Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »
  1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Children and Other Wild Animals

    Brian Doyle 9780870717543

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.50
Sale Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Death on Telegraph Hill (Sarah Woolson Mysteries)

by

Death on Telegraph Hill (Sarah Woolson Mysteries) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…that will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.” —Library Journal
 

San Francisco, 1882. After enjoying an evening listening to the young Oscar Wilde, crusading young lawyer Sarah Woolson and her brother, Samuel, are making their way home when a gunshot sounds and a bullet pierces the fog, striking Samuel. Who could want to hurt Samuel? Was he even the intended target? Determined to find answers, Sarah discovers more murder and mayhem on Telegraph Hill.

With Death on Telegraph Hill, Shirley Tallman delivers an exciting whodunit with a trailblazing heroine in a time and place when a nice young woman was supposed to be found in the drawing room instead of the courtroom.

Review:

"At the start of Tallman's excellent fifth Victorian historical featuring lawyer Sarah Woolson (after 2010's Scandal on Rincon Hill), Sarah attends a reception in 1882 for a touring Irish poet, Oscar Wilde, held at the home of a newspaper publisher who's a friend of her crime journalist brother, Samuel, on San Francisco's Telegraph Hill. Shortly after Sarah and Samuel leave the party, a gunman seriously wounds Samuel, though it's unclear whether Samuel or Sarah herself was the intended target. Despite her family's fears for her safety, Sarah decides to track down the shooter. Meanwhile, her struggling law practice receives a boost after a couple representing the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals hires her to stop a wealthy Mexican from building a bull-fighting ring, a proposal that already has the backing of City Hall. Tallman convincingly makes her lead a dogged and fearless sleuth. Agent: Miriam Kriss, the Irene Goodman Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

SHIRLEY TALLMAN lives in Eugene, Oregon and Incline Village, Nevada.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781250010438
Author:
Tallman, Shirley
Publisher:
Minotaur Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Historical
Subject:
Legal
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Series Volume:
No. 5
Publication Date:
20121031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds: An...
    Used Hardcover $17.50
  2. A Death in Valencia Used Hardcover $17.50
  3. Live by Night
    Used Hardcover $6.50
  4. A Foreign Country Used Mass Market $4.95
  5. The Imposter Bride Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. The Information: A History, a...
    Used Hardcover $15.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Historical

Death on Telegraph Hill (Sarah Woolson Mysteries) Sale Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Minotaur Books - English 9781250010438 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "At the start of Tallman's excellent fifth Victorian historical featuring lawyer Sarah Woolson (after 2010's Scandal on Rincon Hill), Sarah attends a reception in 1882 for a touring Irish poet, Oscar Wilde, held at the home of a newspaper publisher who's a friend of her crime journalist brother, Samuel, on San Francisco's Telegraph Hill. Shortly after Sarah and Samuel leave the party, a gunman seriously wounds Samuel, though it's unclear whether Samuel or Sarah herself was the intended target. Despite her family's fears for her safety, Sarah decides to track down the shooter. Meanwhile, her struggling law practice receives a boost after a couple representing the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals hires her to stop a wealthy Mexican from building a bull-fighting ring, a proposal that already has the backing of City Hall. Tallman convincingly makes her lead a dogged and fearless sleuth. Agent: Miriam Kriss, the Irene Goodman Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.