Dreadfully Ever After Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
List price: $14.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Horror- General
1 Local Warehouse Horror- General

The Zombie Survival Guide

by

The Zombie Survival Guide Cover

ISBN13: 9781400049622
ISBN10: 1400049628
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The Zombie Survival Guide is your key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking you right now. Fully illustrated and exhaustively comprehensive, this book covers everything you need to know, including how to understand zombie physiology and behavior, the most effective defense tactics and weaponry, ways to outfit your home for a long siege, and how to survive and adapt in any territory or terrain.

In the tradition of Bored of the Rings, O.J.'s Legal Pad, and The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook, this book is a dead-on parody of wilderness and survival manuals like the SAS guides that sell millions of copies, and it will appeal as much to readers of The Onion as it will to fans of science fiction novels and horror films. Max Brooks captures the tone of these publications with perfect pitch, lacing his life-or-death advice with sarcastic, ironic, and very funny comments about the relentless power and persistence of zombies and the vulnerability of ordinary humans.

Review:

"Some of the book's more amusing aspects are the laughable analyses Brooks proposes on all aspects of zombiehood, and the specificity with which he enumerates the necessary actions for survival." Publishers Weekly

Synopsis:

Fully illustrated and exhaustively comprehensive, "The Zombie Survival Guide"is one's key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking thestreets right now.

About the Author

Max Brooks lives in New York City but is ready to move to a more remote and defensible location at a moment’s notice.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 8 comments:

crowyhead, November 9, 2011 (view all comments by crowyhead)
This was super fun and quite funny -- Brooks maintains the usual pedantic, smugly superior tone of a survival guide all the way through, and the results are excellent. It's also very clear in reading this that it has fed into many of the current popular works on zombies, or at least has captured the zeitgeist perfectly. Definitely sets the stage well for World War Z.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Tim Lewis, September 13, 2011 (view all comments by Tim Lewis)
This is the standard by which all other zombie books and guides should be judged. Even as humor, the tips and the emphasis for the use of common sense in any survival situation make this book stand above the rest. While his version of zombies differ from those of the great George A. Romero, Max Brooks' guide uses logic and common sense in fighting the reanimated dead. Don't take for granted the need for survival skills, regardless of the situation, whether it be zombies, natural disaster, or nuclear fallout. If it's the zombie apocalypse, you need this book to keep the moans of the undead from driving you crazy enough to make deadly mistakes!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Will, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by Will)
Easily the world's foremost expert on zombies, Max Brooks has written the best book to date regarding survival from the undead in the event of an uprising. Everything from the friends to have and the weapons to stockpile to the best environments in which to weather the zombie apocalypse has been covered. Brooks has once again captured the reader's attention while addressing what could be a very real problem in the future. I highly recommend this book. Buy enough copies to give to the ones you love.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 8 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400049622
Author:
Brooks, Max
Publisher:
Broadway Books
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
American - General
Subject:
Form - Parodies
Subject:
Zombies
Subject:
General Humor
Subject:
HUMOR / Parodies
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
107-292
Publication Date:
20030931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
100 LINE DRAWINGS
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.35x5.54x.74 in. .72 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. How to Survive a Robot Uprising:... Used Trade Paper $6.50
  2. The Bad Driver's Handbook: Hundreds... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. How to Be a Villain: Evil Laughs,...
    Used Hardcover $2.50
  4. Where's My Jetpack?: A Guide to the...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. How to Build a Robot Army: Tips on... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Cell: A Novel
    Used Hardcover $1.50

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Narrative
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Parodies
Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Criticism
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Locked Case

The Zombie Survival Guide Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Three Rivers Press (CA) - English 9781400049622 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Some of the book's more amusing aspects are the laughable analyses Brooks proposes on all aspects of zombiehood, and the specificity with which he enumerates the necessary actions for survival." Publishers Weekly
"Synopsis" by , Fully illustrated and exhaustively comprehensive, "The Zombie Survival Guide"is one's key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking thestreets right now.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.