Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 9, 2014

    Aubrey: IMG Best YA Fiction of 2014



    So what is with all the hullabaloo about young adult literature these days? Do we have John Green to blame for getting us sucked in to the tragic... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Bone Key: The Necromantic Mysteries of Kyle Murchison Booth

by

The Bone Key: The Necromantic Mysteries of Kyle Murchison Booth Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The dead and the monstrous will not leave Kyle Murchison Booth alone, for an unwilling foray into necromancy has made him sensitive to — and attractive to — the creatures who roam the darkness of his once-safe world. Ghosts, ghouls, incubi: all have one thing in common. They know Booth for one of their own...

Review:

"Writing in the tradition of M.R. James and Algernon Blackwood, Monette reconstructs the traditional English ghost story — insinuated horror, no gratuitous sex or violence — with a decidedly modern-day approach in this laudable collection of 10 necromantic mystery stories featuring introverted museum archivist Kyle Murchison Booth. Noteworthy selections include 'Elegy for a Demon Lover,' which chronicles Booth's entanglement with a seductive otherworldly entity who teaches him about 'pleasure and pain and the shadowed places in-between.' In the brilliantly Lovecraftian 'Bringing Helena Back,' Booth agrees to help an old college friend bring his wife back from the dead, with horrifying results. Booth also investigates the skeleton of a woman sealed within the basement walls of the museum where he works, a house haunted by the spirit of a young girl and the ghost of a murdered private school student. Cerebral, ethereal and stylishly understated, this entrancing collection will appeal to fans of literary horror, dark fantasy and supernatural mystery." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"[W]ritten in homage to Lovecraft and M. R. James but with an attention to character that they sometimes lacked....Monette's gift for vivid descriptions couched in elegant but not overwrought prose definitely shines in these stories." Booklist

About the Author

Sarah Monette was born and raised in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, one of the secret cities of the Manhattan Project. Having completed her Ph.D. in English literature, she now lives and works in a hundred-year old house in the Upper Midwest. She is a winner of the Spectrum Award for her short story, "Three Letters from the Queen of Elfland."

Product Details

ISBN:
9780809557776
Publisher:
Prime Books
Subject:
Fantasy - Short Stories
Author:
Monette, Sarah
Subject:
Horror - General
Subject:
Magic
Subject:
Supernatural
Subject:
Occult fiction
Copyright:
Publication Date:
August 2007
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
253
Dimensions:
8.21x5.28x.70 in. .43 lbs.

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Short Stories

The Bone Key: The Necromantic Mysteries of Kyle Murchison Booth
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 253 pages Prime Books - English 9780809557776 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Writing in the tradition of M.R. James and Algernon Blackwood, Monette reconstructs the traditional English ghost story — insinuated horror, no gratuitous sex or violence — with a decidedly modern-day approach in this laudable collection of 10 necromantic mystery stories featuring introverted museum archivist Kyle Murchison Booth. Noteworthy selections include 'Elegy for a Demon Lover,' which chronicles Booth's entanglement with a seductive otherworldly entity who teaches him about 'pleasure and pain and the shadowed places in-between.' In the brilliantly Lovecraftian 'Bringing Helena Back,' Booth agrees to help an old college friend bring his wife back from the dead, with horrifying results. Booth also investigates the skeleton of a woman sealed within the basement walls of the museum where he works, a house haunted by the spirit of a young girl and the ghost of a murdered private school student. Cerebral, ethereal and stylishly understated, this entrancing collection will appeal to fans of literary horror, dark fantasy and supernatural mystery." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "[W]ritten in homage to Lovecraft and M. R. James but with an attention to character that they sometimes lacked....Monette's gift for vivid descriptions couched in elegant but not overwrought prose definitely shines in these stories."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.