It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Picture Books- General
2 Burnside Children's Picture Books- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Children's Picture Books- General
25 Local Warehouse Children's- General
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Animals- Animal Stories- Birds

The Duckling Gets a Cookie!?

by

The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The Duckling asks for a cookie — and gets one! Do you think the Pigeon is happy about that?

Review:

"Where an exclamation point conveyed birdy delight in Willems's The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog! this title's interrobang implies shock at the Duckling's good fortune. As the sequence opens, the yellow Duckling requests a cookie, receives one immediately, and graciously thanks the unseen provider with a 'flappy flip flap!' The Pigeon, whom the Duckling cajoled into sharing a hot dog in the earlier book, soon arrives to express astonishment. Multipanel spreads and emphatic voice balloons reveal his outrage as The Pigeon throws a colossal tantrum ('I ask for things all the time!/ I ask to drive the bus!... I've asked for a walrus!... But do I get what I ask for? Noooooo!'). In an unexpected turn, the Duckling gives the Pigeon the entire cookie, shocking the bird (and probably readers, too). Willems packs his punchy dialogue, punctuation, and cartoon visuals with meaning. The Duckling's dilated blue pupils and wiggling tail suggest studied cuteness, while the Pigeon's pointy wings and scornful eyelids show comical aggravation. The Duckling's outward generosity, which hides ulterior motives, ends this exuberant Pigeon installment on a snarky note worthy of Tweety Bird. Ages 2 – 6." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

The Pigeon returns (as does the Duckling) for a fifth adventure in the New York Times best-selling series by Mo Willems!

Synopsis:

Shhhh! Don't tell anyone about this mouth-watering book from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos!

How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom! What's a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course! 

But shhh! Its a secret! In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didnt already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .

Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems's humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart's desire.

Praise for Dragons Love Tacos:

New York Times bestseller

A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2012

"Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, 'The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.' If further proof is required, Salmieri—whose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humor—shows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from 'Taco Cave' and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity:'The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos'), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to 'housewarming.' Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh."–Publishers Weekly, starred review

 

"Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly.  Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri's watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, taco parties." –San Francisco Chronicle

 

"The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos." –Kirkus Reviews

 

"The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons." –School Library Journal

About the Author

Mo Willems is a three-time Caldecott Honor-winning Dinosaur (for Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!, Knuffle Bunny, and Knuffle Bunny Too). He also won two Geisel Medals for There Is a Bird on Your Head! and Are You Ready to Play Outside?, and a Geisel Honor for We Are in a Book! His books are perennial New York Times bestsellers, including Knuffle Bunny Free and Hooray for Amanda & Her Alligator! Before he turned to making picture books, Mo was a writer and animator on Sesame Street, where he won six Emmys. Mo lives happily ever after with his family in Massachusetts.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781423151289
Author:
Willems, Mo
Publisher:
Disney-Hyperion
Author:
Rubin, Adam
Author:
Salmieri, Daniel
Subject:
Animals - Birds
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Situations / Manners & Etiquette
Edition Description:
Picture book
Publication Date:
20120403
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from P up to K
Language:
English
Pages:
40
Dimensions:
10 x 10 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 2 up to 6

Other books you might like

  1. Demon Trappers #03: Forgiven Used Trade Paper $5.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Animals » Birds
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » New Arrivals
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General
Featured Titles » Bestsellers
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Manners and Etiquette

The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.99 In Stock
Product details 40 pages Hyperion - English 9781423151289 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Where an exclamation point conveyed birdy delight in Willems's The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog! this title's interrobang implies shock at the Duckling's good fortune. As the sequence opens, the yellow Duckling requests a cookie, receives one immediately, and graciously thanks the unseen provider with a 'flappy flip flap!' The Pigeon, whom the Duckling cajoled into sharing a hot dog in the earlier book, soon arrives to express astonishment. Multipanel spreads and emphatic voice balloons reveal his outrage as The Pigeon throws a colossal tantrum ('I ask for things all the time!/ I ask to drive the bus!... I've asked for a walrus!... But do I get what I ask for? Noooooo!'). In an unexpected turn, the Duckling gives the Pigeon the entire cookie, shocking the bird (and probably readers, too). Willems packs his punchy dialogue, punctuation, and cartoon visuals with meaning. The Duckling's dilated blue pupils and wiggling tail suggest studied cuteness, while the Pigeon's pointy wings and scornful eyelids show comical aggravation. The Duckling's outward generosity, which hides ulterior motives, ends this exuberant Pigeon installment on a snarky note worthy of Tweety Bird. Ages 2 – 6." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , The Pigeon returns (as does the Duckling) for a fifth adventure in the New York Times best-selling series by Mo Willems!
"Synopsis" by ,
Shhhh! Don't tell anyone about this mouth-watering book from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos!

How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom! What's a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course! 

But shhh! Its a secret! In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didnt already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .

Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems's humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart's desire.

Praise for Dragons Love Tacos:

New York Times bestseller

A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2012

"Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, 'The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.' If further proof is required, Salmieri—whose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humor—shows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from 'Taco Cave' and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity:'The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos'), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to 'housewarming.' Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh."–Publishers Weekly, starred review

 

"Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly.  Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri's watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, taco parties." –San Francisco Chronicle

 

"The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos." –Kirkus Reviews

 

"The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons." –School Library Journal

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.