It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $14.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside SF- M

Isolde, Queen of the Western Isle: The First of the Tristan and Isolde Novels

by

Isolde, Queen of the Western Isle: The First of the Tristan and Isolde Novels Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the golden time of Arthur and Guenevere, the Island of the West shines like an emerald in the sea—one of the last strongholds of Goddess-worship and Mother-right. Isolde is the only daughter and heiress of Irelands great ruling queen, a lady as passionate in battle as she is in love. La Belle Isolde, like her mother, is famed for her beauty, but she is a healer instead of a warrior, “of all surgeons, the best among the isles.” A natural peacemaker, Isolde is struggling to save Ireland from a war waged by her dangerously reckless mother. The Queen is influenced by her lover, Sir Marhaus, who urges her to invade neighboring Cornwall and claim it for her own, a foolhardy move Isolde is determined to prevent. But she is unable to stop them. King Mark of Cornwall sends forth his own champion to do battle with the Irish—Sir Tristan of Lyonesse—a young, untested knight with a mysterious past. A member of the Round Table, Tristan has returned to the land of his birth after many years in exile, only to face Irelands fiercest champion in combat. When he lies victorious but near death on the field of battle, Tristan knows that his only hope of survival lies to the West. He must be taken to Ireland to be healed, but he must go in disguise—for if the Queen finds out who killed her beloved, he will follow Marhaus into the spirit world. His men smuggle him into the Queens fort at Dubh Lein, and beg the princess to save him.

From this first meeting of star-crossed lovers, an epic story unfolds. Isoldes skill and beauty impress Tristans uncle, King Mark of Cornwall, and—knowing nothing of her love for Tristan—he decides to make her his queen, a match her mother encourages as a way to bind their lands under one rule. Tristan and Isolde find themselves caught in the crosscurrents of fate, as Isolde is forced to marry a man she does not love. Taking pity on her daughter, the Queen gives her an elixir that will create in her a passion for King Mark and ensure that their love will last until death. But on the voyage to Ireland, Tristan and Isolde drink the love potion by accident, sealing their already perilous love forever.

So begins the first book of the Tristan and Isolde trilogy, another stunning example of the storytellers craft from Rosalind Miles, author of the beloved and bestselling Guenevere trilogy.

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

I solde is a gifted healer and a princess destined to inherit the throne of Ireland from her tempestuous mother. Tristan is an intrepid knight, beholden to the King of Cornwall, his uncle, who is locked in a war of conquest with the Irish queen. When Isolde and Tristan fall in love, what unfurls is an epic of politics, faith, betrayal, and fate that will leave them both prey to evil but united by their perilous, abiding devotion. Rosalind Miles weaves a rich background of ancient Cornish, Irish, and Welsh history into this lavish retelling, infusing a well-loved legend with a fresh, imaginative twist. Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Sharon Kay Penman, and Miles's own Guenevere trilogy will be captivated by this thrilling new chapter in the Arthurian saga.

Synopsis:

Isolde is a gifted healer and a princess. Tristan is an intrepid knight. When Isolde and Tristan fall in love, what unfurls is an epic of politics, faith, betrayal, and fate that will leave them both prey to evil but united by their perilous, abiding devotion.

About the Author

ROSALIND MILES is a well-known and critically acclaimed English novelist, essayist, and broadcaster. Her novels, including the Guenevere trilogy, have been international bestsellers. Rosalind divides her time between homes in California and England.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400047864
Author:
Miles, Rosalind
Publisher:
Broadway Books
Location:
New York
Subject:
Queens
Subject:
Ireland
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Adultery
Subject:
Arthurian romances
Subject:
Knights and knighthood
Subject:
Cornwall
Subject:
Tristan
Subject:
Iseult
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Love stories
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st pbk. ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
107-58
Publication Date:
20030631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
1 MAP; FAMILY TREE
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.02x5.30x.80 in. .60 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Knight of the Sacred Lake: The...
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  2. The Child of the Holy Grail: The... Used Trade Paper $1.95
  3. Tristan and Isolde Novels #03: The... Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. Gods' Concubine: Troy Game #2 Used Mass Market $4.50
  5. The Stone of Farewell (Memory,...
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. Infinity's Shore Used Mass Market $3.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

Isolde, Queen of the Western Isle: The First of the Tristan and Isolde Novels Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Three Rivers Press (CA) - English 9781400047864 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , I solde is a gifted healer and a princess destined to inherit the throne of Ireland from her tempestuous mother. Tristan is an intrepid knight, beholden to the King of Cornwall, his uncle, who is locked in a war of conquest with the Irish queen. When Isolde and Tristan fall in love, what unfurls is an epic of politics, faith, betrayal, and fate that will leave them both prey to evil but united by their perilous, abiding devotion. Rosalind Miles weaves a rich background of ancient Cornish, Irish, and Welsh history into this lavish retelling, infusing a well-loved legend with a fresh, imaginative twist. Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Sharon Kay Penman, and Miles's own Guenevere trilogy will be captivated by this thrilling new chapter in the Arthurian saga.
"Synopsis" by , Isolde is a gifted healer and a princess. Tristan is an intrepid knight. When Isolde and Tristan fall in love, what unfurls is an epic of politics, faith, betrayal, and fate that will leave them both prey to evil but united by their perilous, abiding devotion.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.