25 Women to Read Before You Die
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | August 24, 2015

    Ellen Urbani: IMG Like Every Other Survivor



    I have an uncommon penchant for aligning myself with disaster and death. Tornadoes and wildfires and armed guerrillas have chased me. Riptides... Continue »
    1. $11.17 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      Landfall

      Ellen Urbani 9780988265776

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.50
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
3 Remote Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Sports Writing
8 Remote Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Sports Writing

More copies of this ISBN

Beyond the Game: The Collected Sportswriting of Gary Smith

by

Beyond the Game: The Collected Sportswriting of Gary Smith Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Gary Smith is one of the most accomplished sports journalists working today, a three-time National Magazine Award winner who has been selected in a poll of Associated Press editors as the sportswriter they'd most like to hire. In Beyond the Game, Gary Smith has brought together his greatest stories, from the inspiring account of basketball coach Jim Valvano's courageous battle against cancer, to an unforgettable tale of a remote valley in Bolivia that plays host to an unusual annual ritual in which the men of rival villages engage in a riotous all-day fistfight. Beyond the Game is not only a collection of great sportswriting; it is a collection of great writing, period. Each of Smith's stories — of dreams and fears, failure and triumph, self-destruction and salvation — will profoundly touch you and remain with you long after you have closed the pages of the book.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of John McPhee and David Halberstam, this collection from one of the most accomplished sports journalists working today captures the spirit of the game and the humanity of its athletes.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780802138491
Author:
Smith, Gary
Publisher:
Grove Press
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Sports
Subject:
Sports -- United States.
Subject:
Sports and Fitness-Sports Writing
Edition Description:
Special and
Publication Date:
20010831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 12 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Road swing Used Trade Paper $6.50
  2. Little Girls in Pretty Boxes: The... Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. Nice Tuesday Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. Gentle Giant Octopus (Read and Wonder) New Trade Paper $6.99
  5. Quiet Strength: The Principles,...
    Used Hardcover $3.95
  6. The Geography of Bliss: One Grump's...
    Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Journalism » General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Sports General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Sports Writing

Beyond the Game: The Collected Sportswriting of Gary Smith New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.50 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Grove Press - English 9780802138491 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of John McPhee and David Halberstam, this collection from one of the most accomplished sports journalists working today captures the spirit of the game and the humanity of its athletes.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.