Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | February 10, 2015

    Issa Rae: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Issa Rae



    I absolutely love writing to music. Even now, as I write this playlist, I'm listening to J. Cole's 2014 Forest Hills Drive. As I wrote my first... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Judaism- Thought and Culture
12 Local Warehouse Biography- Religious
25 Remote Warehouse Biography- General

This title in other editions

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

by

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots Cover

ISBN13: 9781439187012
ISBN10: 1439187010
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“A remarkable tale” (Kirkus Reviews): in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, Unorthodox is a captivating story about a young woman determined to live her own life at any cost with a new Epilogue from the author.

The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting memoir, Deborah Feldman reveals what life is like trapped within a religious tradition that seems to value silence and suffering over individual freedoms.

     The child of a mentally disabled father and a mother who abandoned the community while her daughter was still a toddler, Deborah was raised by her strictly religious grandparents, Bubby and Zeidy. Along with a rotating cast of aunts and uncles, they enforced customs with a relentless emphasis on rules that governed everything from what Deborah could wear and to whom she could speak, to what she was allowed to read. As she grew from an inquisitive little girl to an independent-minded young woman, stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. She had no idea how to seize this dream that seemed to beckon to her from the skyscrapers of Manhattan, but she was determined to find a way. It wasn’t until she had a child at nineteen that Deborah realized more than just her own future was at stake, and that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path—for herself and her son—to happiness and freedom.

Synopsis:

The instant andlt;I andgt;New York Timesandlt;/Iandgt; bestselling memoir of a young Jewish womanand#8217;s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Aliand#8217;s andlt;Iandgt;Infidel andlt;/Iandgt;and Carolyn Jessopand#8217;s andlt;Iandgt;Escapeandlt;/Iandgt;, featuring a new epilogue by the author.andlt;brandgt;andlt;brandgt;As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborahand#8217;s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

About the Author

Deborah Feldman was raised in the Satmar Hasidic community in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, New York. She attends Sarah Lawrence College and lives in New York City with her son.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

bookworm21, April 3, 2013 (view all comments by bookworm21)
The Hasidic community has always been shrouded in mystery. Feldman allows the non Hasidic to venture into a world unknown to all but a few. Her brave descriptions of life in a world of rules and restrictions allows the reader to experience what it is like to live in a society where women are ruled by man made laws. Congratulations to Deborah Feldman for her courage and chutzpah!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
onepotato, January 1, 2013 (view all comments by onepotato)
Awesome! Historical. hysterical. mythical, educational
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
moiraethefates, October 8, 2012 (view all comments by moiraethefates)
Memoirs books are always some of the most difficult to review, after all it's another persons life and it feels a bit like a judgment of the author. That being said, I found UNORTHODOX to be very interesting. It was sad frankly to read how "sheltered" in many ways Feldman was growing up. I was appalled to read about the way she was treated when certain events that happened to her came to light and how the aunt reacted.
The way her family spoke of her Mother was deplorable as well.
However, Feldman told her story with grace and dignity. She shined a light on a sect of Orthodox Judaism that many people have never heard of. It is very important to note that not everyone in Judaism is like the people she speaks of in this book. Not everyone who is Orthodox is this way either.
The writing was good, not as good as others such as Frank McCourt, but it was still very good. I enjoyed every word of this book and I would recommend it while telling people to go into it with an open mind, if you go into it with a negative attitude you will not enjoy the book and may even end up having anger toward the author.
There are a lot of things in this book many people will find horrifying that the author was subjected to.
But she has come a long way from that, you can tell by the end of this book.

I am looking forward to reading the next book that Feldman pens.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781439187012
Author:
Feldman, Deborah
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster
Subject:
Biography-Religious
Subject:
Jewish, Judaism, Deborah Feldman, bestseller, bestselling, religion, religious, childhood, memoir, escape, cult, Brooklyn, Satmar, Hasidic
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20121031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
12 b/w photos throughout
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.44 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Lolita Used Mass Market $7.95

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Religious
Featured Titles » Biography
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
History and Social Science » Americana » New York
Religion » Judaism » General
Religion » Judaism » Jewish Biographies
Religion » Judaism » Jews in America
Religion » Judaism » Thought and Culture

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.00 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Simon & Schuster - English 9781439187012 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The instant andlt;I andgt;New York Timesandlt;/Iandgt; bestselling memoir of a young Jewish womanand#8217;s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Aliand#8217;s andlt;Iandgt;Infidel andlt;/Iandgt;and Carolyn Jessopand#8217;s andlt;Iandgt;Escapeandlt;/Iandgt;, featuring a new epilogue by the author.andlt;brandgt;andlt;brandgt;As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborahand#8217;s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.