Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »
  1. $11.20 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Sherwood Nation

    Benjamin Parzybok 9781618730862

spacer

The Day the Falls Stood Still (Voice)

by

The Day the Falls Stood Still (Voice) Cover

 

Staff Pick

Inspired by the life of Niagara Falls's famed "riverman," William "Red" Hill, The Day the Falls Stood Still is set during the early days of hydro-electric power. When the boss's daughter falls for the "riverman," class lines and propriety fall away. This is a great love story that shows how tragedy can shape, though not destroy, a family. Niagara Falls is a character in its own right in this fascinating historical novel.
Recommended by Dianah, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“A wonderful love story . . . Buchanan weaves Niagara Falls’ history and her storytelling together masterfully.”

Elle

1915. Niagara Falls. The dawn of the hydroelectric power era. Seventeen-year-old Bess Heath, who has led a sheltered existence as the younger daughter of the director of the Niagara Power Company, meets Tom Cole by chance on a trolley platform and finds herself inexplicably drawn to him—against her family’s strong objections. Tom is not from their world. Rough-hewn and fearless, he lives off what the river provides and has an uncanny ability to predict the whims of the falls. His daring river rescues render him a local hero and cast him as a threat to the power companies who seek to harness the power of the falls for themselves. As the paths of Bess and Tom become entwined, Bess must make a painful choice between what she wants and what is best for her family and her future.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "City of Light" and "Fortune's Rocks" comes a stunning debut novel of one family's struggle, set against the tumultuous backdrop of Niagara Falls.

Synopsis:

A heartrending, gripping novel about two sisters in Belle Époque Paris.

1878 Paris. Following their father’s sudden death, the van Goethem sisters find their lives upended. Without his wages, and with the small amount their laundress mother earns disappearing into the absinthe bottle, eviction from their lodgings seems imminent. With few options for work, Marie is dispatched to the Paris Opéra, where for a scant seventeen francs a week, she will be trained to enter the famous ballet. Her older sister, Antoinette, finds work as an extra in a stage adaptation of Émile Zola’s naturalist masterpiece L’Assommoir.

Marie throws herself into dance and is soon modeling in the studio of Edgar Degas, where her image will forever be immortalized as Little Dancer Aged Fourteen. There she meets a wealthy male patron of the ballet, but might the assistance he offers come with strings attached? Meanwhile Antoinette, derailed by her love for the dangerous Émile Abadie, must choose between honest labor and the more profitable avenues open to a young woman of the Parisian demimonde. 

Set at a moment of profound artistic, cultural, and societal change, The Painted Girls is a tale of two remarkable sisters rendered uniquely vulnerable to the darker impulses of “civilized society.” In the end, each will come to realize that her salvation, if not survival, lies with the other.

About the Author

Cathy Marie Buchanan is the author of the national bestseller The Day the Falls Stood Still, a Barnes and Noble Recommends selection and an Indie Next pick. She lives in Toronto.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781401341367
Author:
Buchanan, Cathy Marie
Publisher:
Hyperion
Author:
Casey, Kathryn
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Murder
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Historical
Edition Description:
TradePB
Series:
Voice
Publication Date:
20100706
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Outer Banks House Used Hardcover $3.50

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Day the Falls Stood Still (Voice) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.00 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Hyperion Books - English 9781401341367 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Inspired by the life of Niagara Falls's famed "riverman," William "Red" Hill, The Day the Falls Stood Still is set during the early days of hydro-electric power. When the boss's daughter falls for the "riverman," class lines and propriety fall away. This is a great love story that shows how tragedy can shape, though not destroy, a family. Niagara Falls is a character in its own right in this fascinating historical novel.

"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "City of Light" and "Fortune's Rocks" comes a stunning debut novel of one family's struggle, set against the tumultuous backdrop of Niagara Falls.
"Synopsis" by ,
A heartrending, gripping novel about two sisters in Belle Époque Paris.

1878 Paris. Following their father’s sudden death, the van Goethem sisters find their lives upended. Without his wages, and with the small amount their laundress mother earns disappearing into the absinthe bottle, eviction from their lodgings seems imminent. With few options for work, Marie is dispatched to the Paris Opéra, where for a scant seventeen francs a week, she will be trained to enter the famous ballet. Her older sister, Antoinette, finds work as an extra in a stage adaptation of Émile Zola’s naturalist masterpiece L’Assommoir.

Marie throws herself into dance and is soon modeling in the studio of Edgar Degas, where her image will forever be immortalized as Little Dancer Aged Fourteen. There she meets a wealthy male patron of the ballet, but might the assistance he offers come with strings attached? Meanwhile Antoinette, derailed by her love for the dangerous Émile Abadie, must choose between honest labor and the more profitable avenues open to a young woman of the Parisian demimonde. 

Set at a moment of profound artistic, cultural, and societal change, The Painted Girls is a tale of two remarkable sisters rendered uniquely vulnerable to the darker impulses of “civilized society.” In the end, each will come to realize that her salvation, if not survival, lies with the other.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.