We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | June 10, 2015

    Rob Hart: IMG The End of Apocalypse



    My plan here is to write about how New York City disappears out from under your feet. So I wanted to include a picture of Apocalypse Lounge, a bar... Continue »
    1. $10.47 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      New Yorked (Ash McKenna)

      Rob Hart 9781940610405

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z
5 Local Warehouse Horror- General
14 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Ghosts

by

Ghosts Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Ghosts is about a construction worker's family squatting on a building site. They all see large and handsome ghosts around their quarters, but the teenage daughter is the most curious. Her questions about them become more and more heartfelt until the story reaches a critical, chilling moment when the mother realizes that her daughter's life hangs in the balance.

Review:

"Aira, an unusual Argentinean author (How I Became a Nun), writes a compelling novel about a migrant Chilean family living in an apartment house under construction in Buenos Aires. New Year's Eve finds the hard-drinking Chilean night watchman, Ral Vinas, hosting a party with his wife, Elisa, their four small children and Elisa's pensive 15-year-old daughter, Patri. Moreover, ghosts reside in the house: naked, dust-covered floating men, mostly unseen except by Elisa and Patri. The novel engineers a clever layering of metaphorical details about the building, but gradually focuses on Elisa's preparations for the party and her conversations with her daughter about finding a 'real man' to marry. Prodded perhaps by her isolation within the family, Patri accepts the ghosts' invitation to a midnight feast, at her life's peril. Aira takes off on fanciful sociological analogies that seem absurd in the mouths of these simple folk, so that in the end the novel functions as an allegorical, albeit touching, comment on his characters' materialism and class." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"A heady, vertigo-inducing fantasia....exhilarating effects and the novel's aesthetic delights are captured with delicate precision by the translator." Natasha Wimmer

Review:

"Wonderful...Ghosts is an incitement to the sensuality of thought, of wonder, of questioning, of anticipation." The New York Times

Review:

"A languorous, surreal atmosphere of baking heat and quietly menacing shadows...puts one in mind of a painting by de Chirico. [The ghosts] glide into the novel, ephemerally, just as present in their absence as absent in our presence." Jesse Tangen-Mills

Review:

"Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W.G. Sebald, those great late modernists for whom fiction was a theater of ideas." Mark Doty

Review:

"Utterly astonishing.His imagination and intelligence are for real." Trevor Berrett

Review:

"An engaging read — a weird little story. Wonderfully strange, characteristically taut and yet irreducible... realistic people, places and behavior, and unfettered often dazzling abstraction." Josef Braun

Review:

"Ghosts may provide the best evidence to consider the enigmatic César Aira an accomplished and prolific wizard of odd." Marla Johnson

Review:

"Once you've started reading Aira, you don't want to stop." Roberto Bolaño

Review:

"A languorous, surreal atmosphere of baking heat and quietly menacing shadows...puts one in mind of a painting by de Chirico." The New Yorker

Review:

"Wonderful...Ghosts is an incitement to the sensuality of thought, of wonder, of questioning, of anticipation." Thomas McGonigle, Los Angeles Times

Review:

"Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald, those great late modernists for whom fiction was a theater of ideas." Mark Doty, Los Angeles Times

Review:

"Utterly astonishing." San Francisco Chronicle

Synopsis:

The most unsettling and stunning of Aira's short novels published so far by New Directions.

About the Author

César Aira(b. 1949) was born in Coronel Pringles, Argentina and has published more than 70 books. In his own novel La silla del guila, Carlos Fuentes imagines that in 2020, César Aira wins the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Chris Andrews has won the TLS Valle Inclán Prize and the PEN Translation Prize for his Roberto Bolaño translations. A poet who lives and teaches in Australia, he has translated eight Bolaño books and three novels by César Aira for New Directions.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780811217422
Author:
Aira, Cesar
Publisher:
New Directions Publishing Corporation
Translator:
Andrews, Chris
Author:
Andrews, Chris
Author:
Aira, Csar
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Occult
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Occult & Supernatural
Subject:
Horror - General
Copyright:
Series:
New Directions Paperbook
Series Volume:
1133
Publication Date:
20090231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
144
Dimensions:
7 x 5 in

Other books you might like

  1. The Mezzanine
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. The Perfect Man
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Senselessness
    New Trade Paper $15.95
  4. Atmospheric Disturbances
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  5. Oh My Stars
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. The Vagrants
    Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Ghosts New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.95 In Stock
Product details 144 pages New Directions Publishing Corporation - English 9780811217422 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Aira, an unusual Argentinean author (How I Became a Nun), writes a compelling novel about a migrant Chilean family living in an apartment house under construction in Buenos Aires. New Year's Eve finds the hard-drinking Chilean night watchman, Ral Vinas, hosting a party with his wife, Elisa, their four small children and Elisa's pensive 15-year-old daughter, Patri. Moreover, ghosts reside in the house: naked, dust-covered floating men, mostly unseen except by Elisa and Patri. The novel engineers a clever layering of metaphorical details about the building, but gradually focuses on Elisa's preparations for the party and her conversations with her daughter about finding a 'real man' to marry. Prodded perhaps by her isolation within the family, Patri accepts the ghosts' invitation to a midnight feast, at her life's peril. Aira takes off on fanciful sociological analogies that seem absurd in the mouths of these simple folk, so that in the end the novel functions as an allegorical, albeit touching, comment on his characters' materialism and class." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "A heady, vertigo-inducing fantasia....exhilarating effects and the novel's aesthetic delights are captured with delicate precision by the translator."
"Review" by , "Wonderful...Ghosts is an incitement to the sensuality of thought, of wonder, of questioning, of anticipation."
"Review" by , "A languorous, surreal atmosphere of baking heat and quietly menacing shadows...puts one in mind of a painting by de Chirico. [The ghosts] glide into the novel, ephemerally, just as present in their absence as absent in our presence."
"Review" by , "Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W.G. Sebald, those great late modernists for whom fiction was a theater of ideas."
"Review" by , "Utterly astonishing.His imagination and intelligence are for real."
"Review" by , "An engaging read — a weird little story. Wonderfully strange, characteristically taut and yet irreducible... realistic people, places and behavior, and unfettered often dazzling abstraction."
"Review" by , "Ghosts may provide the best evidence to consider the enigmatic César Aira an accomplished and prolific wizard of odd."
"Review" by , "Once you've started reading Aira, you don't want to stop."
"Review" by , "A languorous, surreal atmosphere of baking heat and quietly menacing shadows...puts one in mind of a painting by de Chirico."
"Review" by , "Wonderful...Ghosts is an incitement to the sensuality of thought, of wonder, of questioning, of anticipation."
"Review" by , "Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald, those great late modernists for whom fiction was a theater of ideas."
"Review" by , "Utterly astonishing."
"Synopsis" by , The most unsettling and stunning of Aira's short novels published so far by New Directions.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.