Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | April 8, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Gabrielle Zevin: The Powells.com Interview



Gabrielle ZevinThe American Booksellers Association collects nominations from bookstores all over the country for favorite forthcoming titles. The Storied Life of... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    Gabrielle Zevin 9781616203214

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
List price: $19.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Christianity- Christmas

This title in other editions

The Gift

by

The Gift Cover

ISBN13: 9781416550013
ISBN10: 1416550011
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $3.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

andlt;bandgt;andlt;bigandgt;There is no hurt so great that love cannot heal itandlt;/bigandgt;andlt;/bandgt; andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt; Nathan Hurst hated Christmas. For the rest of the world it was a day of joy and celebration; for Nathan it was simply a reminder of the event that destroyed his childhood until a snowstorm, a cancelled flight, and an unexpected meeting with a young mother and her very special son would show him that Christmas is indeed the season of miracles. andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt; From the beloved author of the international bestseller andlt;iandgt;The Christmas Boxandlt;/iandgt; comes another timeless story of faith, hope, and healing.

Review:

"Evans (The Christmas Box) returns with narrator Nathan Hurst, a frequently traveling, Tourette's-suffering security chief for a retail chain. When Nathan gets snowed in at the Denver airport at Thanksgiving, he offers half his hotel suite to a stranded needy family: recently divorced single mom Addison (a massage therapist), and her two children, Lizzy and Collin. Collin, who has leukemia, cures Nathan's Tourette's with his gift of healing touch. Exercising his secret gift makes Collin sicker, though, and as news of his healing powers eventually leaks out, leading to a demand for his services, his condition worsens. Nathan, meanwhile, feels emboldedened by his cure, and moves to address childhood woes when visiting his nursing home — bound mother. The tightly honed narrative, brimming with good intention to find courage in shared suffering, soon brings everyone together." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

There is no hurt so great that love cannot heal it

Nathan Hurst hated Christmas. For the rest of the world it was a day of joy and celebration; for Nathan it was simply a reminder of the event that destroyed his childhood until a snowstorm, a cancelled flight, and an unexpected meeting with a young mother and her very special son would show him that Christmas is indeed the season of miracles.

From the beloved author of the international bestseller The Christmas Box comes another timeless story of faith, hope, and healing.

Synopsis:

Beloved inspirational author Richard Paul Evans crafts a heartwarming Christmas story in the tradition of "The Christmas Box" and "Finding Noel." Simon & Schuster

Video

About the Author

Richard Paul Evans is the author of eleven New York Times bestselling novels and five children's books. He has won the American Mothers' Book Award and two first-place Storytelling World Awards for his children's books. His books have been translated into more than eighteen languages. More than thirteen million copies of his books are in print worldwide. Evans is also the founder of The Christmas Box House International, an organization dedicated to helping abused and neglected children. More than 13,000 children have been housed in Christmas Box Houses. He is the recipient of The Washington Times Humanitarian of the Century Award and the Volunteers of America National Empathy Award. He is currently building a second orphanage in Peru. He lives with his wife, Keri, and their five children in Salt Lake City, Utah.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

kmullen9223, November 26, 2007 (view all comments by kmullen9223)
This book was fabulous! The plot, the twists and the romance make for a fantastic read!!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416550013
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Evans, Richard Paul
Publisher:
Simon and Schuster
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Healers
Subject:
Tourette syndrome
Subject:
Christmas stories
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20071009
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Rough front; 2-C
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
7 x 5 x 1 in 13.09 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Sisterchicks Go Brit! (Sisterchicks... New Trade Paper $14.99
  2. Nuclear Power Is Not the Answer Used Trade Paper $9.00
  3. The Drowning Man (John O'Malley and... Used Hardcover $7.95
  4. Sisterchicks #6: Sisterchicks in... New Trade Paper $14.99
  5. Michelle Obama: First Lady of Hope Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. Angels All Over Town Used Mass Market $5.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Religion » Christianity » Christian Fiction
Religion » Christianity » Christmas

The Gift Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Simon & Schuster - English 9781416550013 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Evans (The Christmas Box) returns with narrator Nathan Hurst, a frequently traveling, Tourette's-suffering security chief for a retail chain. When Nathan gets snowed in at the Denver airport at Thanksgiving, he offers half his hotel suite to a stranded needy family: recently divorced single mom Addison (a massage therapist), and her two children, Lizzy and Collin. Collin, who has leukemia, cures Nathan's Tourette's with his gift of healing touch. Exercising his secret gift makes Collin sicker, though, and as news of his healing powers eventually leaks out, leading to a demand for his services, his condition worsens. Nathan, meanwhile, feels emboldedened by his cure, and moves to address childhood woes when visiting his nursing home — bound mother. The tightly honed narrative, brimming with good intention to find courage in shared suffering, soon brings everyone together." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , There is no hurt so great that love cannot heal it

Nathan Hurst hated Christmas. For the rest of the world it was a day of joy and celebration; for Nathan it was simply a reminder of the event that destroyed his childhood until a snowstorm, a cancelled flight, and an unexpected meeting with a young mother and her very special son would show him that Christmas is indeed the season of miracles.

From the beloved author of the international bestseller The Christmas Box comes another timeless story of faith, hope, and healing.

"Synopsis" by , Beloved inspirational author Richard Paul Evans crafts a heartwarming Christmas story in the tradition of "The Christmas Box" and "Finding Noel." Simon & Schuster
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.