Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »
  1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Children and Other Wild Animals

    Brian Doyle 9780870717543

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Biology- General

The Well-Dressed Ape: A Natural History of Myself

by

The Well-Dressed Ape: A Natural History of Myself Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The well-dressed ape, aka Homo sapiens, is a strange mammal. It mates remarkably often, and with unprecedented affection. With similar enthusiasm, it will eat to the point of undermining its own health-behavior unthinkable in wild animals. The human marks its territory with doors, fences, and plastic flamingos, yet if it's too isolated it becomes depressed. It thinks of itself as complex, intelligent, and in every way superior to other animals-but is it, really?

With wit, humility, and penetrating insight, science journalist Hannah Holmes casts the inquisitive eye of a trained researcher and reporter on...herself. And not just herself, but on our whole species — what Shakespeare called the paragon of animals. In this surprising, humorous, and edifying book, Holmes explores how the human animal-the eponymous well-dressed ape-fits into the natural world, even as we humans change that world in both constructive and destructive ways.

Comparing and contrasting the biology and behavior of humans with that of other creatures, Holmes demonstrates our position as an animal among other animals, a product of — and subject to — the same evolutionary processes. And not only are we animals-we are, in some important ways (such as our senses of smell and of vision), pitiably inferior ones. That such an animal came to exist at all is unlikely. That we have survived and prospered is extraordinary.

At the same time, Holmes reveals the ways in which Homo sapiens stands apart from other mammals and, indeed, all other animals. Despite the vast common ground we share with our fellow creatures, there are significant areas in which we are unique. No other animal, as far as we know, shares thehuman capacity for self-reflective thought or our talent for changing ourselves or our environment in response to natural challenges and opportunities. One result of these extraordinary characteristics is the spread of our species across the entire planet; another, unfortunately, is global warming.

Deftly mixing personal stories and observations with the latest scientific theories and research results, Hannah Holmes has fashioned an engaging and informative field guide to that oddest and yet most fascinating of primates: ourselves.

Review:

Humans are strange creatures, biologically speaking. We're fixated on the topic of mating, though we're the only species that often makes the evolutionarily illogical choice to mate without reproducing. We're also the only creatures on Earth obsessed with analyzing themselves — which is precisely the drive behind Hannah Holmes' new book, "The Well-Dressed Ape," in which she explores herself (and her... Washington Post Book Review (read the entire Washington Post review)

Review:

"A pellucid spin through the contours of the human brain and the folds of the human body....Careful science meets good writing — a pleasure for fans of Lewis Thomas, Natalie Angier and other interpreters of scientific fact." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"With humor and clarity, she explores the facts, fictions, and hopes about the species Homo sapiens....Highly recommended for all science collections." Library Journal (Starred Review)

About the Author

Hannah Holmes is the author of Suburban Safari and The Secret Life of Dust. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times Magazine, Los Angeles Times Magazine, Discover, Outside, and many other publications. She was a frequent contributor on science and nature subjects for the Discovery Channel Online. She lives with her husband and dog in Portland, Maine.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400065417
Subtitle:
A Natural History of Myself
Author:
Holmes, Hannah
Publisher:
Random House
Subject:
Physical anthropology
Subject:
Human biology
Subject:
Physiology
Subject:
General
Subject:
Life Sciences - Human Anatomy & Physiology
Subject:
Anthropology - Physical
Subject:
General science
Subject:
Health and Medicine-Anatomy and Physiology
Subject:
Evolution
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20090120
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
9.40x6.30x1.30 in. 1.25 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto
    Used Hardcover $7.95
  2. Outliers: The Story of Success
    Used Hardcover $8.95
  3. Predictably Irrational: The Hidden... Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. The Dominant Animal: Human Evolution...
    Used Hardcover $11.95
  5. The Invention of Air: A Study of...
    Used Hardcover $8.50

Related Subjects


Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Anatomy and Physiology
Science and Mathematics » Biology » General
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Biology

The Well-Dressed Ape: A Natural History of Myself Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Random House - English 9781400065417 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A pellucid spin through the contours of the human brain and the folds of the human body....Careful science meets good writing — a pleasure for fans of Lewis Thomas, Natalie Angier and other interpreters of scientific fact."
"Review" by , "With humor and clarity, she explores the facts, fictions, and hopes about the species Homo sapiens....Highly recommended for all science collections."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.