It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside American Studies- Politics
2 Local Warehouse American Studies- Politics
1 Remote Warehouse Politics- General

More copies of this ISBN

Over the Cliff: How Obama's Election Drove the American Right Insane

by

Over the Cliff: How Obama's Election Drove the American Right Insane Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A witty look at Tea Parties and the reactionaries that is both funny and frightening. It explores how it overtook the conservative movement after Obama became president. The book helps readers make sense of the chaos in the media and offers ideas for bringing a stop to it and help make America sane again

Compiling example after example, the editors of Crooks and Liars, a popular blog, examine the torrent of right-wing kookery—the eager willingness of conservatives to fervently believe things that are provably false—and its ramifications both for our national discourse and our national well-being. The authors show how this outlandish, overheated rhetoric—generated by mainstream-media figures like Glenn Beck, Rush Limbaugh, and Lou Dobbs—is accompanied by a wave of lethal right-wing threats and violence. They carefully expose the bias of Fox News contributors Neil Cavuto, Greta, Van Susteren, et al, and political opportunists like Sarah Palin and Newt Gingrich.

The book explores the main drivers of this descent into madness: the extremist Radical Right and the longtime Republican willingness—dating back to Nixon, but refined in more recent years by Lee Atwater and his acolytes—to engage in a divisive politics of resentment, both racial and cultural.

It takes a critical look at how Tea Party provocateurs like Dick Armey and his Freedom Works organization that take huge contributions from big money interests like former presidential candidate Steve Forbes that are willing to turn a blind eye to bigots, birthers and neo-John Birchers. The book demonstrates how the Tea Party is the true face of the Republican Party.

The authors propose simple ways ordinary Americans can help stop the descent into blind opposition for it own sake.  They suggest that news audiences demand accountability by from their sources by critically commenting on their Web site and to their editors or producers. They write “confronting the media malfeasance that makes rightwing populism possible is only an important first step in meeting the challenges posed by the rise of this political pathology in American life. Ultimately, it means confronting the movement and its leaders, particularly in their embrace of conspiracy theories, falsehoods, scapegoating, and vicious eliminationist rhetoric.”

 

Book News Annotation:

Amato, founder of Crooks and Liars a left-wing political blog, and Neiwert, a freelance journalist discuss a correlation between conservative political rhetoric by right-wing pundits and an increase in politically motivated violence and threats since the election of Barack Obama. Using media quotes from conservative personalities including Bill O'Reilly, Glenn Beck, Michelle Malkin, Rush Limbaugh, and Lou Dobbs, the work analyzes incidents such as the murder of Dr. George Tiller, the 2009 Pittsburgh police shootings, and the US Holocaust Memorial Museum shooting. The radicalization of the Republican Party, rise of the Tea Party movement, White House boycott of Fox News, and dissent among Republicans are also discussed. While the work is not sourced in text, the reader is advised via insert that source notes are available online. Fans of Crooks and Liars as well as general readers interested in liberal political discourse will enjoy this work. Annotation ©2010 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

A witty look at—and an explanation of—the far-right craziness that overtook the conservative movement after Obama became president. Compiling example after example, the editors of Crooks and Liars, a popular blog, examine the torrent of right-wing kookery—the eager willingness of conservatives to fervently believe things that are provably false—and its ramifications both for our national discourse and our national well-being. The authors show how this outlandish, overheated rhetoric – generated in large part by mainstream-media figures like Glenn Beck, Rush Limbaugh, and Lou Dobbs – is accompanied by a wave of lethal right-wing violence and threatening behavior.

Synopsis:

Compiling example after example, the editors of Crooks and Liars, a popular blog, examine the torrent of right-wing kookery—the eager willingness of conservatives to fervently believe things that are provably false—and its ramifications both for our national discourse and our national well-being. The authors show how this outlandish, overheated rhetoric—generated by mainstream-media figures like Glenn Beck, Rush Limbaugh, and Lou Dobbs—is accompanied by a wave of lethal right-wing violence and threatening behavior.

The book explores the main drivers of this descent into madness: the extremist Radical Right and the longtime Republican willingness—dating back to Nixon, but refined in more recent years by Lee Atwater and his acolytes—to engage in a divisive politics of resentment, both racial and cultural. The authors also examine ways ordinary Americans can stop the madness.

About the Author

John Amato is the founder of Crooks and Liars, named by TIME Magazine as one of the top 25 blogs for 2009. A pioneer of video blogging, he was part of CNN's election-night coverage in 2006 and has been featured in the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, USA Today, Newsweek, and Forbes. John has also appeared as a political pundit on MSNBC, CNN, Current TV, and E Entertainment.

David Neiwert is a freelance journalist and author. His work has appeared in the Washington Post, Salon, Seattle Magazine, and the Southern Poverty Law Center’s Intelligence Report. His online  reportage for MSNBC on domestic terrorism won a National Press Club Award in 2000. He is the author of The Eliminationists: How Hate Talk Radicalized the American Right (PoliPointPress) and editor of the award-winning weblog Orcinus (http://dneiwert.blogspot.com).

 

Product Details

ISBN:
9780982417171
Subtitle:
How Obama's Election Drove the American Right Insane
Author:
Amato, John
Foreword:
Pearlstein, Rick
Author:
Neiwert, David
Author:
Digby
Publisher:
Polipoint Press
Subject:
General
Subject:
Political Ideologies - Conservatism & Liberalism
Subject:
Political Process - Elections
Subject:
General Political Science
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20100601
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
280
Dimensions:
8.58x5.52x.74 in. .83 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Powell's Oregon Sticker (Red)
    New Miscellaneous $1.00
  2. Travels with Charley: In Search of...
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  3. A Short History of Nearly Everything
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. The God Delusion
    Used Hardcover $8.50

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » American Studies » Culture Wars
History and Social Science » Politics » Conservatism
History and Social Science » Politics » General
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Culture
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Politics

Over the Cliff: How Obama's Election Drove the American Right Insane Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 280 pages Polipoint Press - English 9780982417171 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,

A witty look at—and an explanation of—the far-right craziness that overtook the conservative movement after Obama became president. Compiling example after example, the editors of Crooks and Liars, a popular blog, examine the torrent of right-wing kookery—the eager willingness of conservatives to fervently believe things that are provably false—and its ramifications both for our national discourse and our national well-being. The authors show how this outlandish, overheated rhetoric – generated in large part by mainstream-media figures like Glenn Beck, Rush Limbaugh, and Lou Dobbs – is accompanied by a wave of lethal right-wing violence and threatening behavior.

"Synopsis" by ,

Compiling example after example, the editors of Crooks and Liars, a popular blog, examine the torrent of right-wing kookery—the eager willingness of conservatives to fervently believe things that are provably false—and its ramifications both for our national discourse and our national well-being. The authors show how this outlandish, overheated rhetoric—generated by mainstream-media figures like Glenn Beck, Rush Limbaugh, and Lou Dobbs—is accompanied by a wave of lethal right-wing violence and threatening behavior.

The book explores the main drivers of this descent into madness: the extremist Radical Right and the longtime Republican willingness—dating back to Nixon, but refined in more recent years by Lee Atwater and his acolytes—to engage in a divisive politics of resentment, both racial and cultural. The authors also examine ways ordinary Americans can stop the madness.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.