Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Other titles in the Lt. Leary series:

Lt. Leary #8: What Distant Deeps

by

Lt. Leary #8: What Distant Deeps Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

NO REST FOR THE WEARY

            Captain Daniel Leary and his friend, the spy Adele Mundy, have been in the front lines of Cinnabar's struggle against the totalitarian Alliance. Now these galactic superpowers have signed a peace of mutual exhaustion--

            But the jackals are moving in!

            The Republic of Cinnabar was on the verge of collapse under the weight of taxes, casualties, and war's disruption of trade. That the Alliance of Free Stars was in even worse condition helped only because it has made peace possible.

            Years of war have been hard on Daniel and harder still on Adele, whose life outside information-gathering is a tightrope between despair and deadly violence. Their masters in the RCN and the Republic's intelligence service have sent them to the fringes of human space to relax away from danger.

            But the barbarians of the outer reaches have their own plans, plans which will bring down both Cinnabar and the Alliance. The enemies of peace include traitors, giant reptiles, and barbarian pirates whose ships can outsail even Daniel Leary's splendid corvette, the Princess Cecile.

            Unless Daniel, Adele, and their unlikely allies succeed, galactic civilization will disintegrate into blood and chaos.

            So they will succeed—or they'll die trying!

Review:

"The war between the Republic of Cinnabar and the Alliance of Free Stars ended with RCN Captain Daniel Leary's stunning victory at Cacique, resulting in an uneasy peace. In the eighth offering of the popular RCN series, Leary receives orders to transport a diplomat to Zenobia and orders his communications officer, Adele Mundy, to investigate Palmyra, a semi-barbaric ally that is responsible for securing that sector from piracy. They discover not only that Palmyra is about to invade Zenobia, but that certain rogue RCN officers are actively involved. With the specter of renewed hostilities looming before him, Leary approaches his Alliance counterpart and makes an astounding offer, because 'all civilized persons have a duty to stand against barbarians.' Drake (As the Tide Rises) deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera.
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved." Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

Captain Daniel Leary and his friend, the spy Adele Mundy, have been in the front lines of Cinnabar's struggle against the totalitarian Alliance. Now these galactic superpowers have signed a peace of mutual exhaustion, but the jackals are moving in.

About the Author

David Drake was attending Duke University Law School when he was drafted. He served the next two years in the Army, spending 1970 as an enlisted interrogator with the 11th armored Cavalry in Viet Nam and Cambodia. Upon return he completed his law degree at Duke and was for eight years Assistant Town Attorney for Chapel Hill, North Carolina. He has been a full-time freelance writer since 1981. Besides the bestselling Hammer’s Slammers series, his books for Baen include Ranks of Bronze, All the Way to the Gallows, Redliners, and many more. His “Lord of the Isles” fantasy novels for Tor are genre best sellers. What Distant Deeps is the eighth in the popular RCN series. The previous titles are: With the Lightnings; Lt. Leary, Commanding; The Far Side of the Stars; The Way to Glory; Some Golden Harbor, When the Tide Rises and In the Stormy Red Sky.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781439133668
Author:
Drake, David
Publisher:
Baen Books
Subject:
Science Fiction - General
Subject:
Science Fiction - Adventure
Subject:
Science Fiction - Space Opera
Subject:
Science / General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Space warfare
Series:
Lt. Leary
Series Volume:
8
Publication Date:
September 2010
Binding:
Hardcover
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9.64x6.10x1.25 in. 1.25 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. 1635: The Eastern Front (Ring of Fire) Used Hardcover $6.95
  2. Worlds of Honor #05: In Fire Forged Used Hardcover $9.95

Related Subjects

Education » Writing
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Alternative
Science and Mathematics » Physics » General

Lt. Leary #8: What Distant Deeps Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Baen Books - English 9781439133668 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The war between the Republic of Cinnabar and the Alliance of Free Stars ended with RCN Captain Daniel Leary's stunning victory at Cacique, resulting in an uneasy peace. In the eighth offering of the popular RCN series, Leary receives orders to transport a diplomat to Zenobia and orders his communications officer, Adele Mundy, to investigate Palmyra, a semi-barbaric ally that is responsible for securing that sector from piracy. They discover not only that Palmyra is about to invade Zenobia, but that certain rogue RCN officers are actively involved. With the specter of renewed hostilities looming before him, Leary approaches his Alliance counterpart and makes an astounding offer, because 'all civilized persons have a duty to stand against barbarians.' Drake (As the Tide Rises) deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera.
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved." Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , Captain Daniel Leary and his friend, the spy Adele Mundy, have been in the front lines of Cinnabar's struggle against the totalitarian Alliance. Now these galactic superpowers have signed a peace of mutual exhaustion, but the jackals are moving in.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.