Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    On the Table | November 9, 2014

    Tracey T.: IMG New Cookbooks for October and November: Potluck Time!



    October/November is a favorite time in our offices. These are the months when scads of cookbooks are released, a deluge of cookbooks, a tornado of... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $15.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General
1 Hawthorne Children's Middle Readers- General

More copies of this ISBN

Sisters Grimm #01: The Fairy-Tale Detectives

by

Sisters Grimm #01: The Fairy-Tale Detectives Cover

ISBN13: 9780810959255
ISBN10: 0810959259
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $7.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

With the winning combination of Nancy Drew meets Shrek, this first book in the new Sisters Grimm series will entertain with a hilarious mix of mysteries and fairy tale twists.

In the tradition of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and The Spiderwick Chronicles comes a new humorous mystery of fantastic circumstances. The Sisters Grimm Book One: The Fairy Tale Detectives introduces us to two orphaned sisters, Sabrina and Daphne, who are sent to live with their mysterious grandmother, Relda Grimm. Grandmother Grimm lives in a strange town in New York State, known for it's extraordinary number of unexplained and unusual crimes. As soon as the sisters arrive, they begin to unravel a mystery that leads to their ancestors' magical beginnings. Sabrina and Daphne learn they are descendants of the Brothers Grimm, who were actually detectives of the magical phenomenon perpetrated by the Everafters, a parallel race of magical beings. They soon discover it is the Grimm family's legacy to keep the Everafters in line and the two sisters are the sole heirs to this challenge!

In this first book in the series, the girls are pitted against giants, who have been rampaging through town in their search for an Englishman named Jack, currently working at the Big & Tall store.

In a new breed of mystery that intermingles humor, excitement, adventure and imagination, The Sisters Grimm Book One: The Fairy Tale Detectives will inject the legends of fairytale with modern day sensibilities and suspense, creating an irresistible combination young readers will love!

Review:

"Readers well grounded in their fairy tales will get the most pleasure from recognizing the characters...but the fast pace, sly humor, and cleverly inserted vocabulary lessons will entertain even those who are meeting the characters for the first time." School Library Journal

Review:

"The twists and turns of the plot, the clever humor, and the behind-the-scenes glimpses of Everafters we think we know, will appeal to many readers." KLIATT

Review:

"[T]his tongue-in-cheek frolic features both a pair of memorable young sleuths and a madcap plot with plenty of leads into future episodes." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

In the final volume in the Sisters Grimm series, Sabrina, Daphne, and the rest of the Grimms and their friends must face off against the Master to decide the fate of Ferryport Landingand#8212;and the world. When Mirror fails to escape the barrier using Granny Reldaand#8217;s body, he turns to his plan B: killing all the Grimms so that the magical barrier collapses. In the meantime, Sabrina has gathered the other magic mirrors as advisors on how to deal with their mortal enemy. They tell her to join forces with the Scarlet Hand against Mirror, in exchange for offering all the citizens of Ferryport Landing their freedom. This final chapter is the end of the road for several beloved characters, but the conclusion is sure to satisfy devoted fans of the series.

Synopsis:

Meet Edgar and Allan Poe — twelve-year-old identical twins, the great-great-great-great-grandnephews of Edgar Allan Poe. They look and act so much alike that they're almost one mischievous, prank-playing boy in two bodies.and#160;When theirand#160;belovedand#160;black cat, Roderick Usher, is kidnapped and transported to the Midwest, Edgar and Allan convinceand#160;their guardians that it's time for a road trip. Along the way, mayhem and mystery ensue, as well asand#160;deeper questions: What is the boys' telepathic connection? Is Edgar Allan Poe himself reaching out to them from the Great Beyond? And why has a mad scientist been spying on the Poe family for years?

With aand#160;mix of literary humor, mystery, a little quantum physics, and fun extras likeand#160;fortune cookie messages, letters in code, license plate clues --and#160;andand#160;playful illustrations thoughout --and#160;this series opener is a perfect choice for smart, funny tweens who loveand#160;the Time Warp Trio, Roald Dahl, and Lemony Snicket.

About the Author

This is Michael Buckley's first book. He has written and developed shows of Nickelodeon, Disney, MTV animation, the Sci-Fi Channel, and VH-1. His shows The Mole People and the New Sideshow can be seen regularly on the Discovery Channel. Michael also writes a monthly internet column for The Idiot Magazine. He lives in New York City.Peter Ferguson is a comic book and editorial artist who just published his first picture book with the Tricycle Press. He is also the illustrator of the young adult novels, The Anybodies and The Nobodies, by N.E. Bode. He lives in Montreal, Canada.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 5 comments:

aggirl95, December 23, 2007 (view all comments by aggirl95)
it is an asom book it is funny sad and suspenceful you grow to love the charicters.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 12 readers found this comment helpful)
HAFSA340, March 22, 2007 (view all comments by HAFSA340)
This book is like the best book i have ever read in history. The people who you think are good are the villans and the people you think are bad are actually the good guys. I also liked this book because the writer uses fairytale charectars and makes them real in the book.This book is full of mystery,fiction,and don't forget it is funny! i hope you guys enjoy this book as much as i did.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(14 of 21 readers found this comment helpful)
denisef, January 21, 2007 (view all comments by denisef)
I am a fifth grade teacher and I recently completed this book as a read aloud for my class. The students LOVED it. Some of them have already finished the second and third books, and are anxiously awaiting book four. I can tell I will be adding these to my library as soon as they are published! Fairy tale characters are cleverly woven throughout the story and the students enjoyed identifying the tales as the characters were encountered.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(19 of 28 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 5 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780810959255
Author:
Buckley, Michael
Publisher:
ABRAMS
Illustrator:
Ferguson, Peter
Author:
Ferguson, Peter
Author:
Ward, David
Author:
McAlpine, Gordon
Author:
Zuppardi, Sam
Author:
Buckley, Micheal
Subject:
General
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - General
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - Mysteries / Detective
Subject:
Sisters
Subject:
Grandmothers
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Children s All Ages - Fiction - Mystery
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Fairy Tales & Folklore - Single Title
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Cloth
Series:
Sisters Grimm, The
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
October 2005
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 2 up to 6
Language:
English
Illustrations:
10 black-and-white illustrations
Pages:
312
Dimensions:
7 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Gilda Joyce: The Ladies of the Lake
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. The Spiderwick Chronicles, Book 1:...
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  3. Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr...
    Sale Mass Market $3.98
  4. The Amulet of Samarkand: The...
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. Here, There Be Dragons (Chronicles...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Edgar Font's Hunt for a House to...
    Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Art » Style and Design
Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Series » General
History and Social Science » Law » General
History and Social Science » Politics » General

Sisters Grimm #01: The Fairy-Tale Detectives Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 312 pages Harry N. Abrams - English 9780810959255 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Readers well grounded in their fairy tales will get the most pleasure from recognizing the characters...but the fast pace, sly humor, and cleverly inserted vocabulary lessons will entertain even those who are meeting the characters for the first time."
"Review" by , "The twists and turns of the plot, the clever humor, and the behind-the-scenes glimpses of Everafters we think we know, will appeal to many readers."
"Review" by , "[T]his tongue-in-cheek frolic features both a pair of memorable young sleuths and a madcap plot with plenty of leads into future episodes."
"Synopsis" by ,
In the final volume in the Sisters Grimm series, Sabrina, Daphne, and the rest of the Grimms and their friends must face off against the Master to decide the fate of Ferryport Landingand#8212;and the world. When Mirror fails to escape the barrier using Granny Reldaand#8217;s body, he turns to his plan B: killing all the Grimms so that the magical barrier collapses. In the meantime, Sabrina has gathered the other magic mirrors as advisors on how to deal with their mortal enemy. They tell her to join forces with the Scarlet Hand against Mirror, in exchange for offering all the citizens of Ferryport Landing their freedom. This final chapter is the end of the road for several beloved characters, but the conclusion is sure to satisfy devoted fans of the series.
"Synopsis" by ,

Meet Edgar and Allan Poe — twelve-year-old identical twins, the great-great-great-great-grandnephews of Edgar Allan Poe. They look and act so much alike that they're almost one mischievous, prank-playing boy in two bodies.and#160;When theirand#160;belovedand#160;black cat, Roderick Usher, is kidnapped and transported to the Midwest, Edgar and Allan convinceand#160;their guardians that it's time for a road trip. Along the way, mayhem and mystery ensue, as well asand#160;deeper questions: What is the boys' telepathic connection? Is Edgar Allan Poe himself reaching out to them from the Great Beyond? And why has a mad scientist been spying on the Poe family for years?

With aand#160;mix of literary humor, mystery, a little quantum physics, and fun extras likeand#160;fortune cookie messages, letters in code, license plate clues --and#160;andand#160;playful illustrations thoughout --and#160;this series opener is a perfect choice for smart, funny tweens who loveand#160;the Time Warp Trio, Roald Dahl, and Lemony Snicket.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.