Mega Dose
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | September 2, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



    David Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$26.25
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Mathematics- Systems Theory

This title in other editions

Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order

by

Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the Earth; millions of neurons fire together to control our breathing; every night along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies flash in silent, hypnotic unison. All of these astonishing feats of synchrony occur spontaneously — as if the universe had an overwhelming desire for order.

The tendency to synchronize may be the most mysterious and pervasive drive in all of nature. It has intrigued some of the greatest minds of the twentieth century, including Albert Einstein, Richard Feynman, Norbert Wiener, Brian Josephson, and Arthur Winfree. But only in the past decade have scientists from disparate disciplines come to the stunning realization that the study of synchrony could revolutionize our understanding of everything from the origin of life to certain types of human behavior.

At once elegant and riveting, SYNC tells the story of the dawn of a new science. As one of its pioneers, Steven Strogatz, a leading mathematician in the fields of chaos and complexity theory, explains how enormous systems can synchronize themselves, from the electrons in a superconductor to the pacemaker cells in our hearts. He shows that although these phenomena might seem unrelated on the surface, at a deeper level there is a connection, forged by the unifying power of mathematics.

Along with vivid explanations of cutting-edge theory, Strogatz provides an intimate and highly personal narrative filled with often humorous anecdotes about some of the visionary thinkers of our time. He also describes the startling applications of this new knowledge, such as the harnessing of synchronized electrons to create the world's most sensitive detectors, able to locate oil buried deep underground and to pinpoint diseased tissues associated with epilepsy and heart arrhythmias.

From life's little curiosities to the grandest unsolved mysteries of science, SYNC explores such questions as:

  • Why traffic jams can occur even when there's no accident or other apparent cause
  • Why women roommates sometimes find that their menstrual periods occur in sync
  • What caused hundreds of Japanese children to fall into seizures while watching an episode of Pokémon
  • What triggers riots, fads, and mass hysteria
  • How synchrony in the solar system may have been responsible for the extinction of the dinosaurs
  • How consciousness arises from the interplay of millions of mindless brain cells
A tour de force of science and prose, SYNC reveals the hidden but beautiful order that governs the rhythms of nature and the rhythms of ourselves.

Review:

"SYNC is a wonderfully lucid and thoroughly entertaining story of the emerging science of synchrony...[it] gives us a compelling glimpse into what makes our universe tick." Brian Greene, author of The Elegant Universe, Professor of Physics and Mathematics, Columbia University

Review:

"Steven Strogatz has crafted a masterpiece that immerses the reader in the excitement of scientific discovery." Leon Glass, Isadore Rosenfeld Chair in Cardiology and Professor of Physiology, McGill University

Review:

"This book is the best introduction I have seen to the variety of subjects which make up modern complexity theory." Philip W. Anderson, Nobel Laureate, Joseph Henry Professor of Physics, Princeton University

Book News Annotation:

Strogatz (applied mathematics, Cornell U.) points out some examples of persistent order in the natural universe that seem to violate the laws of thermodynamics. He also describes the rise of a theory to explain such order. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

The tendency to synchronize may be the most mysterious and pervasive drive in all of nature. It has intrigued some of the most brilliant minds of the 20th century, including Albert Einstein, Richard Feynman, Norbert Wiener, Brian Josephson, and Arthur Winfree.

At once elegant and riveting, Sync tells the story of the dawn of a new science. Steven Strogatz, a leading mathematician in the fields of chaos and complexity theory, explains how enormous systems can synchronize themselves, from the electrons in a superconductor to the pacemaker cells in our hearts. He shows that although these phenomena might seem unrelated on the surface, at a deeper level there is a connection, forged by the unifying power of mathematics.

Synopsis:

At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.

About the Author

Steven Strogatz received his doctorate from Harvard University and served on the faculties of Harvard and MIT before becoming a professor of applied mathematics at Cornell Universitty in 1994. Widely recognized for his groundbreaking discoveries in chaos and complexity theory, he has received numerous awards throughout his career, including MIT's highest teaching prize and a Presidential Young Investigator Award from the White House. He lives in Ithaca, New York, with his wife, Carol, and their two daughters, Leah and Joanna.

Table of Contents

Fireflies and the inevitability of sync — Brain waves and the conditions for sync — Sleep and the daily struggle for sync — The sympathetic universe — Quantum choruses — Bridges — Synchronized chaos — Sync in three dimensions — Small-world networks — The human side of sync.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780786868445
Subtitle:
How Order Emerges from Chaos in the Universe, Nature, and Daily Life
Author:
Strogatz, Steven
Author:
Strogatz, Steven H.
Publisher:
Hyperion
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
System Theory
Subject:
Self-organizing systems
Subject:
Synchronization
Subject:
General science
Subject:
Mathematics-Systems Theory
Subject:
Applied Sciences
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series Volume:
v. 5
Publication Date:
20040414
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 8 up to 17
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.125 in 20.72 oz
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Golden Ratio: The Story of Phi,...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Six Degrees the Science of a... Used Hardcover $4.95
  3. Lie Groups for Pedestrians 2ND Edition New Trade Paper $12.95
  4. Simultaneous Triangularization New Hardcover $130.25

Related Subjects


Reference » Science Reference » General
Science and Mathematics » Biology » General
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Advanced
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Popular Chaos and Fractals
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Systems Theory

Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$26.25 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Theia - English 9780786868445 Reviews:
"Review" by , "SYNC is a wonderfully lucid and thoroughly entertaining story of the emerging science of synchrony...[it] gives us a compelling glimpse into what makes our universe tick." Brian Greene, author of The Elegant Universe, Professor of Physics and Mathematics, Columbia University
"Review" by , "Steven Strogatz has crafted a masterpiece that immerses the reader in the excitement of scientific discovery."
"Review" by , "This book is the best introduction I have seen to the variety of subjects which make up modern complexity theory."
"Synopsis" by , The tendency to synchronize may be the most mysterious and pervasive drive in all of nature. It has intrigued some of the most brilliant minds of the 20th century, including Albert Einstein, Richard Feynman, Norbert Wiener, Brian Josephson, and Arthur Winfree.

At once elegant and riveting, Sync tells the story of the dawn of a new science. Steven Strogatz, a leading mathematician in the fields of chaos and complexity theory, explains how enormous systems can synchronize themselves, from the electrons in a superconductor to the pacemaker cells in our hearts. He shows that although these phenomena might seem unrelated on the surface, at a deeper level there is a connection, forged by the unifying power of mathematics.
"Synopsis" by , At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.