Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Carli Davidson: IMG Puppies for Sale? Read This First



    Shake Puppies contains an almost unsettling amount of cuteness. There is a good chance after looking through its pages you will get puppy fever and... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$23.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Sports and Fitness- Soccer
6 Local Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Soccer
5 Remote Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Soccer

More copies of this ISBN

Hatters, Railwaymen and Knitters: Travels Through England's Football Provinces

by

Hatters, Railwaymen and Knitters: Travels Through England's Football Provinces Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

English but estranged in Scotland, Daniel Gray is about to turn thirty. Like any sane person, his response is to travel to Crewe, Carlisle and Luton. Hatters, Railwaymen and Knitters is an attempt to seek out the England of today through the lens of its football clubs. Small teams and towns, Gray argues, made the country great and matter now more than ever. Taking twelve teams who had notable seasons in 1981, the year of his birth, Hatters, Railwaymen and Knitters is part-football book, part-travelogue and part-love letter to the bits of England that often get forgotten.

In Middlesbrough, his own childhood team, Gray examines the concept of supporter loyalty and identity. Is football all some of us have left to cling to in a land where the industry that bound the people of towns together has gone? In Watford he muses on the existence of a North-South divide. In Sheffield, a city of bitter derbies, he examines rivalries in football and what they say about our country. In traditionally-wealthy Ipswich he ponders the ownership of football clubs past, present and future. Via such places as Chester, Burnley, Bradford and Carlisle, this is a whistle-stop tour of the outer reaches of the football league that aims to answer big questions about Englishness.

For fans of Harry Pearson's The Far Corner or Stuart Maconie's Pies and Prejudice, this is a book that brings the real England vivdly jumping off the page.

Synopsis:

A wry and gently humorous tour of the outer reaches of English football.

About the Author

Author and historian Daniel Gray is the writer of Stramash and Homage to Caledonia. For a short period in the early 1990s he was the finest left-back in his village, once marking Gordon Strachans youngest son, the one who didnt become a footballer, out of the game. A Middlesbrough supporter, Daniel began attending football matches in 1988 and has never recovered. He has worked in a psychiatric hospital, a library and in television and politics. He loves staring out of train windows and lives in Leith with his wife and daughter.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781408834367
Author:
Gray, Daniel
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Subject:
Soccer
Subject:
Sports and Fitness-Soccer
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20131031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9.12 x 6.34 x 1 in 1 lb

Related Subjects


Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Soccer » General
Travel » Travel Writing » General

Hatters, Railwaymen and Knitters: Travels Through England's Football Provinces New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$23.00 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - English 9781408834367 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A wry and gently humorous tour of the outer reaches of English football.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.