The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside SF- M

This title in other editions

Last Dragon

by

Last Dragon Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The debut of a brilliant new voice that will change the fantasy genre forever.

An intricate web of stories weave together to tell a tale of revenge, justice, ambition, and power. Zhan has been sent to find her grandfather, a man accused of killing not only Zhan's family, but every man, woman, and child in their village. What she finds is a shell of a man, and a web of deceit that will test the very foundations of a world she thought she understood.

A tale of revenge that grows into something more, Last Dragon is a literary fantasy novel in the tradition of Gene Wolf and Gabriel Garcia Marquez. J.M. McDermott brings the fantasy genre to new literary heights with a remarkable first novel that will leave critics and readers alike in stunned awe.

Review:

"McDermott's debut novel requires careful reading to piece together a story told in nonlinear form, as mercurial as memories and as visceral as death." Library Journal

Synopsis:

An intricate web of stories weave together to tell a tale of revenge, justice, ambition, and power in this debut by an exciting new voice in the fantasy genre.

About the Author

J.M. McDermott graduated from the University of Houston in 2002 with a BA in Creative Writing. He resides in Arlington, Texas with an assortment of empty coffee cups, overflowing bookshelves, and crazy schemes.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780786948574
Author:
McDermott, J. M.
Publisher:
Wizards of the Coast Discoveries
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Subject:
Literary
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20080205
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8.29x6.42x1.08 in. .75 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Long Walks, Last Flights & Other... New Trade Paper $17.99
  2. Cat Who Walks Through Walls
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  3. Y: The Last Man #03: One Small Step
    Used Trade Paper $9.50
  4. Watchmen
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  5. Twilight (Twilight Saga)
    Used Mass Market $0.95
  6. The Sandman #02: The Doll's House
    Used Trade Paper $11.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

Last Dragon Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Wizards of the Coast - English 9780786948574 Reviews:
"Review" by , "McDermott's debut novel requires careful reading to piece together a story told in nonlinear form, as mercurial as memories and as visceral as death."
"Synopsis" by , An intricate web of stories weave together to tell a tale of revenge, justice, ambition, and power in this debut by an exciting new voice in the fantasy genre.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.