The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
List price: $9.99
Sale Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

This title in other editions

Witchlanders

by

Witchlanders Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

andlt;b andgt;Some prophecies thwart danger. Others create it. and#8220;Fans of contemplative, psychologically rich (but no less action-packed) fantasies and#224; la Ursula Le Guin will welcome this warm, inventive debutand#8221; (andlt;i andgt;BCCBandlt;/iandgt;, starred review).andlt;/bandgt;andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;High in their mountain covens, red witches pray to the Goddess, protecting the Witchlands by throwing the bones and foretelling the future.andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;But itand#8217;s all fake.andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;At least, thatand#8217;s what Ryder thinks. He doubts the witches really deserve their tithesand#8212;one quarter of all the crops his village can produce. And even if they can predict the future, what danger is there to foretell, now that his peopleand#8217;s old enemy, the Baen, has been defeated? But when a terrifying new magic threatens both his village and the coven, Ryder must confront the beautiful and silent witch who holds all the secrets. Everything heand#8217;s ever believed about witches, the Baen, magic, and about himself will change when he discovers that the prophecies heand#8217;s always scornedand#8230;are about him.andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;Laced with rich, imagined histories; miles of catacombs; and prophecies true and false, andlt;Iandgt;Witchlandersandlt;/Iandgt; takes place in an evocative, tantalizingly vibrant world and raises equally evocative questions: Who gets to defines history? When does a legend become a crutch? And why does the enemy in war look a lot like the hero? Lena Coakleyand#8217;s first novel is a lush, chilling story that is sure to send shivers through your finger bones.

Synopsis:

Ryder’s mother was once a great prophet and powerful witch, but she is slowly losing her mind to grief—and maiden’s woe, an addictive flower drug found in the Witchlands. Deadly monsters made out of dirt and sticks and stones are coming, she warns. There is an assassin in the mountains, she cautions the coven. But none believe her.

Then the monsters come. In the wake of his village’s destruction, Ryder heads into the mountains on a quest to find the assassin and destroy the creator of the ghastly monsters. When he finds his twin—a spirit twin who is not the assassin, but is a sworn enemy of the Witchlanders—Ryder and Falpian awaken a long dormant magic and become entangled in the stirrings of new war between their peoples.

Laced with rich, imagined histories, miles of catacombs, and prophecies true and false, Lena Coakley’s debut novel is a lush, chilling story in the tradition of Nancy Farmer and Garth Nix.

About the Author

andlt;b andgt;Lena Coakleyandlt;/bandgt; was born in Milford, Connecticut, and grew up on Long Island. In high school, creative writing was the only course she ever failed (nothing was ever good enough to hand in!), but, undeterred, she went on to study writing at Sarah Lawrence College. She lives in Toronto, Canada.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781442420052
Author:
Coakley, Lena
Publisher:
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Edition Description:
Reprint
Publication Date:
20120931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f-c cvr (spcl fx: 5th color metal tone);
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. Ghostgirl: Lovesick (Ghostgirl) Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Dying to Know You New Trade Paper $7.95
  3. Bitter End New Trade Paper $10.00
  4. Hallowed (Unearthly Trilogy)
    New Hardcover $17.99
  5. Maximum Ride #8: Nevermore: The...
    Used Hardcover $9.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction
Young Adult » General

Witchlanders Sale Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 416 pages Atheneum Books for Young Readers - English 9781442420052 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Ryder’s mother was once a great prophet and powerful witch, but she is slowly losing her mind to grief—and maiden’s woe, an addictive flower drug found in the Witchlands. Deadly monsters made out of dirt and sticks and stones are coming, she warns. There is an assassin in the mountains, she cautions the coven. But none believe her.

Then the monsters come. In the wake of his village’s destruction, Ryder heads into the mountains on a quest to find the assassin and destroy the creator of the ghastly monsters. When he finds his twin—a spirit twin who is not the assassin, but is a sworn enemy of the Witchlanders—Ryder and Falpian awaken a long dormant magic and become entangled in the stirrings of new war between their peoples.

Laced with rich, imagined histories, miles of catacombs, and prophecies true and false, Lena Coakley’s debut novel is a lush, chilling story in the tradition of Nancy Farmer and Garth Nix.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.