life while they ramble through the woods. But now Prairies family has moved north and she has to attend school for the first time, where her education is in a classroom and the behavior of her classmates isnt very nice. The only good thing is meeting Ivy, her first true friend. Prairie wants to be a good friend, even though she can be clueless at times. But when Ivys world is about to fall apart and she needs a friend most, Prairie is right there for her, corralling all her optimism and determination to hatch a plan to help.

Wonderful writing and an engaging narrator distinguish this lively story that celebrates friendship of every kind. 

About the Author

Julie Sternberg, formerly a public-interest lawyer, is a graduate of the New School's MFA program in writing for children. This is her first novel. She lives in Brooklyn. Matthew Cordell is the illustrator of Trouble Gum. He lives in Chicago.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

future teacher, October 15, 2008 (view all comments by future teacher)
This is a hilarious book. Ramona-lovers will especially love it. Great to read aloud, for all ages!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780786838837
Author:
Pennypacker, Sara
Publisher:
Hyperion Books for Children
Illustrator:
Frazee, Marla
Author:
Stout, Shawn
Author:
Roth Sisson, Stephanie
Author:
Cordell, Matthew
Author:
Thomas, Middy
Author:
Airgood, Ellen
Author:
Greene, Stephanie
Author:
Lowry, Lois
Author:
Frazee, Marla
Author:
Hanlon, Abby
Author:
Sisson, Stephanie
Author:
Sisson, Stephanie Roth
Author:
Sternberg, Julie
Subject:
Readers - Chapter Books
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Family
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Children s humor
Subject:
School & Education
Subject:
Family - Multigenerational
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series:
Princess Posey, First Grader
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20080231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from K up to 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
50 BandW illustrations
Pages:
96
Dimensions:
7.50 x 5.50 in
Age Level:
06-10

Other books you might like

  1. Clementine's Letter (Clementine) Used Hardcover $5.50
  2. Gossamer
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
    Used Trade Paper $6.00
  4. The Homework Machine
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. Star Jumper: Journal of a Cardboard... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  6. Cryptid Hunters Used Book Club Paperback $3.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Beginning Readers » General
Children's » Chapter Books
Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Oregon Battle of the Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence

Clementine (Clementine) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.99 In Stock
Product details 96 pages Hyperion - English 9780786838837 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Gooney Bird Greene returns for another rollicking classroom adventure in this fifth installment of two-time Newbery Award Winner Lois Lowry's Gooney Bird series.
"Synopsis" by ,
Move over, Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean! Here comes a lovably energetic little sister with a BIG personalityand#151;and an imagination to match!

As the youngest in her family, Dory really wants attention, and more than anything she wants her brother and sister to play with her. But sheand#8217;s too much of a baby for them, so sheand#8217;s left to her own devicesand#151;including her wild imagination and untiring energy. Her siblings may roll their eyes at her childish games, but Dory has lots of things to do: outsmarting the monsters all over the house, escaping from prison (aka time-out), and exacting revenge on her sisterand#8217;s favorite doll. And when they really need her, daring Dory will prove her bravery, and finally get exactly what she has been looking for.

With plenty of pictures bursting with charm and character, this hilarious book about an irresistible rascal is the new must-read for the chapter book set.

"Synopsis" by ,
This charming, coming-of-age story is perfect for fans of Joan Bauer and Sheila Turnage.

Prairie Evers is finding that school isnt all its cracked up to be. Shes always been homeschooled by her grandmother, learning about life while they ramble through the woods. But now Prairies family has moved north and she has to attend school for the first time, where her education is in a classroom and the behavior of her classmates isnt very nice. The only good thing is meeting Ivy, her first true friend. Prairie wants to be a good friend, even though she can be clueless at times. But when Ivys world is about to fall apart and she needs a friend most, Prairie is right there for her, corralling all her optimism and determination to hatch a plan to help.

Wonderful writing and an engaging narrator distinguish this lively story that celebrates friendship of every kind. 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.