The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $15.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Children's Picture Books- General

I'm Here

by

I'm Here Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

I’m here. And you’re there.

And that’s okay.

But… maybe there will be a gentle wind that pulls us together.

And then I’ll be here and you’ll be here, too.

Pure, powerful, and deceptively simple, bestselling author and illustrator Peter H. Reynolds reminds us that children—and the friendships they make—can bloom in unexpected ways. This extraordinary picture book gives voice to the often silent world of a kid struggling to connect with his peers and speaks to the universal need to be loved and heard.

Review:

"In the vein of The Dot and Ish, Reynolds offers another characteristically gentle and empathetic small-format book, written from the perspective of a boy who watches, from a distance, as other children play: 'They are there. I am here.' Their voices are 'Splashes upon splashes of sound' that he hears 'like one big noise. A big drum. Boom. Boom.' When a sheet of paper floats down from the sky ('White rectangle. How did you find me?'), the boy folds it into an airplane. His imagination sends him soaring in a paper airplane ride before the narrative returns to reality, and the plane is retrieved by a girl who returns it to him: ' ‘I'm here,' says the girl's smile.' Though back matter explains that the book was written 'to help us all reach out, embrace, and appreciate children in the autism spectrum,' the pared-down prose and artwork, painted in Reynolds's typical loose style, are open to multiple interpretations and may facilitate conversations about reaching out to others who are different — and alone — for many reasons. Ages 4 — 8. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Iand#8217;m here. andlt;BRandgt;And youand#8217;re there. andlt;BRandgt;And thatand#8217;s okay. andlt;BRandgt;Butand#8230;andlt;BRandgt;maybe there will be a gentle wind that pulls us together. andlt;BRandgt;And then Iand#8217;ll be here and youand#8217;ll be here, too. andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;Pure, powerful and deceptively simple, bestselling author and illustrator Peter H. Reynolds reminds us that childrenand#8212;and the friendships they makeand#8212;canandnbsp;take flightandnbsp;in unexpected ways.

About the Author

Peter H. Reynolds is the bestselling author and illustrator of I’m Here, The Dot, and Ish; and illustrator for the New York Times #1 bestseller Someday by Alison McGhee. He is also the illustrator of Little Boy, Charlie and Kiwi, and the Judy Moody series. He lives in Dedham, Massachusetts, where he is co-owner of the Blue Bunny bookstore. Visit Peter at PeterHReynolds.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416996491
Author:
Reynolds, Peter
Publisher:
Atheneum Books
Author:
Reynolds, Peter H.
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Friendship
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20110831
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f-c jkt (spcl fx: spot UV; matte)+int. i
Pages:
32
Dimensions:
7.5 x 8 in
Age Level:
from 4 up to 8

Other books you might like

  1. My Mouth Is a Volcano
    New Trade Paper $9.95
  2. You Never Heard of Sandy Koufax?! Used Hardcover $4.50
  3. 100 Words to Make You Sound Smart... Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects


Children's » New Arrivals
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Special Needs

I'm Here Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 32 pages Atheneum Books - English 9781416996491 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In the vein of The Dot and Ish, Reynolds offers another characteristically gentle and empathetic small-format book, written from the perspective of a boy who watches, from a distance, as other children play: 'They are there. I am here.' Their voices are 'Splashes upon splashes of sound' that he hears 'like one big noise. A big drum. Boom. Boom.' When a sheet of paper floats down from the sky ('White rectangle. How did you find me?'), the boy folds it into an airplane. His imagination sends him soaring in a paper airplane ride before the narrative returns to reality, and the plane is retrieved by a girl who returns it to him: ' ‘I'm here,' says the girl's smile.' Though back matter explains that the book was written 'to help us all reach out, embrace, and appreciate children in the autism spectrum,' the pared-down prose and artwork, painted in Reynolds's typical loose style, are open to multiple interpretations and may facilitate conversations about reaching out to others who are different — and alone — for many reasons. Ages 4 — 8. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , Iand#8217;m here. andlt;BRandgt;And youand#8217;re there. andlt;BRandgt;And thatand#8217;s okay. andlt;BRandgt;Butand#8230;andlt;BRandgt;maybe there will be a gentle wind that pulls us together. andlt;BRandgt;And then Iand#8217;ll be here and youand#8217;ll be here, too. andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;Pure, powerful and deceptively simple, bestselling author and illustrator Peter H. Reynolds reminds us that childrenand#8212;and the friendships they makeand#8212;canandnbsp;take flightandnbsp;in unexpected ways.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.