Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 11, 2015

    Heidi Pitlor: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Heidi Pitlor



    Describe your latest book. My novel, The Daylight Marriage, is about a wife and mother who goes missing one day. The narrative alternates between... Continue »

    spacer

Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy

by

Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy Cover

ISBN13: 9780803733398
ISBN10: 0803733399
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $12.50!

 

Staff Pick

She's back! Lulu, the creative, spunky heroine of last year's bestseller Ladybug Girl, has returned for another exciting adventure. The sequel is even better than the original, if you can believe it! Lulu teams up with her friend Sam to become Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy, defending the park from fearsome dangers. Later, they are joined by two other friends to form the Bug Squad. The heart of this story is friendship: Ladybug Girl learns to compromise and settle disputes productively. Amazingly, the story is never overwhelmed by its message — there is no heavy-handed moral, just kids playing and working things out. The illustrations are just as adorable and nuanced as in the first book, with bright colors and realistic expressions. Plus, Bingo is the most adorable basset hound in children's literature!
Recommended by Rachael W., Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Three's not always a crowd in this book about friendship (and the chicken dance!)

Little kittens Olive and Emily have always been friends, ever since they were little.  But now Emily has a new friend, and it makes Olive feel left out—especially when she realizes all of the things that Emily and her new friend Eva have in common--like ballet, and eating the same lunch, and wearing the same bows in their hair.  Olive imagines her perfect world, where she and Emily can be friends without Eva there at all.  But in the end, Olive realizes that being friends is about more than having things in common: it's about having fun together and cheering each other up when you're sad.  It turns out that Olive's perfect world is the world that she's living in, where she, Emily and Eva can all be friends. (And dance the chicken dance together!)

This book is perfect for fans of Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy, as well as kids whose friendships are changing and maturing as they enter kindergarten and elementary school.

Jennifer Plecas is the author and illustrator of the book Pretend, and the illustrator of Good Night, Good Knight by Shelley Moore, and Please is a Good Word To Say and Love is a Good Thing to Feel by Barbara Joosse, among others.

Review:

"What's a superhero without a sidekick? Lulu, star of last year's Ladybug Girl, meets her friend Sam at the playground, but before they can join forces, they must first agree on what to play — a sequence handled with understanding and humor. At one point, Lulu hits on the idea of using the seesaw: 'She runs over and sits down on one side of the seesaw and waits. And waits. Sam just stands there, not getting on.' Ultimately, intrigued by Lulu's suggestion of a game involving superpowers, Sam becomes Bumblebee Boy, with his striped shirt and a stick for a stinger. Together they battle the Mean Robot (tire swing) that threatens to 'crush the playground' ('Ladybug Girl grabs on, and jumps on top of its head! Bumblebee Boy stings it with his stinger again and again') and attract some new heroes, too. Soman's pen-and-ink characters are remarkably emotive — this is a story that delights in children's enthusiastic imaginations. Also noteworthy is the team's pacing: there's no dead air, and all the action plays naturally. A favorite series in the making. Ages 3 — 5." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

At the playground, Lulu asks her friend Sam if he wants to play with her. Sam likes Diggers, while Lulu thinks Monkeys is the best game. Sam suggests playing under the castle, but Lulu knows that the top is the most fun. They just can't agree And then Lulu asks, "Have you ever played Ladybug Girl?"

As Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy, Lulu and Sam save the playground from hairy monsters and big mean robots, and have their very own parade on the bouncy dinosaurs. They figure out that when they work together, they can create fun games that they both like to play.

Synopsis:

Ladybug Girl has outgrown her favorite pair of boots! So her mom takes her to the shoe store to buy another pair. Children will learn their colors with Ladybug Girl as she tries on new boots--until she finds the perfect pair!

Synopsis:

Totally Tardy Marty just canandrsquo;t seem to get to school on time. Not when there are so many better things to do in the mornings, like invent Toast-on-a-Rope, fight a giant squid in the laundry, or follow some ants up a tree. And so heandrsquo;s tardy, every day, much to the smug delight of Never-Late Kate, who thinks sheandrsquo;s sooo great. But then one day, Kate helps Marty out of a jam (or rather, a tree), and the two end up playing together, have a surprisingly good time, and are both late. An unlikely friendship is born, through which Marty learns a trick or two for punctuality, and Kate discovers the virtues of stopping to smell the roses.

From Chicken Butt! author Erica Perl and celebrated illustrator Jarrett J. Krosoczka comes this playful story of opposites who donandrsquo;t just attract, but also learn a lot from their complementing personalities.

About the Author

David Soman was born in New York and graduated from Oberlin College in Oberlin, Ohio. He is an illustrator and also teaches courses at the School of Visual Arts in New York City.

Some of his published credits include Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy , Splash! and Poems of Our Watery World. His awards include: Ezra Jack Keats/Unicef Award, Coretta Scott King Award, Aileen & Manuel Torres Graphics Award, Catherine Lolliard Wolfe Award, William Allan White Children's Book Award.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Caitlin Bishop, January 1, 2010 (view all comments by Caitlin Bishop)
I love this book because it gives you a realistic view of the day to day of a child, what they go through and how to handle it. The lesson is apparent but not shoved in the child's face. It is nice to have a series for kids that is more reality based and the artwork is bright and cheery which entrances my daughter.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803733398
Author:
Davis, Jacky
Publisher:
Dial Books
Illustrator:
Soman, David
Author:
Plecas, Jennifer
Author:
Soman, David
Author:
Perl, Erica S.
Author:
Krosoczka, Jarrett J.
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Imagination
Subject:
General
Subject:
Imagination & Play
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Play
Subject:
Children s-Imagination and Play
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Concepts - Colors
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Cloth
Series:
Ladybug Girl
Publication Date:
20090331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to K
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Full-color illustrations
Pages:
32
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
04-08

Other books you might like

  1. The Peking Man Is Missing Used Mass Market $2.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Imagination and Play
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship

Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 32 pages Dial Books - English 9780803733398 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

She's back! Lulu, the creative, spunky heroine of last year's bestseller Ladybug Girl, has returned for another exciting adventure. The sequel is even better than the original, if you can believe it! Lulu teams up with her friend Sam to become Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy, defending the park from fearsome dangers. Later, they are joined by two other friends to form the Bug Squad. The heart of this story is friendship: Ladybug Girl learns to compromise and settle disputes productively. Amazingly, the story is never overwhelmed by its message — there is no heavy-handed moral, just kids playing and working things out. The illustrations are just as adorable and nuanced as in the first book, with bright colors and realistic expressions. Plus, Bingo is the most adorable basset hound in children's literature!

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "What's a superhero without a sidekick? Lulu, star of last year's Ladybug Girl, meets her friend Sam at the playground, but before they can join forces, they must first agree on what to play — a sequence handled with understanding and humor. At one point, Lulu hits on the idea of using the seesaw: 'She runs over and sits down on one side of the seesaw and waits. And waits. Sam just stands there, not getting on.' Ultimately, intrigued by Lulu's suggestion of a game involving superpowers, Sam becomes Bumblebee Boy, with his striped shirt and a stick for a stinger. Together they battle the Mean Robot (tire swing) that threatens to 'crush the playground' ('Ladybug Girl grabs on, and jumps on top of its head! Bumblebee Boy stings it with his stinger again and again') and attract some new heroes, too. Soman's pen-and-ink characters are remarkably emotive — this is a story that delights in children's enthusiastic imaginations. Also noteworthy is the team's pacing: there's no dead air, and all the action plays naturally. A favorite series in the making. Ages 3 — 5." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , At the playground, Lulu asks her friend Sam if he wants to play with her. Sam likes Diggers, while Lulu thinks Monkeys is the best game. Sam suggests playing under the castle, but Lulu knows that the top is the most fun. They just can't agree And then Lulu asks, "Have you ever played Ladybug Girl?"

As Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy, Lulu and Sam save the playground from hairy monsters and big mean robots, and have their very own parade on the bouncy dinosaurs. They figure out that when they work together, they can create fun games that they both like to play.

"Synopsis" by ,
Ladybug Girl has outgrown her favorite pair of boots! So her mom takes her to the shoe store to buy another pair. Children will learn their colors with Ladybug Girl as she tries on new boots--until she finds the perfect pair!
"Synopsis" by ,
Totally Tardy Marty just canandrsquo;t seem to get to school on time. Not when there are so many better things to do in the mornings, like invent Toast-on-a-Rope, fight a giant squid in the laundry, or follow some ants up a tree. And so heandrsquo;s tardy, every day, much to the smug delight of Never-Late Kate, who thinks sheandrsquo;s sooo great. But then one day, Kate helps Marty out of a jam (or rather, a tree), and the two end up playing together, have a surprisingly good time, and are both late. An unlikely friendship is born, through which Marty learns a trick or two for punctuality, and Kate discovers the virtues of stopping to smell the roses.

From Chicken Butt! author Erica Perl and celebrated illustrator Jarrett J. Krosoczka comes this playful story of opposites who donandrsquo;t just attract, but also learn a lot from their complementing personalities.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.