Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
6 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Birds Without Wings

by

Birds Without Wings Cover

ISBN13: 9781400079322
ISBN10: 1400079322
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Review-A-Day

"So much is remarkable about this novel, from the heft of its history to the power of its legends. In this great bazaar of family life and international politics, the bittersweet metaphor of 'birds without wings' grows deeper and richer....This epic about the tragedy of borders is likely to cross all borders, moving readers everywhere as it describes the harrowing cost of remaking faraway places in the image of our dreams." Ron Charles, The Christian Science Monitor (read the entire Christian Science Monitor review)

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In his first novel since Corelli's Mandolin, Louis de Bernieres creates a world, populates it with characters as real as our best friends, and launches it into the maelstrom of twentieth-century history.

The setting is a small village in southwestern Anatolia in the waning years of the Ottoman Empire. Everyone there speaks Turkish, though they write it in Greek letters. It's a place that has room for a professional blasphemer; where a brokenhearted aga finds solace in the arms of a Circassian courtesan who isn't Circassian at all; where a beautiful Christian girl named Philothei is engaged to a Muslim boy named Ibrahim. But all of this will change when Turkey enters the modern world. Epic in sweep, intoxicating in its sensual detail, Birds Without Wings is an enchantment.

Review:

"One of the most engrossing novels I've read all year....Everyone in this cast of characters is someone memorable, and their lives and fates intertwine to make a marvelously engaging story..." Chicago Tribune

Review:

"It would be foolish to deny that there are great things herein, but their author's laboriously shouldered agenda goes a long way toward undermining them. Enormously readable, intermittently brilliant, honorably conceived and felt — and very deeply flawed." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Louis de Bernieres's overstuffed new novel is an absorbing epic about the waning years of the Ottoman Empire — but you may need to develop your own mental filing system to keep up with all its characters and incident." The New York Times Book Review

Review:

"A fascinating, evocative work written on a grand scale not much seen today. Despite its flaws, it is as rich and compelling as any novel written about the Anatolian upheaval." The Washington Post

Review:

"Louis de Bernieres is in the direct line that runs through Dickens and Evelyn Waugh...[H]e has only to look into his world, one senses, for it to rush into reality, colours and touch and taste." A. S. Byatt

Review:

"[A] sweeping account of the rise of modern Turkey and the last days of the Ottoman Empire....[I]ntensely personal." Newsday

Review:

"Dazzling...a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens....So joyous and heartbreaking, so rich and musical and wise, that reading it is like discovering anew the enchanting power of fiction." San Francisco Chronicle

About the Author

Louis de Bernieres's first three novels are The War of Don Emmanuel's Nether Parts (Commonwealth Writers Prize, Best First Book Eurasia Region, 1991), Senor Vivo and the Coca Lord (Commonwealth Writers Prize, Best Book Eurasia Region, 1992), and The Troublesome Offspring of Cardinal Guzman. The author was selected by Granta as one of the twenty Best of Young British Novelists in 1993. Corelli's Mandolin won the Commonwealth Writers Prize, Best Book, in 1995. His last book was Red Dog, published in 2001.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 5 comments:

jacare.selivonchick, August 4, 2012 (view all comments by jacare.selivonchick)
This is the best book that I have read in years. Amazing writing!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
too little space, January 3, 2011 (view all comments by too little space)
Just as in "Corelli's Mandolin" the author gets off to a slow, inauspcious start to introduce us to the characters in the story. At first you don't really think much about the people...they are all a little odd or quirky, but even after some early violence and tragedy seem to doom the story (and some of the main characters) to a tedious end, you begin to realize that the story has begun to sweep you away. You find yourself liking the characters, their strengths and human frailties as they are reavealed over time. As the story closes and the characters end their parts of the tale, you find yourself mourning thier losses, cherishing their triumphs, and wishing you could hear them continue to speak to you. this is not a story to "speed read" but the chapeters are short and allow you to read them in-between other activities or as a "bedtime book" to be read a chapter at night.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Clay H, February 5, 2010 (view all comments by Clay H)
A full scale "Historical" novel with a dash of Magical Realism thrown in. Setting "Oriental" Turkish and Greece, Bernieres develops multiple, colorful characters, you will fall in love with. Touching on issues spanning the whole of the human condition, yet with a simple, direct approach that captures your interest. I couldn't put it down.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 5 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400079322
Author:
de Bernieres, Louis
Publisher:
Vintage Books USA
Author:
E
Author:
Louis De Bernieres
Author:
Res
Author:
Louis de Bernires
Author:
Louis de Berni
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
City and town life
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Fathers and sons
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
War stories
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage International
Publication Date:
June 2005
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
576
Dimensions:
7.98x5.32x1.04 in. .89 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Master
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Case Histories: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $5.25
  3. A Thousand Splendid Suns: A Novel
    Used Hardcover $1.95
  4. The Tortilla Curtain
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  5. The Curious Incident of the Dog in...
    Used Trade Paper $1.50
  6. Troublesome Offspring of Cardinal... Used Trade Paper $5.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » American Studies » Popular Culture

Birds Without Wings Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 576 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9781400079322 Reviews:
"Review A Day" by , "So much is remarkable about this novel, from the heft of its history to the power of its legends. In this great bazaar of family life and international politics, the bittersweet metaphor of 'birds without wings' grows deeper and richer....This epic about the tragedy of borders is likely to cross all borders, moving readers everywhere as it describes the harrowing cost of remaking faraway places in the image of our dreams." (read the entire Christian Science Monitor review)
"Review" by , "One of the most engrossing novels I've read all year....Everyone in this cast of characters is someone memorable, and their lives and fates intertwine to make a marvelously engaging story..."
"Review" by , "It would be foolish to deny that there are great things herein, but their author's laboriously shouldered agenda goes a long way toward undermining them. Enormously readable, intermittently brilliant, honorably conceived and felt — and very deeply flawed."
"Review" by , "Louis de Bernieres's overstuffed new novel is an absorbing epic about the waning years of the Ottoman Empire — but you may need to develop your own mental filing system to keep up with all its characters and incident."
"Review" by , "A fascinating, evocative work written on a grand scale not much seen today. Despite its flaws, it is as rich and compelling as any novel written about the Anatolian upheaval."
"Review" by , "Louis de Bernieres is in the direct line that runs through Dickens and Evelyn Waugh...[H]e has only to look into his world, one senses, for it to rush into reality, colours and touch and taste."
"Review" by , "[A] sweeping account of the rise of modern Turkey and the last days of the Ottoman Empire....[I]ntensely personal."
"Review" by , "Dazzling...a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens....So joyous and heartbreaking, so rich and musical and wise, that reading it is like discovering anew the enchanting power of fiction."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.