No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 15, 2015

    Mary Helen Specht: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Mary Helen Specht



    Migratory Animals is mostly set in Texas during the first years of the most recent recession, when the cast of characters — an eclectic group... Continue »
    1. $10.49 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      Migratory Animals (P.S.)

      Mary Helen Specht 9780062346032

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The Scientists: A Family Romance

by

The Scientists: A Family Romance Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Named a Best Book of the Year by Vogue, Los Angeles Times, and The New Republic

New York Times Book Review Editors Choice

A FRANK, INTELLIGENT, AND DEEPLY MOVING DEBUT MEMOIR

The precocious only child of a doctor and a classical musician, Marco Roth was able to share his parents New York. Theirs was a world that revolved around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and discussions of the latest advances in medicine—and one that ended when Marcos father started to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s. What this family could not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, with surprising and often devastating effects. Written in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams, and J. R. Ackerley, The Scientists is a book that grapples with a troubled intellectual and emotional inheritance—the ways in which we learn from our parents, and then learn to see them separately from ourselves.

 

About the Author

Marco Roth was raised amid the vanished liberal culture of Manhattans Upper West Side. After studying comparative literature at Columbia and Yale, he helped found the magazine n+1, in 2004. Recipient of the 2011 Shattuck prize for literary criticism, he lives in Philadelphia. The Scientists is his first book.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781250039453
Author:
Roth, Marco
Publisher:
Picador USA
Subject:
Biography - General
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20130831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Vampires in the Lemon Grove: And... Sale Trade Paper $10.47

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Memoirs

The Scientists: A Family Romance Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Picador USA - English 9781250039453 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.