The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Powell's Q&A | September 3, 2014

Emily St. John Mandel: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Emily St. John Mandel



Describe your latest book. My new novel is called Station Eleven. It's about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Station Eleven

    Emily St. John Mandel 9780385353304

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$0.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Gardening- Writing

This title in other editions

A Garden in Lucca: Finding Paradise in Tuscany

by

A Garden in Lucca: Finding Paradise in Tuscany Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Synopsis:

In this delightful garden memoir, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Beverly Nichols, or more recently, Peter Mayle and Frances Mayes, Paul Gervais recounts the challenges, elations, setbacks, and revelations that accompanied the process of making an acclaimed garden out of the sprawling, overgrown grounds ora Renaissance Tuscan hunting lodge. This lyrical portrait of an antique Italian villa with its charming caretaker, olive groves, and vineyards is filled with hilarious garden misadventures, witty sketches of eccentric fellow gardeners, and sensuous studies of Tuscan daily life. Entertaining for its garden side trips, its generous information about Mediterranean plants, Italian garden history and lore, A Garden in Lucca is, at its heart, a compelling journey of self-discovery that shares with readers the joys and challenges of creating a personal paradise on earth.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780786865215
Subtitle:
Finding Paradise in Tuscany
Author:
Gervais, Paul
Author:
Gervais, Paul
Publisher:
Hyperion
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Description and travel
Subject:
Italy
Subject:
Naturalists/Gardeners
Subject:
Garden Design
Subject:
Gardens
Subject:
Tuscany (Italy)
Subject:
Ethnic Cultures
Subject:
General Biography
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series Volume:
112765
Publication Date:
20000315
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 19.84 oz
Age Level:
18

Other books you might like

  1. Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home in Italy Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. Magic City, the (PB) Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. Save Queen of Sheba New Trade Paper $7.99
  4. Diary of a Young Girl Used Mass Market $2.50
  5. Foxfire 4 (Foxfire) Used Trade Paper $9.95
  6. Fight Club
    Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

Home and Garden » Gardening » Writing

A Garden in Lucca: Finding Paradise in Tuscany Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$0.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Hyperion Books - English 9780786865215 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In this delightful garden memoir, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Beverly Nichols, or more recently, Peter Mayle and Frances Mayes, Paul Gervais recounts the challenges, elations, setbacks, and revelations that accompanied the process of making an acclaimed garden out of the sprawling, overgrown grounds ora Renaissance Tuscan hunting lodge. This lyrical portrait of an antique Italian villa with its charming caretaker, olive groves, and vineyards is filled with hilarious garden misadventures, witty sketches of eccentric fellow gardeners, and sensuous studies of Tuscan daily life. Entertaining for its garden side trips, its generous information about Mediterranean plants, Italian garden history and lore, A Garden in Lucca is, at its heart, a compelling journey of self-discovery that shares with readers the joys and challenges of creating a personal paradise on earth.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.